Leopard BETA as main OS

Supersonic

47 posts in this topic

I'm thinking about taking SuperDuper and cloning my Tiger to my USB disk, then installing Leopard 9A466 as my main OS. My Mac could certainly use an overhaul... I've cluttered the HDD with a ton of stuff I don't really use at all. Like the Server packages for example. I used those for some web hosting a while back and never used them again.

Anyway, I think Leopard is stable enough to supersede Tiger as my main OS. :)

I've got it as my main; it has a few quirks, but I've learned to work around them. I like the speed boost and no matter what everyone else says I think it's nice to look at. I think I'm pretty much done with Tiger.

I've been using various builds as my main OS since WWDC 2006. Unfortunately, I now have no bluetooth with 9A466, so I can't use my Apple Wireless keyboard/mouse. I didn't even do an upgrade install!

usin it right now and wish i was final so it wouldn't be buggy, but the bugs are not consistent, i don't think i could go back to tiger b/c i would miss quite a few of the usability that i have come to use quite often.

I really want to use Leopard as my main operating system. My only worry is that we are not getting software updates from Apple for this operating system so we are not getting security updates etc.. A good example is Safari which I believe has a new version on Software Update released a few days ago..

I really want to use Leopard as my main operating system. My only worry is that we are not getting software updates from Apple for this operating system so we are not getting security updates etc.. A good example is Safari which I believe has a new version on Software Update released a few days ago..

correct, but most all of the security updates where for windows users. clearly if you have the freedom to use a beta OS as your main OS you have the freedom to not be so uptight. If something serious comes out that would need patching we would probably know.