Best MOBO for OSx86 and XP/Vista

83 posts in this topic

Hey all

Newbie here. I've played around with some of the earlier Jas builds (10.4.7) in VM Ware with *some* success (got it working, sort of) and now I want to make the leap into a fully fledged native build of OSX. I'm going to dump my AMD Sempron 3000+ and mobo and move towards Intel. I'm also planning on getting a Core 2 Duo E6300 with complementary mobo - but the question remains which mobo is the *best* out there for a combination between Windows XP (or Vista) and OSX. The plan is to install OSX and Windows in dual boot. I'm not looking at having a super-duper, lightning fast boot OSx86 system but some that works reasonably well, with the option of booting back into windows when I need to do some serious work. I have a few choices in mind and I would appreciate any good recommendations out of this list. This is by no means the only ones I would like, but these mobo's seem to fit the right balance between cost, function (overclocking) and compatibility with OSx86 - right out of the box.

ASROCK CONROE 945G-DVI

ASUS P5W DH Deluxe

ASUS P5LD2-VM DH

GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3

I'm tending to lean towards either the GA-965P-DS3 or the CONROE 945G-DVI mainly because of cost & simplicity. Any suggestions? Thanks.

I will be changing my system for the next 18 months to an E6600 with either Gigabyte or Asus mainboard either the DS3(or4) or the P5W deluxe. While the compatibility issuses with OSX do arise when not using an Intel mainboard the systems that do have other m/b will run with a little bit of work.

Good luck

Edited by 3mp3ror

I would have to say go with the ASUS P5LD2-VM

ive been makin hackintosh after hackintosh about 9 so far.... :jester:

and the ASUS P5LD2-VM has to be by far the most compatible 945g chipset mobo. (out of the box i mean, its my fav. OSX86 Mobo By far)

the only thing you will have to add is Taruga's AppleHDA for ALC882 in the Drivers subforum of the hardware section of out forum.