Mac G4... I'm Buying a used one...

14 posts in this topic

Hey guys. I found someone on craigslist that is selling an old PowerMac G4 400 Mhz for $100, so I am buying it from him tomorrow for sure.

So, I was just wondering what you guys would recommend I do it to upgrade it.

I'm a college student on a somewhat tight budget, but I would like to do as much to it as I can.

All I know of it so far is this:

It works (lol)

400 Mhz

128 MB PC100 RAM

10 GB HD

Zip Drive

CD-ROM

Here is what I plan to do with it as of now:

Upgrade RAM to at least 512

Add at least an 80 GB HD

Put in a CD-Burner (or DVD-Burner... whatever I end up finding)

I might look on ebay for a dual 450 processor or something if the motherboard can support it.

I was just wondering what else I should add... Judging by the specs it's probably the AGP Graphics model, or PCI graphics... nothing fancy like Gig ethernet, or Digital Audio.

I won't know much more about it till tomorrow when I buy it, but still...

Anyone know of any cheap places to buy ram for it?

I think I'll buy the burner and HD off newegg, or if someone recommends a cheaper site, then I will get it there.

I also want to get a decent PCI Audio Card. Or a USB one. Any recommendations on that?

Thanks in advance,

Pat

dvd burner -> pioneer dvr-111d (Apple Shipped &supported) 35 bucks new @ newegg

graphics -> nvidia fx5200 (can be flashed for mac - User2 knows how) they're getting cheaper

Audio -> soundblaster or turtlebeach (your choice theres many that work for mac just cruise the wiki)

Ram -> pc100 ram is getting hard to find on the cheap just look for ram on craigslist.

macsales.com Go there and love it.

Because you only mentioned the processor specs, it could be one of the following models:

G4 Yikes

G4 Sawtooth

G4 Gigabit Ethernet

The major issue will be with a Yikes, which can only take 4 256 MB PC 100/133 Ram modules. The other two can handle 4 512 MB PC 133 modules.