Little Help on deciding what to buy.

2 posts in this topic

I have a high end gaming pc at home which I am currently on, and the idea is that i tried to run hackintosh (native and with VMware and it just wont work) I am a big fan of mac and I relised i made a stupid mistake wen i dropped 4000 on this pc because i could of gotten a macpro for probably cheaper and better specs.

I am a student, but i am still in high school. I am in grade 12. Im going off to university next year and hoping i can get in on that student discount package, but im not sure how it works exactly. Can some one explain. I live in Canada Ontario.

I am hoping to get a laptop but the macbook pro. But I am going to wait till summer because i still have to pay this on off by August and then I want to purchase a mac.

If I buy a low spec laptop, with the highest processor offered. How easy is it to open it up and install my own ram.? because ram is expensive for a laptop through apple.

Anyadvice, will the price on the laptops drop in the summer with the new onces on its way or ? any suggestions.

I am also looking in to the mac pro but if 8core is coming out will it be same price roughly as the quad core, and will the quad core drop in price.

-Basicly i want an either laptop so i can upgrade specs on my own if possible, or a high end mac pro but aswell id like to be aple to upgrade ram and video card.

Here is alittle about me.

I am speciallizing in 2D and 3D Animation - Flash and 3D Studio Max 9 aswell as Maya 8.5

Need to run = Flash, Max 9, Maya, Photoshop. those are the major onces.

Looking for a good workstation then a gaming machine. This Pc will go to parents once i get a mac.

What one would u think im better of with.

Thanks.

Edited by Xplicit