New Guy Alert

3 posts in this topic

Heyas!

Just dropping a quick decloaking note to say "Hi! I'm new here".

So hi. I'm new here.

A bit about myself - I'm a switcher. Back in the OS 9 and prior you couldn't get me to touch a mac - I was profoundly anti-mac in life. I clung to the joke "I was going to make my next computer a mac, but Toys R Us was closed." So as a college student I lived an anti-mac lifestyle. When I got a full time job at another college they decided to make me "The Mac Guy" because I was the only one who had any unix experience and OS X was just debuting.

It was a little tricky for me at first, but really I enjoyed it. I also liked having this "Forbidden knowledge" that noone else had ;). With each new release of 10.x I fell more in love. I got a 12" powerbook that I was initially really disappointed with because of it's size - but after carrying it a while, I didn't want to go with anything larger. the 12" PB was the size and weight of a textbook and make it a blast to carry around in my shoulder bag at work and grad school. Eventually I reluctantly accepted a 13" MacBook for a project - and then switched to a 15" MacBook pro because the 13" wasn't powerful enough for my needs. (I'm working on a switch/ virtulization project where we gave some MBs to faculty members - who prefer windows - with parallels to see how they use them)

I'm also a pretty big gamer so while my mac became my prefered tool at work, I always kept a PC at home to game with. I did manage to get my sister to switch to a mac laptop for gradschool - and I replaced my mothers ailing old PC with a mac because 1) I got tired of fixing and monkeying with it all the time and 2) It's a much easier and intuitive interface for her to use. She no longer calls me with problems - but calls me to tell me what new trick she has learned.