Booting into safe mode - what does it look like?

geez

6 posts in this topic

Hi there all.

This may be a dumb question. I am a frustrated newbie trying to get OS X running on a Dell Optiplex 260 using whatever built in display adapter it comes with (I'm not sure what make it is, I'm afraid).

I can get as far as doing the actual installation. The problem comes when I try to restart and the login window should appear. I've commented here about what I'm seeing, and if anyone who can has encountered this problem can help, it would be much appreciated.

Alternatively, I'm trying to help myself. I think booting into safe mode might do it (as reading around on this forum seems to point to the fact the graphics card in this machine may be too crappy), but I'm not sure I'm going this right.

I have not been able to successfully boot OS X yet.

So, I boot up into the darwin command prompt (F8 on startup) and I type '-x' (without the quotes) as it mentions in various forum topics to get into safe mode. However, all that happens is that the grey screen with the apple logo and spinning waiting icon appears, and the system freezes as usual.

I was expecting some kind of indication on this screen that it is in 'safe mode' when the grey screen and apple logo appear. Is this the case? What is the first point at point up that indicates I'm booting up in safe mode? How can I tell if it is booting in safe mode or not?

Thanks for your help all. Very exciting project this is.

Safe mode in os x isnt like a darwin prompt, it is a full GUI, and functions much like normal mode, but simply to fix problems.

Great! Thanks! I was just wondering what indication there is that you are in safe mode? Does it say 'safe mode' anywhere? Does it look like the grey boot screen with apple logo, and with the words 'safe mode'? Just trying to understand whether I'm in safe mode or not.

Thanks!

geez,