HSF+ Partition Error

2 posts in this topic

I'm new to this whole dual booting thing and just starting messing around with trying to get OSX running on my lappy. I had my old hard drive just sitting around after I upgraded so I pulled it out and started playing around with it. I got OSX installed on it and everything was working great until I then installed WinXP onto a new partition on that hdd and now when I try to boot into OSX I just instantly get a message saying "HSF+ Partition Error" and I have to reboot. Seeing as I dont really know much about dual booting and this sort of thing, and I wasn't really following any guides, I'm just wondering if there's anything I can do to fix this error and be able to boot into OSX again or whether I'll just have to actually follow a guide and do this a little more intelligently. =) Thanks for any advice!

• 2 years later...
I'm new to this whole dual booting thing and just starting messing around with trying to get OSX running on my lappy. I had my old hard drive just sitting around after I upgraded so I pulled it out and started playing around with it. I got OSX installed on it and everything was working great until I then installed WinXP onto a new partition on that hdd and now when I try to boot into OSX I just instantly get a message saying "HSF+ Partition Error" and I have to reboot. Seeing as I dont really know much about dual booting and this sort of thing, and I wasn't really following any guides, I'm just wondering if there's anything I can do to fix this error and be able to boot into OSX again or whether I'll just have to actually follow a guide and do this a little more intelligently. =) Thanks for any advice!