Removing Kexts

c0ba1t

12 posts in this topic

Im a COMPLETE noob in this matter, so help would really be appreciated.

I have a Radeon 9800Pro, which is on the unsupported hardware list this matches up pretty well, cus when i boot up mac os X it loads about half way then just sits there.

Apperently I need to remove all the *ATI entrys in some folder

But being as neither my windows install or my linux install will recognise that partition as a hard drive this is proving a little hard to change anything.

Any help would be great

c0ba1t,

You can try to install OSX using VMware as a host, in either Linux or Windows. If it installs, then you will be able to remove the kexts while it is running (either log into it as root or use sudo).

or

Get your hands on MacDrive for Windows. It will let you mount your OSX partition in Windows and access it that way.

or

You should be able to mount it in Linux too, using something close to this line that I have in my /etc/fstab file:

/dev/hdc2 /mnt/MacOSX hfsplus rw,umask=000 0 0

The mount command will also work, with type set as hfsplus. I don't know the exact syntax off hand.

To c0ba1t

If you use MacDrive on xp, save MacDrive_6.07.

( ati kext location : \System\Library\Extensions )

To jrrjrr

What command is For removing \System\Library\Extensions\ATIRadeon8500DVDDriver.bundle?

(either log into it as root or use sudo)

(step by step, thanks.)

-s sudo

next command ?

That error isn't a big problem, anyway if you want to move or delete the ATI Conflicting kexts you can boot in Single User Mode, so those kexts are nor loaded, then you need to enable read-write to the partition with mount -uw /, then you delete or move the kexts, then reboot.