My New Kodak Z612

Perry44

9 posts in this topic

Hello friends. I just recieved an early christmas present, which I was thrilled with. It was a nice Kodak Easyshare Z612 camera, with 12x optical zoom. I am an aspiring photographer, and a newb. I was just wondering how good this camera was for a new photographer? It seems to take nice photos. Please let me know if you own this model and your thoughts on it. I was also wondering what are some good, cheap, and easy-to-use photo editors? I have photoshop, but I'm looking for something that allows you to more easily reduce red eye, enhance pics, ect. If you know any good editors, please let me know. Thanks!

Specs:

Make: EASTMAN KODAK COMPANY

Model: KODAK Z612 ZOOM DIGITAL CAMERA

Shutter Speed: 1/3 second

F Number: F/3.6

Focal Length: 40 mm

ISO Speed: 80

kodak_z612_frontback.jpg

A front and back pic of the camera itself

You can view some sample photos taken with the Z612 by clicking here

Thanks,

-- Perry :)

Edited by Perry44

I just checked out the specs and it looks like a GREAT camera for a beginner and way beyond. The lens is from Schneider which is one of the legendary pro-level lens producers.

You might want to give a look at Adobe's Photoshop Elements for something simpler and less expensive than full Photoshop to get started with. iPhoto is great on the Mac. And for Windows, check out this program - it is free and very good and fast - and it has red-eye removal and most of the other image adjustment features (levels, curves, brightness, saturation, etc) that the other expensive programs have.

http://www.getpaint.net/index2.html

Awesome! Post your first good shots - we'd love to see them

I will! As of now im experimenting with different light sources, angles, tones, etc. I've got on okay shot on my billiard table, I'll spruce it up a bit and post it.I've uploaded a shot i like, its at the bottom of the post.

As for photo editors, you can't go wrong with iPhoto or, for a lot more power, Aperture.