Jump to content

Parallels & Video Card Support


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
moonislune

moonislune

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male
Okay, its been a while since Parallels has been out. Why haven't they released a video driver with directx support? Isn't it about time? Or do you think they're waiting for Leopard to come out?

#2
errandwolfe

errandwolfe

    Usurper of Wilson, King of Prussia

  • Donators
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami Beach, FL

Okay, its been a while since Parallels has been out. Why haven't they released a video driver with directx support? Isn't it about time? Or do you think they're waiting for Leopard to come out?

It's been a while....I didn't think less then a year since introduction of a completly new product was that long. The fact is that Parallels has made HUGE advances in the very limited amount of time they have had since their first beta release. Virtualizing a full SVGA environment is a tough gig. Parallels has stated that they eventually do plan Direct X support, but that will probably not be in this upcoming release as they are now in RC2 and that is nowhere to be found. It will probably be at least a year before we see Direct X support in a virtual environment.

#3
moonislune

moonislune

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male

It's been a while....I didn't think less then a year since introduction of a completly new product was that long. The fact is that Parallels has made HUGE advances in the very limited amount of time they have had since their first beta release. Virtualizing a full SVGA environment is a tough gig. Parallels has stated that they eventually do plan Direct X support, but that will probably not be in this upcoming release as they are now in RC2 and that is nowhere to be found. It will probably be at least a year before we see Direct X support in a virtual environment.


I agree that Parallels has made huge advances but for $79 + the cost of XP, it seems a bit pricey to only have a semi-functional Windows system. While Boot Camp is a godsend, seriously...who wants to reboot just to play a game or run some video applications that require DirectX? I hope that VMWare tries to beat them to the punch. Perhaps this community can put a little more pressure on getting that feature out?

Edited by moonislune, 02 February 2007 - 04:37 PM.


#4
errandwolfe

errandwolfe

    Usurper of Wilson, King of Prussia

  • Donators
  • 1,431 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Miami Beach, FL
Well Parallels has already stated they are working on full 3D acceleration on Windows, these guys have been absolutely fantastic in how far the product has evolved since their first release. I just want to make two points here...

1. Is $79 really that much for a product of this caliber? I will be the first one to admit to using let's just say creatively acquired software. After doing so with Parallels and seeing how well it performed, I was easily convinced to go out and buy the actual product. These guys are making a product that blows away the competition and when something this good comes out I am more then happy to pay for it just to encourage the developers to keep up the excellent work.
2. Plus the cost of XP.....unless you are running on a beige box, you probably already HAVE a copy of XP. All you Dell, Gateway, IBM folks who are running Hackintoshes got a copy of Windows XP with your computer. The only people who have to buy a separate copy of Windows are those who bought true Macs.

Now I think there are still a good number of features the Parallels has to continue development on. 3D graphics, firewire support, external iSight support are just a few. Give them time though. I am running the latest beta 3150 and am blown away. You would think there was a five year development cycle between the first pre-release beta to the current RTM to the latest beta when it has not even been a year yet I think. This is a company that really knows how to get results and I would encourage all who use Parallels to spend the $79 and give the developers the incentive to keep evolving the product.

#5
Riemann Zeta

Riemann Zeta

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 27 posts
Give the Parallels team some credit. I have Windows 2003 (NT 5.2) running in Parallels at virtually full speed compared to a real x86 box, with all visual effects enabled (and a theme that is essentially Aero minus the translucency/shaders). I think that the Parallels team has made huge strides in very little time. As far as DirectX support goes, I really doubt that it is even possible to get near native speed D3D emulation, especially with current-generation GPUs. I think that a good first step would be getting accelerated DirectDraw and other 2D library support.

#6
moonislune

moonislune

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male
Seems like VMWare beat Parallels to the punch. Check this out. 3d Graphics in VMWare for Mac OS X

Best of all its still free and anyone can sign up for the beta.

Edited by moonislune, 09 February 2007 - 05:03 AM.


#7
Ampidire

Ampidire

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 191 posts
of course VMware Fusion doesn't have Coherence mode and this is an unrelesed build that is shown.

Not to mention we have no way to tell what version of DX is actually supported by that build.

You need to understand how difficult it is to emulate 3D environments in a virtual setting. Virtualization has been around since computers were conceived and just now we're starting to see 3D.

#8
Embio

Embio

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
www.osnews.com states it is Direct X 8.1

#9
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
anyone tried the mks.enable3d = TRUE feature in VMWare Fusion, current Beta ?

If so, does it enable DX8 ?

#10
moonislune

moonislune

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male

anyone tried the mks.enable3d = TRUE feature in VMWare Fusion, current Beta ?

If so, does it enable DX8 ?



Surprisingly, the command does work in Fusion. When I run dxdiag from the Start-Run box, dxdiag shows that 3d acceleration is enabled! Now, if I can get a few games to work... :wacko:

#11
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
Great ! Did you try some max payne 2 or tony hawk like in the video ?

#12
moonislune

moonislune

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male

Great ! Did you try some max payne 2 or tony hawk like in the video ?


I overshot at first. Installed DirectX9 and tried to run Madden 2007 (I still havent gotten over the Bears losing the SuperBowl). Unfortunately, the game starts, plays the sound, but the video is black. Tony Hawk, you're next.

Edited by moonislune, 09 February 2007 - 08:33 PM.


#13
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
It seems DX9 games don't work. Hopefuly DX8.1 games do work with DX9 because my XP has DX9 by default... Gonna try Vice City.

EDIT : Ok so that didn't work, neither did Warcraft III which is a DX8.1 game. Sound but no video. I'm beginning to think this beta of VMware sucks :( Or maybe it's because I have DX9 and not DX8.1 (i'll let you do this test, i'm done now).

The weird thing is War3 running in OpenGL works perfectly... I thought that VMware only supported DX and natively, and actually wouldn't convert DX to MacOS opengl (it seems it works like Croosover... If this is the case, it sucks).

Edited by cyclonefr, 09 February 2007 - 10:53 PM.


#14
sigxcpu

sigxcpu

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 490 posts

Give the Parallels team some credit. I have Windows 2003 (NT 5.2) running in Parallels at virtually full speed compared to a real x86 box, with all visual effects enabled (and a theme that is essentially Aero minus the translucency/shaders). I think that the Parallels team has made huge strides in very little time. As far as DirectX support goes, I really doubt that it is even possible to get near native speed D3D emulation, especially with current-generation GPUs. I think that a good first step would be getting accelerated DirectDraw and other 2D library support.



man, you know the difference between aero and normal xp interface?

#15
curlyboy

curlyboy

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 874 posts
  • Gender:Male
How would one enable - mks.enable3d = TRUE - in vmware

Thanks

#16
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
edit the VMX file or something like that (don't know the extension by heart)... and add that line with textedit :)

Edited by cyclonefr, 09 February 2007 - 11:06 PM.


#17
curlyboy

curlyboy

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 874 posts
  • Gender:Male
Thank you m8 ill give it a try out

#18
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
put DX8.1 if you can and not DX9, that would be a better test than mine.

#19
moonislune

moonislune

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male

It seems DX9 games don't work. Hopefuly DX8.1 games do work with DX9 because my XP has DX9 by default... Gonna try Vice City.

EDIT : Ok so that didn't work, neither did Warcraft III which is a DX8.1 game. Sound but no video. I'm beginning to think this beta of VMware sucks :) Or maybe it's because I have DX9 and not DX8.1 (i'll let you do this test, i'm done now).

The weird thing is War3 running in OpenGL works perfectly... I thought that VMware only supported DX and natively, and actually wouldn't convert DX to MacOS opengl (it seems it works like Croosover... If this is the case, it sucks).


So far, I'm not impressed. TH3 was slooowww and I tried with both Directx9 installed and then on a new xp image with directx8 only. TH3 worked well with DX8, TH3 not so well with DX9. I'm running on an Imac 2ghz 1gb ram. I wish we knew the specs of the mac on the youtube video. Perhaps I need more ram?

#20
cyclonefr

cyclonefr

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,751 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France
Ok I'm quite disappointed, i'm now 100% sure that all what it does (for now) is translating DX instructions into OpenGL ones so MacOS video drivers can manage them.

So even if DX9 is completely supported, it's gonna be like Crossover and nowhere near the speed of running the game in native Windows. This isn't virtualization to me but more emulation (D3D to OGL) which is a shame.

The mac on youtube was a macbook pro with 1GB of ram.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy