Im sick of windows and osx86 isnt %100 yet, what else can i use

NateS

62 posts in this topic

i figured ill just use xp for games, but when im not in it, who can recommend a OS for genral/mutltimedia use?

photoshop like program

iTunes like program

Internet Connection

MSN/AIM

Wireless/LAN Intel PRO 1000/100 wireless card

Graphics support

My pc specs in my sig

Im a kinda noob to linux, but i did get osx86 to install, just no networking is pretty annoying, i guess thats the only reason i dont wanna use it :rolleyes:

thanks

I would totally recommend Ubuntu Linux to you. It comes with a very easy to use installer, and it's fun! It comes preloaded with the Gimp (photoshop alternative) and Openoffice, as well as some other programs. As far as hardware detection goes, it's pretty good.

However, the best part is, you can download almost *any* program you want, using its built-in installer, so for example I would get Amarok -> itunes like program, and the KDE extensions -> turn it into KUbuntu. There are literally thousands.

Of course there are many, MANY other distrobutions out there. I also wanna check out PClinuxOS, looks good. But Ubuntu is a good start.

As for your OSX86 woes, why not try an external networking device (usb type), check the Wiki.

Because once you're rocking with OSX, Ilife, and natit with that fancy-scmancy graphics card of yours (hope that works!), you won't wanna go back!

yeh i got a usb>network cable thing working, but it stoped and for the love of me i cant work out why, also natit and titan dont work cause i have a 512mb card :(, i thought about replacing my wireless card with one that works, but thats still a 50/50..

what the the KDE extensions?

Also, i did some poking around have you seen dreamlinux?

Can you make kubutu look all fancey and pretty like osx with widgets, docks, ect..?

thanks alot

That sucks about your laptop not doing OSX, because it sound f-ing killer!