Newbie Hackintosh Project

felix.rubath

4 posts in this topic

I'm sorry if this doesn't belong here, I'm new to the forum and figuring everything out! :)

So I really want to build a Hackintosh. Not gonna lie: I don't know too much about building computers, I've never really done it.

I don't know anything about BIOS either, the most advanced things I've ever done is swap out the mechanical hard drive for an SSD in my old MacBook and re-installes macOS'es a couple of times when things got too messy.

I currently still have a MacBook as my daily driver, which does the job just fine. I use it for everything (traveling, class, writing, video editing) and it's fine, but I really want a (very powerful) desktop setup.

Like I said, I'm not too good with computers when it comes to building them, but I really want to try it and learn.

I think I need a logic board, SSD, RAM memory, processor (with cooler), a power supply, a graphic card, ... things like that. But I don't know what kinds and brands are compatible with macOS High Sierra...

I'm also not entirely sure on how to build these things.

What I really want is a decent desktop for video editing and a little bit of gaming (using Windows in Parallels or maybe on a partition of the SSD). The more powerful stuff, so I can use my MacBook for sitting in bed, for traveling and in class. So I assume I need a good processor and a dedicated graphic card (not shared, like my MacBook), enough RAM (my MacBook has 16 GB), ...

I think it's better to use modern technology and maybe make it a little overkill, because I want to use this setup for a long time (if that's possible).

Does anybody please know what components I should buy and use (that are compatible) for my setup? I know I didn't really give you a lot of details but it just needs to be better than a standard Mac Pro... I do want to keep it as cheap as possible, but without using used parts and without compromising performance.

What specs would you guys recommend?