Photoshop CS3 performance (Osx86 VS XP)

kle500

17 posts in this topic

I believe there are many people along the forum, that are heavily into Photoshop.

So, i need your options on the following.

I am a graphics designer for many years, and i started using Photoshop on MAC.

I was using my G3 with Photoshop 5.5 and i also had a PC using the same version.

I always felt that the MAC was smoother than the PC on PS.

BUT,

the behavior of my Osx86 machine in Photoshop PS3, is not quite same as in XP on the same machine.

And what i mean:

If i grab a picture (small resolution or high doesn't matter) with the hand tool (after zooming a lot so i can move all the picture) and start to move it, slow or fast, i get some lag and jerky motion of the picture. Not much, but it's there.

On the other hand on XP on the same machine with the same specs, and with the same type of HDD, this effect doesn't exist.

On XP the panning of the pic using Hand tool, is smooth all across the screen (the picture remain as it is and moves without any tearing or anything else).

It's like you move a picture in front of your eyes, the picture moves naturally, that's how it supposed to be on Fast machines too.

I must say that i haven't seen a real G5 or MacPro to test this.

Also i upgrated to a 7600GS.

After further testing, it seems that this issue is Resolution dependent. So if i use 800X600 it works pretty good, but as soon as i climb up, things getting worst.

1024X768, 1280x1024, 1600x1200.

So it seems as Drivers are not work as they suppose to!

For anyone interested on this, i've made a Capture with my camera on both setups (XP & OSX) to see.

http://www.zshare.net/video/screen-capture-avi.html

Let me know what you think people!!!!

i must dissagree with you, i am running a hackintosh and i am more then pelased of how photoshop cs3 runs on it.

i had winxp, i was dissapointed of CS2, much slower.