Jump to content

OS X for SSE (qemu)


  • Please log in to reply
416 replies to this topic

#401
Acid_Burn

Acid_Burn

    Crash&Burn

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 757 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:011011100111001001110111
  • Interests:Hack the Planet!
PearPC is old staff, it´s a ppc emulator, not sse native.

#402
Williamscieniany

Williamscieniany

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:Diet
EDIT

Edited by Alex3oo1, 18 August 2010 - 08:07 AM.
NO SPAM PLEASE!!!


#403
Onishi

Onishi

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 93 posts
the topic are dead ?
I was reading the topic but I couldn't see any how to...
too bad. I'd like to have Mac OS on my Athlon 2500+ :wacko: :P :(

#404
OnePlane

OnePlane

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here

the topic are dead ?
I was reading the topic but I couldn't see any how to...
too bad. I'd like to have Mac OS on my Athlon 2500+ :wacko: :P :(

Mac OS X on such a slow system isn't worth it :) Stick to windows xp or 2000 and you'll be fine.

#405
vladislav korotnev

vladislav korotnev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ufa, Russia
  • Interests:Apple and all other computers. Also, since 03 Feb 2012 19:44 — anime.
Hi people, I am new to hackintosh and I have the same problem - the Amd Athlon XP Non-SSE2 processor.
Can anyone tell me if any progress have been made?

P.S. Maybe try my Live DVD with QEMU included?
http://susegallery.c...JJAK/tigrs-suse

#406
OnePlane

OnePlane

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
In the end, it will be possible with 10.4, but it will be very slow. Non-SSE2 is not fast enough to run a productive environment.

#407
vladislav korotnev

vladislav korotnev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ufa, Russia
  • Interests:Apple and all other computers. Also, since 03 Feb 2012 19:44 — anime.
So, after building my SuSE, I have finally got some results.

First, I have moved deadmoo's image to my old PC.
Posted ImageClick for full size - Uploaded with Skitch

After that I have launched QEMU with command:
qemu -cpu coreduo -m 256 -vga vmware tiger-x86-flat.img

Posted ImageClick for full size - Uploaded with Skitch

After lots of text, it started to boot the UI.

Posted ImageClick for full size - Uploaded with Skitch

And gave out errors: CreateSession failed and disk0s1 I/O Error

Posted ImageClick for full size - Uploaded with Skitch

What am I doing wrong?

My PC Is AMD Athlon XP 1800+ with 512 MB SDRAM DDR.

Posted ImageClick for full size - Uploaded with Skitch

#408
OnePlane

OnePlane

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
1. Send a screenshot, we can't read this

2. Problem is that your machine doesn't have SSE2

#409
vladislav korotnev

vladislav korotnev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ufa, Russia
  • Interests:Apple and all other computers. Also, since 03 Feb 2012 19:44 — anime.

doesn't have SSE2


That's the point we are in this topic :)
And while running in QEMU the verbose output says: ...MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 NOW
Just specified the parameter -cpu coreduo

I can't make screenshots, it just pops out an error when I hit printscreen: gnome-screenshot command not found.

It is unreadable because when I hit the camera button the screen has changed from console to the Blue Screen of Mouse Pointer. I will post a clear one when I will have time, too much schoolwork to do :) .

Hope we can get Mac OS X working without SSE.
Best wishes,
Tigr@.

#410
OnePlane

OnePlane

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
Emulating SSE(2/3/4) is pointless.. Those instructions aren't just 'required', they are actually USED. Emulating them makes things even slower. Expect things like booting Mac OS X in 45 minutes, and logging in in 10, waiting for Finder to start for 20 minutes and then start Safari for 10 minutes. You'd be spending so much time waiting, you'd be better off getting a job at the local restaurant and saving the money to buy a Mac :D

#411
vladislav korotnev

vladislav korotnev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ufa, Russia
  • Interests:Apple and all other computers. Also, since 03 Feb 2012 19:44 — anime.

Emulating SSE(2/3/4) is pointless.. Those instructions aren't just 'required', they are actually USED. Emulating them makes things even slower.


I know and expected for it just to boot and show off, not to be used as a main system. Any emulator makes things slower.

Expect things like booting Mac OS X in 45 minutes, and logging in in 10, waiting for Finder to start for 20 minutes and then start Safari for 10 minutes. You'd be spending so much time waiting, you'd be better off getting a job at the local restaurant and saving the money to buy a Mac :thumbsup_anim:


I already have a Mac :)

#412
OnePlane

OnePlane

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Here
Well, in that case (because it's the because-I-can-factor) I'll look into it :D I have been emulating and virtualising Linux, BSD, Mac OS X and Windows for a while now, so it must be possible. I'm even thinking about emulating Mac OS 10.6 on a PPC64 machine with QEMU :)

#413
vladislav korotnev

vladislav korotnev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ufa, Russia
  • Interests:Apple and all other computers. Also, since 03 Feb 2012 19:44 — anime.

Mac OS 10.6 on a PPC64 machine with QEMU :P


THIS is very impossible :) :lol:

#414
lj3442

lj3442

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

http://www.yourfileh...knoppixqemu.rar


the link is death :) can somebody upload the file and advise me please?

#415
usr-sse2

usr-sse2

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow, Russia

Emulating SSE(2/3/4) is pointless.. Those instructions aren't just 'required', they are actually USED. Emulating them makes things even slower. Expect things like booting Mac OS X in 45 minutes, and logging in in 10, waiting for Finder to start for 20 minutes and then start Safari for 10 minutes. You'd be spending so much time waiting, you'd be better off getting a job at the local restaurant and saving the money to buy a Mac :)

But qemu emulates everything: x86, FPU, MMX, SSE and we already have them. if we integrate the emulator into the kernel, we'll get better results on P-III.

#416
vladislav korotnev

vladislav korotnev

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ufa, Russia
  • Interests:Apple and all other computers. Also, since 03 Feb 2012 19:44 — anime.
KVM does the exact thing

#417
TRJS

TRJS

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 26 posts
  • Gender:Male
Well, I'd like to support those who are trying this - after all, it's not about getting a hackintosh you will be working on with Photoshop and Final Cut Pro, but it's about the challange to make OSX work at all. It's not more or less pointless than climbing a hill when you also can just rent a helicopter to get there.

And I have a neat Compaq 12"-PIII-laptop lying around that I'll love to see the OSX-desktop on it ;-)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy