Should I do it right now? *worried*

9 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

My 18 month old Fujitsu laptop blew out with a catastrophic motherboard failure last week and is beyond economical repair. New laptop time.

I'm thinking of getting a Macbook, but I'm concerned. I've used Macs extensively but never actually owned one.

Here goes:

1) I don't like the standard Macbook as much as the Pro. However, MacRumors says the Pro is due to be replaced soon whereas the Macbook is "Neutral - mid cycle", and the Pro's too expensive anyway (even with academic discount - I'm a University student).

2) What's Santa Rosa, and will it affect me? What about Leopard, I'd guess it's worth leaving it for a while because it looks to me like it'll be released unfinished and be loaded to hell with bugs. So, is it worth waiting for Apple's completely unpredictable product cycles?

3) Standard Macbook has terrible, terrible video performance from its graphics card, so I'm told. I do programming, and may evolve into doing some 3D work with OpenGL and possibly mucking around with apps like Blender. Will the poor graphics card hinder me doing any of this? I heard most of that's to do with problems within Tiger which are being fixed with Leopard, is that true? I used my old Fujitsu for gaming sometimes as it had a beefy dedicated video card, but I'm sick of PC gaming and now own an XBOX360 so I think lower graphics performance won't be too much of a problem.

4) I've used Windows for 13 years and am sick of it. However, most of my apps are Windows based as I use MS Visual Studio for some things. What's Parallels/Bootcamp like in case I can't find an OSX based alternative?

5) Any serious, noticeable performance differences between the standard and Pro?

6) Video editing - I won't be doing Mission Impossible 4 or anything, maybe the odd clip or two needing edited for YouTube. Is the standard Macbook okay for this sort of thing?