Jump to content

Broadcom 570x and 575x


  • Please log in to reply
934 replies to this topic

#841
mr_Dellay

mr_Dellay

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Ukraine

hello folks, as you may know latest I7 IMacs use a Broadcom 5764M as wired ethernet chip. This chip is now fully supported


Hi nobb1x, thank you for share one more time. Is this new version of kext and did you solved the problem with kernel panic at startup?

#842
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
this is modified, i hope it start with no panic now, but let me know

#843
dhmac

dhmac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
Seems slowly the Broadcom chips start working:

I have used nobb1x 5787M kext, used the instructions provided to patch in my HW/MAC-address, modified the PCIid in Info.plist to match mine (i.e. pci14e4,167a). Using that I got a non crashing kext, that made the network card appear in System Preferences -> Network, with even notifying a network link properly.

However the interface wasn't "up", ifconfig did NOT report it as "RUNNING" as well. So I took the idea from arctelix above and searched Contents/MacOS/AppleBCM5787MEthernet for sequences with PCI-ids. I ended up replacing all 66 81 fa 77 16 byte sequences with 66 81 fa 7a 16 and ... except for the promiscuous issue I have a working network card now.

Thanks to all so far, maybe this final issue can be solved too.

Just noticing I must have picked up a different version of the kext from the Broadcom BCM5787M thread




--
MacOS 10.6.2
Hardware:
Dell Optiplex 740 (MCP51 chipset, AMD X2 4850E)
Broadcom 5754 NetXtreme BCM5754

#844
mr_Dellay

mr_Dellay

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Ukraine

this is modified, i hope it start with no panic now, but let me know



Ok, it's seems to me that the kernel panic disappear, but the kext won't autoload. Every time when machine starts, I must Go to terminal and write kextload-comand. Is that ok or I was missinG somethinG?

#845
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
hmm no, it autoload ok for me, are you sure the original apple kext isn't in the IONetworkingfamily.kext Plugins folder? or you have another applebcm kext lying in Extensions folder? try touching the Extensions folder forcing the system to rebuild the cache and start with -v to see if any other bcm kext is loaded.

#846
dhmac

dhmac

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
Just as a hint on kexts that still seem to be there or are not loaded: Using chameleon as a boot-loader and placing the kext in /Extra/Extensions makes sure, that any extra kexts I have will have precedence over kexts in /S/L/E. I usually use pfix on SL to fix the permissions and to make sure that /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/Extensions.mkext will be rebuild too.

Maybe this will solve your problem too!?

#847
mr_Dellay

mr_Dellay

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Ukraine

hmm no, it autoload ok for me, are you sure the original apple kext isn't in the IONetworkingfamily.kext Plugins folder? or you have another applebcm kext lying in Extensions folder? try touching the Extensions folder forcing the system to rebuild the cache and start with -v to see if any other bcm kext is loaded.


Hi nobb1x. Thank you for supporting. After touching the Extensions folder all is going just fine besides detecting mac address. Every time after reboot I must type in the terminal 'ifconfig en0 lladdr 00:23:5A:EF:52:45'. Is there any way to put mac address somewhere else to take it autoload at startup?

#848
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy

Hi nobb1x. Thank you for supporting. After touching the Extensions folder all is going just fine besides detecting mac address. Every time after reboot I must type in the terminal 'ifconfig en0 lladdr 00:23:5A:EF:52:45'. Is there any way to put mac address somewhere else to take it autoload at startup?


i'm sure on this huge thread this has been already discuss, but i can't find it now, anyway i found this on another thread.
have a look.

http://www.insanelym...p...st&p=661178

#849
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
my post updated, 64 bit mode workin too now.

#850
Kai Followill

Kai Followill

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

my post updated, 64 bit mode workin too now.

nobb1x, I have to say your work is remarkable. My BCM5764 finally works by your kext!

You are so awesome, dude!

#851
kingoffright

kingoffright

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
how about the 578x?!

#852
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
i have tried to modify the kext for the 5787M (the only other bcm card i own) but all that i get are kernel panics.it recognize the card and get ip and setting macaddress works, but after some minutes of activity it panics.

#853
reyaz01

reyaz01

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
Thanks everyone! My BCM5754 167A finally works!!!!!!

#854
quinielascom

quinielascom

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 749 posts
  • Location:M�xico

i have tried to modify the kext for the 5787M (the only other bcm card i own) but all that i get are kernel panics.it recognize the card and get ip and setting macaddress works, but after some minutes of activity it panics.



Still trying, please... the Leopard driver patched for you works in Snow but it kill Shudown, Restart and Sleep. Thanks.

#855
Ende4711

Ende4711

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

my post updated, 64 bit mode workin too now.



nobb1x,

can you please get modified the 64 bit BCM for this adress:

14ee4 : 1673

I would appreciate your support, thanks a lot. :wacko:

#856
miomika

miomika

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
SO far...for 578x still no support...

I tried a trick with changing ID, but nothing hapen.

I have 14a1:169a

I even try to edit present kext, just to switch letters and number, but no luck

#857
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
the snow leopard 10.6.2 broadcom kext support only 3 broadcom chipsets, they are the 5780, the 5764 and the 5721.
As i've writed in my post, changing the plist only don't do the job, because the code has many checks inside to take its decisions based on the chipset recognized. i have tried to hack the kext faking the 5780 (166a) and changing all references to 5787 (1693) but it crash after some seconds of use. Time ago on this thread, in the good times of Leopard, someone show us that the hacked leopard kext was crashing because of the wrong buffers size decision, i have checked this time but it seem the buffer size is ok, it crash somewhere else. I can post here this not working kext, i have no problems, but until someone with the right knowledges understand why it crash i can't do so much,
i'm stucked. btw i'm using the 5764 and i have the 5787 only at work, and there i can't do so much hacking on it for oblivious reasons...

#858
miomika

miomika

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
So far..I somehow have a ghosts on my network interface. )


That broadcom adapter im on board NIC and it dont work rom a first day.
I install realtek on my PCI and everything work Out of the box, but....
I wanna use my on board Broadcom. I use that noobix ionetw...kext and install it...
After the reboot, i get 2 network interfaces, one is working PCI Realtek (en0) and other I assume it showing en1, but without a MAC address.. I assume that would be a broadcom.

When I want to edit that NIC in terminal, after i write "sudo ifconfig en1 it gives me a error that en1 interface dont exist, but I can cleraly see it on network preferences same as on System profiler!!!!??

#859
MastaG

MastaG

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
Hi I've tried your driver on a 64bit fresh Snow Leopard install.
Moved the original S/L/E/IONetworkingFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/AppleBCM5701Ethernet.kext away and replaced it with the one from your post.
Touched the Extensions folder and did a reboot with -f.
Now upon booting I get this:
AppleBCM5701Ethernet: 0 0 start - mapping device memory failed.
My id is: 14e4:1684 which seems to be listen in your Info.plist under <array>
Am I missing somethine?

#860
nobb1x

nobb1x

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Italy
Hello MastaG, if your pc is a Lenovo this is know issue and never resolved, if its not a lenovo it show the same problems as lenovo show, the card is not mapped on the pci memory space, there's nothing i can do. maybe you need patched kexts for pci handling.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy