Jump to content

[How To] Solutions for Ethernet Problems


  • Please log in to reply
131 replies to this topic

#61
KaptenKresh

KaptenKresh

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 56 posts
I got a Gigabyte motherboard (GA-M55S-S3) with nvidia nforce 550 chipset and gigabit LAN.
Anyone help me with a driver/guide how to install? Can't get this working...
Please help.

Best regards
Kresh

#62
heliox

heliox

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nice,FRANCE

Hi there, maybe this can be added to the starter post? http://forum.insanel...showtopic=52296
It's a driver and guide for: Ethernet controller: ALi Corporation ULi 1689,1573 integrated ethernet, used for example on my ASRock 939Dual-SataII board. Personally testen on my 10.4.8 install, will test it with 10.4.10 as well. Didn't get this working in Leopard yet, will test some more and maybe an update will be written for 10.5 support!

Cheers


Hi Dafart. Your link is a dead one ^_^. So I searched for "M5263" on this forum(in Vista it's detected as a Uli M5263 PCI Fast Ethernet) :
http://forum.insanel...&...st&p=405457
It works like a charm with Leopard on my Asrock 939Dual-Sata2 motherboard (ULi M1695/ ULi M1567).

#63
Bry8Star

Bry8Star

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I'm usin Mac Leopard 10.5.2 inside a VMWare Virtual Machine , my physical net adapter is Realtek RTL 8139 10/100 Ethernet , but Mac is showin , Vendor : Intel . Model : 82545EM Copper . ethernet id : 00:00:00:00:00:00 !
i can also see dat there r "AppleIntel8254XEthernet.kext" & "AppleRTL8139Ethernet.kext" both present , among others inside systm/lib/ext/ionetfam/cont/plug folder . i guess vmware emulates some "Intel" card , and probably dats why Mac is usin intel kext . or may b Mac is usin dat intel kext for rtl 8139 .
Problem : everytime Mac re-starts , a new ethernet gets added ( new port detected ) ! very very annoying !
Anyone knows any solution ?
( d = th ) . Can someone show/write a script dat can add dat "new" ethernet Automatically , so it can obtain da dhcp ip automatically & remove da old ethernet entry in/from da "Network" , after each reboot ? How an AppleScript can handle dat "new port detected" popup windo & press "enter" button there & den click on Apply & den click on close button ? at least den da net adapter starts workin . Since many of us having this problem , dat wood b very helpful , Thanx .
~ Bry8Star . May3,2K8,Sat,5:07PM,PST.

EDIT : i solved da problem , posted in new thread here http://forum.insanel...howtopic=103669

#64
InsanelyDutch

InsanelyDutch

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I have installed the forcedeth.kext and Mac recognises my ethernet card, but i can't connect to the internet. Not with automatic neither manual configuration. The little button turns to green and it says I have ip-adress 165.xxx.xxx.xxx (don't know the exact adress). But normally (in windows) it's always 192.168.1.10x. It says I am connected but Safri still doesn't work.
Does anyone have a solution (except buying a Apple)?

#65
Mad Professor

Mad Professor

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Desert Southwest, USA
  • Interests:Aircraft, various Data and Telecom (total hardware freakazoid), German cars (have many of them,...
Just wanted to add my three cents worth here (inflation U know).

I couldn't get the internal Intel NIC to work on a Dell Precision Workstation 670. I added a Trendnet NIC using a Realtek 8139D chip and it worked perfectly. Running 10.5.2 (Kalyway 10.5.1 w/ Kalyway 10.5.2 Combo Updater). The driver is included in the Kalyway load, so there were no changes to be made. Now Safari has something to do!

#66
jbloggs

jbloggs

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
Hi My PC config is


Name - Dell 9200 (kak XPS410)
Specification - Intel Core2 CPU 6320 @ 1.86GHz
Package - Socket 775 LGA
Family/Model/Stepping - 6.F.6
Core Stepping - B2
Technology - 65 nm
Core Speed- 1862.1 MHz
Multiplier x Bus speed - 7.0 x 266.0 MHz
Rated Bus speed - 1064.1 MHz
Stock frequency - 1866 MHz
Instruction sets - MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, EM64T
L1 Data cache (per processor) - 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L1 Instruction cache (per processor) - 2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
L2 cache (per processor) - 4096 KBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
Chipset & Memory - Northbridge Intel P965/G965 rev. C2 -Southbridge Intel 82801HH (ICH8DH) rev. 02
Graphic Interface - PCI-Express (NVIDA GeForce 7900GS)
PCI-E Link Width - x16
Memory Type/Size DDR2 2GB
System Name - Dell DXP061 (Dell 9200)
Mainboard Vendor/Model - Dell Inc./ 0CT017
BIOS Vendor - Dell Inc. v2.4.2 03/20/2007
Memory SPD
Module 1 - DDR2, PC2-5300 (333 MHz), 1024 MBytes, Samsung
Module 2 - DDR2, PC2-5300 (333 MHz), 1024 MBytes, Samsung
Windows Version - Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
DirectX Version - 9.0c
HardDrive 1 (SATA): Western Digital 160GB (This has the Windows XP installed on it)
HardDrive 2 (SATA): Maxtor 500GB - Partition0 400GB NTFS - Partition1 100GB (for OSx86 Leo4allv3)
Built-NIC: Integrated Intel 82566DC Gigabit Network Connection
Wirelesss Network Card: Linksys Wireless-G PCI Card


I installed kalyway 10.5.2 successfully and now the only issue I have is that niether the built-in NIC (Wireed Network) and Linksys Wireless-G PCI Card are not working. Is there a slution to get either of them working?

TIA

#67
data10

data10

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
Thanks for the great info...

My motherboard has a Realtek Chipset but the Realtek driver's don't seem to work. I can see the Realtek logo on a chip on the motherboard and its stamped w/ '7A16751 G741B1' and it also has a 'ALC662' in the corner...

Any idea if there is an OS X driver for this version of the Realtek card?

#68
Sarif_One

Sarif_One

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
So I'm running an EVGA 650i Ultra SLI motherboard and my OSX86 install (Kalyway 10.5.2) is working perfectly except for my onboard LAN (well, sound isn't working, but I've got a soundblaster audigy zs 2 so I'm assuming that's a lost cause)

My issue is this. I can't seem to track down what the LAN controller is on this board. The only mention I found was that it might be the Marvell 88E111-NNC1 PHY controller. Absolutely not sure if this is right, or even if it is, what the correct solution would be?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

#69
cyberderf

cyberderf

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts

Hey Everyone!!!! look at what i discovered!!!!Realtek Drivers from REALTELK them selves:

RTL8111B/RTL8168B/RTL8111/RTL8168/RTL8111C for 10.4 (10/100/1000 pciE) under OTHER
http://www.realtek.c...GetDown=false#7


RTL8110S-32/RTL8110SB(L)/RTL8169SB(L)/RTL8169SC(L) RTL8169 (10/100/1000 pci) for 10.4 under OTHERhttp://www.realtek.c...ue#5,7,8,10,987

Not sure if this one will help anyone but it is an Intel 8254x driver from smalltree. They make intel cards for Mac computers. Maybe some coder can use this as a basis for supporting other intel nics.


How do you install this?

#70
no_gatez_fan

no_gatez_fan

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA
  • Interests:10.5.1 (hackintosh) and mandriva 2008.1 64 bit user...on IRC as no_gatez_fan...Vista ultimate 64...
I use this in 10.5.1:

Hawking HWUG1A Wireless USB adapter works great.

Shows up in system profiler as follows:

802.11 bg WLAN:

Removable Media: No
Detachable Drive: Yes
BSD Name: en1
Version: 0.01
Bus Power (mA): 500
Speed: Up to 480 Mb/sec
Manufacturer: Ralink
Mac OS 9 Drivers: No
Partition Map Type: Unknown
Product ID: 0x2573
Vendor ID: 0x148f

I use in Vista Ultimate 64 bit as well as Mandriva 2008.1 X86_64 works fine also:

In Mandriva shows up as follows:

Identification
Vendor: ‎Ralink

Description: ‎802.11 bg WLAN

Media class: ‎

Connection
Bus: ‎USB

Bus PCI #: ‎1

PCI device #: ‎6

Vendor ID: ‎0x148f

Device ID: ‎0x2573

Sub vendor ID: ‎0x0000

Sub device ID: ‎0x0000

Misc
Module: ‎rt73usb

In Vista as a Ralkin 802.11 bg

Laptop is a HP Pavillion dv9207us beefed up a tad, I put in a T7600 cpu, 4 gigs and a faster hard drive.
Hardware Overview:

Model Name: Mac
Model Identifier: Mac Pro
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.3 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 4 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 2.67 GHz
Boot ROM Version: Hack.int.0sh
Serial Number: XXXXXXXXXXX

Hope this helps

no_gatez_fan

Attached Files



#71
Boricua-Power

Boricua-Power

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello, I'm new to this but enjoy the concept. I have a PCChips A13G+ v3.0 motherboard with Realtek ALC600 Audio, NVidia GeForce 6100 and Broadcom AC131 LAN all built in. It has a 320GB and 2GB DDR2. I've installed Kakaway's 10.5.2 OSX and it works fine with the exception of the ethernet. I was wondering if anyone has a fix to this. Thanks.

#72
ffinder

ffinder

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
Success!

I tried 2 Ethernet cards but after i messed with kexts i had enough.
So i went and i bought a brand new Ethernet card with OSX drivers on CD
(after i saw OSX support on the packaging):

D-Link DGE-530T

So i installed a fresh copy of KALYWAY 10.5.2 on my spare hard disk and after OSX was running OK without inserting the card into my PC i installed the OSX drivers from the CD following the instructions step by step in the "drivers/MAC OSX/" section of the CD.

Turn off PC, inserted the card, boot into OSX, System Preferences, Network and voila! my card was detected!

I just clicked OK then apply and the Ethernet on the left side bar went green, opened Safari so now i'm writing this from my Ethernet - Internet connected Hackintosh!

Better spend a few dollars than getting crazy with kexts..

ffinder.

#73
taktu

taktu

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
does anyone know of a solution for nForce 520 southbridge LAN?

#74
tatsumasadf

tatsumasadf

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
The links for the ViaRhine are dead including the author's website can someone help me please

#75
Mellexx

Mellexx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 25 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York
  • Interests:Art, Photography, Cars, Drifting, Apple Stuff
Hello Any kexts or support for the 3com 3CRE62092B card..I know its really old but It would help me out alot! Thanks

#76
Daurora2008

Daurora2008

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bennett, IA
  • Interests:Working on making games and working with Mac OS x86. I am strong into web development and someda...
I have an ethernet port, Marvell Yukon, Yukon-88E8038, and vendor and device IDs, 0x435211AB. I cannot get it working on Kalaway's Leopard 10.5.1 installation. Could someone please help me out here? I have been looking everywhere with no luck so far.

#77
Alienware m15x Extreme 2.8

Alienware m15x Extreme 2.8

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts
Does anyone know what kind of ethernet i have inside my Alienware please I cant open it up to find out because it will void my warranty and it's only 3 weeks old.

I got Alienware m15x

I think it's a Gigabit Ethernet but i cant find drivers for it to use with Leopard All4Leo.

This is my network car and wifi info:

Wireless NIC Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN Data link protocol Ethernet, IEEE 802.11a, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, Bluetooth 2.0, Fast Ethernet, Gigabit Ethernet, IEEE 802.11n (draft) Networking standards IEEE 802.11a, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, Bluetooth 2.0, IEEE 802.11n (draft)

#78
Hexxx

Hexxx

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Just Joined
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Hey Everyone!!!! look at what i discovered!!!!Realtek Drivers from REALTELK them selves:

RTL8111B/RTL8168B/RTL8111/RTL8168/RTL8111C for 10.4 (10/100/1000 pciE) under OTHER
http://www.realtek.c...GetDown=false#7


RTL8110S-32/RTL8110SB(L)/RTL8169SB(L)/RTL8169SC(L) RTL8169 (10/100/1000 pci) for 10.4 under OTHER
http://www.realtek.c...ue#5,7,8,10,987

Can you attach the realtek drivers here, because I can't connect realtek site for some reason :D

#79
macgirl

macgirl

    Stargate's Pharaoh

  • Retired
  • 7,612 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Mexico City
  • Interests:Techie gadgets
Use a proxy

#80
XweAponX

XweAponX

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts

I have a realtek 8201CL and I cant find any support for it please help


Me 2 but everest 4.20 says it is a "Linksys LNE100TX fast Ethernet controller."

So. Look for a Lynksys LNe100Tx





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy