Jump to content

X1900XT fully working with Dual-Screen, DVI out (Natit)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
34 replies to this topic

#1
MiR

MiR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Retired Developers
  • 18 posts
I just got my X1900XT working with QE/CI & Dual Screen Support + DVI output with 10.4.8 and latest Version of semthex's kernel

I simply installed natit and after playing arround for a while I got everything working with the following entries.

(Important, make sure that you replace the original entry for IOPCIMatch with the following:
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x00001002&amp;0x0000ffff</string>
otherwise Natit will not load the Keys)

You must also make sure that you have the 'original' AppleSMBIOS that came with the latest JaS DVD, if you use the patched version that was created to make 'About this Mac' work your second screen will not show up!

MiR


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple Computer//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com...yList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>CFBundleDevelopmentRegion</key>
<string>English</string>
<key>CFBundleExecutable</key>
<string>Natit</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.dmweb.Natit</string>
<key>CFBundleInfoDictionaryVersion</key>
<string>6.0</string>
<key>CFBundleName</key>
<string>Natit</string>
<key>CFBundlePackageType</key>
<string>KEXT</string>
<key>CFBundleSignature</key>
<string>????</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>1.0.0d1</string>
<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>Natit</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.dmweb.Natit</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>com_dmweb_Natit</string>
<key>IOMatchCategory</key>
<string>IOFramebuffer</string>
<key>IONameMatch</key>
<string>display</string>
<key>IOPCIMatch</key>
<string>0x00001002&amp;0x0000ffff</string>
<key>IOProbeScore</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOPCIDevice</string>
<key>entriesToAdd</key>
<dict>
<key>device_type</key>
<string>ATY,AlopiasParent</string>
<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
<integer>0x80000000</integer>
<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x00001000</integer>
<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x90b20000</integer>

<key>@0,compatible</key>
<string>ATY,Alopias</string>
<key>@0,name</key>
<string>ATY,Alopias</string>
<key>@0,device_type</key>
<string>display</string>
<key>@0,display-connect-flags</key>
<integer>00000400</integer>

<key>@1,compatible</key>
<string>ATY,Alopias</string>
<key>@1,name</key>
<string>ATY,Alopias</string>
<key>@1,device_type</key>
<string>display</string>
<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
<integer>00000400</integer>
</dict>

#2
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

I just got my X1900XT working with QE/CI & Dual Screen Support + DVI output with 10.4.8 and latest Version of semthex's kernel
<snip!>



This is very interesting!
Natit with an ATI card.... cool thing!!!
Could you post your Complete Natit.kext?

#3
munky

munky

    Agent of Evolution

  • Retired
  • 2,901 posts
  • Location:The Land of Hairy-Arsed Highlanders
Interesting, so ATY_Alopias is for the X1900 too? I use Alopias on my X1800XL...

Might give this a try myself... :)

#4
MiR

MiR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Retired Developers
  • 18 posts
????

The only thing that needs to be changed in natit.kext is Info.plist

I've included my complete Info.plist File in my previous post.

MiR

#5
munky

munky

    Agent of Evolution

  • Retired
  • 2,901 posts
  • Location:The Land of Hairy-Arsed Highlanders
can i ask... the AppleSMBIOS which mifki/vitaliy released with his kernel.. is that one ok? or is that the patched one?

the one from the JaS disc.. which version is it? the 10.4.8 one? the 10.4.7 one? the 10.4.4 one? any ideas? :)

#6
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

????

The only thing that needs to be changed in natit.kext is Info.plist

I've included my complete Info.plist File in my previous post.

MiR


Yep, but its not formatted as a plist :)
It would help many people if you post your kext!
Ah, and do you know what this does:

<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
<integer>0x80000000</integer>
<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x00001000</integer>
<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x90b20000</integer>

Thanks for this!

#7
MiR

MiR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Retired Developers
  • 18 posts
I'm not 100% sure if those three lines did the trick or if

@1,display-connect-flags

does the trick of activating the second screen.

Unfortunately I found out at the end that the patched version of AppleSMBIOS blocked the detection of the second screen, so I'm not 100% sure which of the following entries are definitely needed or perhaps are unneccessary:

<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
<integer>0x80000000</integer>
<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x00001000</integer>
<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x90b20000</integer>
<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
<integer>00000400</integer>

I will play arround to find the minimal entries necessary.

I've attaced my current info.plist

can i ask... the AppleSMBIOS which mifki/vitaliy released with his kernel.. is that one ok? or is that the patched one?

the one from the JaS disc.. which version is it? the 10.4.8 one? the 10.4.7 one? the 10.4.4 one? any ideas? :)


Yes, this one should be O.K.

MiR

Attached Files



#8
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

I'm not 100% sure if those three lines did the trick or if

@1,display-connect-flags

does the trick of activating the second screen.

Unfortunately I found out at the end that the patched version of AppleSMBIOS blocked the detection of the second screen, so I'm not 100% sure which of the following entries are definitely needed or perhaps are unneccessary:

<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
<integer>0x80000000</integer>
<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x00001000</integer>
<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x90b20000</integer>
<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
<integer>00000400</integer>

I will play arround to find the minimal entries necessary.


Hm, OK! Let us know what happens if you remove these lines! :)

I've attaced my current info.plist


Where is it? :D
Ok, I saw it! :D

#9
MiR

MiR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Retired Developers
  • 18 posts
Hmmm.... I removed

<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
<integer>0x80000000</integer>
<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x00001000</integer>
<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x90b20000</integer>
<key>@0,display-connect-flags</key>
<integer>00000400</integer>
<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
<integer>00000400</integer>

and Dual Screen still works.

Perhaps somebody could verify on a new machine if the entries are really not needed....

#10
munky

munky

    Agent of Evolution

  • Retired
  • 2,901 posts
  • Location:The Land of Hairy-Arsed Highlanders
i'm about to try this out with my X1800XL, 10.4.8 w/ mifki's kernel and SMBIOS kext.

just sorting out my drivers just now, as they are a hodgepodge of borisbadenov installer, ATIInject.kext and manual editing... :(

#11
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

Hmmm.... I removed

<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
<integer>0x80000000</integer>
<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x00001000</integer>
<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x90b20000</integer>
<key>@0,display-connect-flags</key>
<integer>00000400</integer>
<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
<integer>00000400</integer>

and Dual Screen still works.

Perhaps somebody could verify on a new machine if the entries are really not needed....



Ahm I tried this:
Loaded Natit_Dual_v0.02 and changed your kext to match my card... Permissions and so on I dont need to talk about this!
Reboot... and:
No DVI!
Just my VGA is working... I did this: ioreg -l -w0 | grep "EDID"
and it showed me this:
| | | | "CRT2,EDID" = <00ffffffffffff001ab3940501010101290f0103682b1a782ac905a3574b9c25125054bfef807
4f81c081cf818095000101010101019a29a0d051842a30509836009a001100001c000000ff005945
7553032373232330a2020000000fd00384b1f530e000a202020202020000000fc005731392d310a2
20202020202000a3>
| | | | | "IODisplayEDID" = <00ffffffffffff001ab3940501010101290f0103682b1a782ac905a3574b9c25125054bfef807
4f81c081cf818095000101010101019a29a0d051842a30509836009a001100001c000000ff005945
7553032373232330a2020000000fd00384b1f530e000a202020202020000000fc005731392d310a2
20202020202000a3>

But this is not correct! My monitor is a DFP not a CRT! :(

#12
munky

munky

    Agent of Evolution

  • Retired
  • 2,901 posts
  • Location:The Land of Hairy-Arsed Highlanders
one question: which natit do i use? and do i need EDID info first?

#13
gu3d3s

gu3d3s

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 441 posts
  • Location:Fort-CE-BR
hi all!

I will tr the kext with x1600 too!

[]'s

#14
icyderguru

icyderguru

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
just tried it, replaced alopias with Wormy (cause i use an x1600)

got qeci, res change, and my card shows up as 512mb card (which it is)

but still only mirror picture

used 2dvi -->d-sub (2xcrt 19 inch)

sleep also works

tried semthex/mifki-demones kernel

#15
munky

munky

    Agent of Evolution

  • Retired
  • 2,901 posts
  • Location:The Land of Hairy-Arsed Highlanders
working for me using the op's Info.plist

:) unknown nvidia - classic :(

fyi, when i use the boris method, i can see the 'Mac OS X Starting Up...' screen, but with this solution and with ATIInject/ATIEFI I dont. With ATIInject/ATIEFI my monitor cant wake from sleep (monitor sleep, not system sleep), but with boris method it can.

just about to test whether wake from sleep will work here...

EDIT: ok, that worked. now the biggie... will system sleep work (it never has for me...)

EDIT2: DAMN IT! wake from system sleep still doesnt work for me. i think its related to mobo, as mifki/vitaliy has the same problem, and he has the same mobo as me.

EDIT3: Interesting... the machine is still responding to a ping. Thats progress... :)

#16
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male
I tried with an x1600 (Wormy) and modifying the Info.plist appropriately.

All I got was a blue screen, no cursor.

Used Natit.kext from here: http://forum.insanel...&...st&p=227574

AppleSMBios.kext was from "final" 10.4.8 JaS Intel SSE3 Only install DVD.

Info.plist says:

<key>entriesToAdd</key>
			<dict>
				<key>device_type</key>
				<string>ATY,WormyParent</string>
				<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
				<integer>0x80000000</integer>
				<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
				<integer>0x00001000</integer>
				<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
				<integer>0x90b20000</integer>
				<key>@0,compatible</key>
				<string>ATY,Wormy</string>
				<key>@0,name</key>
				<string>ATY,Wormy</string>
				<key>@0,device_type</key>
				<string>display</string>
				<key>@0,display-connect-flags</key>
				<string>00000400</string>
				<key>@1,compatible</key>
				<string>ATY,Wormy</string>
				<key>@1,name</key>
				<string>ATY,Wormy</string>
				<key>@1,device_type</key>
				<string>display</string>
				<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
				<string>00000400</string>
			</dict>

Questions:

1) Which Natit.kext did you use?
2) Which versions of ATI kexts do you have installed?
3) Which OpenGL.framework do you have?



#17
~Neo

~Neo

    The installer man. Formerly known as "NeoPheus"

  • Retired Developers
  • 644 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany

AppleSMBios.kext was from "final" 10.4.8 JaS Intel SSE3 Only install DVD.


As I understood, you have to use another AppleSMBios!! The one from JaS DVD is fixed, I think....

#18
MiR

MiR

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Retired Developers
  • 18 posts

I tried with an x1600 (Wormy) and modifying the Info.plist appropriately.


Info.plist says:

<key>entriesToAdd</key>
			<dict>
				<key>device_type</key>
				<string>ATY,WormyParent</string>
				<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
				<integer>0x80000000</integer>
				<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
				<integer>0x00001000</integer>
				<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
				<integer>0x90b20000</integer>
				<key>@0,compatible</key>
				<string>ATY,Wormy</string>
				<key>@0,name</key>
				<string>ATY,Wormy</string>
				<key>@0,device_type</key>
				<string>display</string>
				<key>@0,display-connect-flags</key>
				<string>00000400</string>
				<key>@1,compatible</key>
				<string>ATY,Wormy</string>
				<key>@1,name</key>
				<string>ATY,Wormy</string>
				<key>@1,device_type</key>
				<string>display</string>
				<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
				<string>00000400</string>
			</dict>

Questions:

1) Which Natit.kext did you use?
2) Which versions of ATI kexts do you have installed?
3) Which OpenGL.framework do you have?


I have an unpatched system, fresh from the JaS 10.4.8 DVD 2nd edition)
In my point of view lot's of errors come from too much trying without later cleaning up.... (See my problems with AppleSMBios :D )

Please remove the following entries as they might be special to X1900XT:

<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
<integer>0x80000000</integer>
<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x00001000</integer>
<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x90b20000</integer>

<key>@0,display-connect-flags</key>
<string>00000400</string>
<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
<string>00000400</string>


MiR

As I understood, you have to use another AppleSMBios!! The one from JaS DVD is fixed, I think....


I just tried the latest version of AppleSMBios from Paulicat, this version also seems to work.

I will re-install my system later to see if everithing works out of the box with a completely fresh system.

MiR

#19
Rammjet

Rammjet

    InsanelyMac V.I.P.

  • Gurus
  • 5,302 posts
  • Gender:Male

In my point of view lot's of errors come from too much trying without later cleaning up

This was my first ever "try"

Please remove the following entries as they might be special to X1900XT:

<key>ATY,FrameBufferOffset</key>
<integer>0x80000000</integer>
<key>ATY,IOSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x00001000</integer>
<key>ATY,RegisterSpaceOffset</key>
<integer>0x90b20000</integer>

<key>@0,display-connect-flags</key>
<string>00000400</string>
<key>@1,display-connect-flags</key>
<string>00000400</string>

Will do, meanwhile since I had previously installed the Boris-style patch for x1x00, I went back and replaced my ATI* kexts and OpenGL.framework with original 10.4.8 versions. This time I get a display, mirrored on both monitors.

But looking at boot messages, Natit.kext ran 6 times during boot and here is a summary of the errors:

4.80.46.0display: family specific matching fails
display: family specific matching failsdisplay: family specific matching fails

Natit: Starting.
Natit: Setting model=Unknown nVidia

Natit: Starting.
Natit: Setting model=Unknown nVidia
display: family specific matching fails

Natit: Starting.
Natit: Setting @0,device_type=displaydisplay: family specific matching fails

Natit: Starting.
Natit: Setting model=Unknown nVidia

Natit: Setting model=Unknown nVidia
display: family specific matching fails

Natit: Starting.
Natit: Setting model=Unknown nVidia

ATY,Wormy: Not usable
ATY,Wormy: Not usable



#20
ooZberg

ooZberg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts
Finally DVI for X1900 :D (and dual display too)

Is there any chance to get tv-out working? That would be great!





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy