Jump to content

OS X for SSE (qemu)


  • Please log in to reply
416 replies to this topic

#81
cro

cro

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 46 posts
no, i'm talking about taking the aqua ui off of say 10.3, replacing the kernal and low level part of os x with a x86 version of darwin. after all, the file system is still the same, and the ui will still be making calls to all the same parts of darwin. i'm just not to sure on how to seperate the ui from the base os.

#82
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
First of all, 10.3 is PPC only. Secondly, the gui requires SSE2 emulation which we CAN'T do.

Anyway here is the 'evidence'. I will write a guide in about 2 hrs (watching a movie).

Dragon

Attached Files



#83
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
Here are the instructions :

1. Download SLAX Kill Bill Edition from : http://www.slax.org/download.php
2. Burn ISO to cd using burning software such as "Nero" or "Disk utility"
3. Boot SSE computer using the SLAX CD.
4. At boot screen enter "slax copy2ram" or "slax toram" AND "flux" (for fluxbox desktop)
5. This will take several minutes.
6. After it has copied to RAM and has loaded the GUI, open up an xterm window.
7. Make sure you have a harddrive you can wipe in your pc.
8. You need to format that harddrive as ext2, so if you are ready to wipe it use the command - "mke2fs /dev/sda"
9. Input "Y" and press enter.
10. Then in xterm use these commands : "mkdir /mnt/harddrive" AND "mount -t ext2 /dev/sda /mnt/harddrive"
11. After it has finished creating the partition, connect to a pc on the network via Konqueror (you can open it from the flux menu) e.g (\\computername\).
12. Copy your tiger-x86-flat.img to /mnt/harddrive from konqueror. (open 2 windows)
13. Once that has finished, it will probably take 15 minutes or longer, go to your xterm window and use
"qemu -hda /mnt/harddrive/tiger-x86-flat.img -m 480 -no-kqemu -boot c"
and use "platform=X86PC "Graphics Mode"="800x600x16" -v" as usual.
14. Help me get this working with an accelerator.


Cheers,
Dragon

#84
joe75

joe75

    Renegade

  • Retired
  • 2,117 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rochester, NY
Hows it run :) Is it crazy slooow

Edited by joe75, 02 February 2007 - 07:30 AM.


#85
semthex

semthex

    Shellcode Ninja

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 430 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Vatikan State
isn't that oldsql Deadmoo? I have my doubts any SSE cpu is really well working that way, maybe you should switch to something unique and antique like Rhapsody which will run with that old CPU (not meant as a offense). I doubt it will be possible to get another old in development Version of OSx for x86.

#86
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
I need the modified qemu that Jagermeister posted to run the later install DVD's. I'm just using the deadmoo image currently because it works with the qemu that comes with the distro.

I will try to get Jagermeisters one compiled on SLAX and use that to boot up 10.4.8. Then I will go through all of the accelerators available and find one that works on SSE.

BTW, OS X doesn't run that badly (tested 30 mins ago). Not too slow that it's unusable, but it's not quite usable yet. I'll have to see what it's like with the accelerator.

#87
mac-mini

mac-mini

    1337 avatar made by Prawker

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,090 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:127.0.0.1
can you xbanch and geekbench it?

#88
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
alrighty.. coming soon

#89
Cruxado

Cruxado

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Puerto Rico
Excellent work Dragon!!

I will follow your instructions and report on the findings. :thumbsup_anim:

#90
Embio

Embio

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
if networking works, is there anything stopping these things being configured as Xgrid clients? That would make a load of boxes I have hanging around useful

also, slightly off-topic, is Xgrid universal? ie. does it matter if some computers are PPC and some are intel?

Edited by Embio, 05 February 2007 - 03:09 AM.


#91
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
this is off-topic though why don't you just make a linux cluster out of them and run OS X ?

Sorry, still haven't done the benchmarks... will do them soon.

Dragon

#92
Embio

Embio

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
I'm trying to get a bit more power for my power mac lol, and to have a play with Xgrid - like the look of it

#93
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
guys, I have a lot of school stuff that I have to do, can someone follow my instructions and post a benchmark?
i'll be finished this stuff in a couple of days and I will still be checking up on this post frequently.

#94
Baltazar

Baltazar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Cool project. As someone said earlier similar projects has been in the works before, SoftPear is another one which hasen't been mention before.

PearPC is without sound and slow but the cool thing about it is that it seem really stable. As it is the PPC-version you could make updates without a problem just like a real Mac. I haven't had a single problem with a app who hasent run either when I tried it out in the past. I know someone has been working on a sound patch for PearPC, but I don't know it's status.

Anyway, whether you go for QEMU (which came out with a new version yesterday btw: http://fabrice.bellard.free.fr/qemu/) or PearPC or both, it will be very interesting to read about this progress.

#95
MacRetail

MacRetail

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 103 posts
  • Gender:Male
@Baltazar: SoftPear is a completly different project, SoftPear is to run OSX applications in Windows/Linux. It's not comparable with PearOS.

note that you will need Xbench 1.2, the newest Xbench 1.3 doesn't work on 10.4.1. You can download 1.2 here
but I wouldn't use Xbench anyway. It's the actual performance that matters. Could you tell us how long it takes to boot OSX86 up, to launch individual applications like Safari etc?

Edited by MacRetail, 06 February 2007 - 11:55 AM.


#96
munky

munky

    Agent of Evolution

  • Retired
  • 2,901 posts
  • Location:The Land of Hairy-Arsed Highlanders
this would be very interesting if you do find an SSE compatible accelerator. I have an old P3 I wouldnt mind sacrificing to the cause ;)

#97
Baltazar

Baltazar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
@MacRetail: You're right, mixed up those two. It was quite a while since a check out this projects now.

It would also be intresting to see how SLAX > QEMU > OS X + accelerator (SSE2) is compared to Win XP - Vmware WS -> OS X speedwise.

#98
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=U4XZFYOX


This is :
XP Pro SP2 > Vmware > Slax > qemu(no accelerator) > OS X

So Slax is not even being run natively in this vid, and qemu is running without any acceleration. That is a fairly reasonable speed considering it's being virtualized inside another virtual machine with no acceleration...

I can tell you it's faster natively and nowhere near as low responsive as the vid. You will have to try native yourself because my p3 isn't hooked up to the network. If I get some free time tomorrow afternoon I will be looking for an accelerator.

I have hopes that with an accelerator we will have speeds fast enough to use as a main OS.

Dragon

#99
Baltazar

Baltazar

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
Hm, get a error trying to watch the vid in the newest VLC, need a codec or something, other player?

#100
Dragon

Dragon

    Insanely Dragon

  • Retired Developers
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:InsanelyMac forum
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=D4HMPALI

converted, only 6mb and plays in vlc fine





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy