No QE/CI on HD 4000 after installing and removing Play on Mac (XQuartz X11)

redbull02

10 posts in this topic

Hey guys, here with a very unexpected issue out of the blue. I have a fully working OS X Sierra (10.12.3) with an Ivy bridge CPU with HD 4000 (using ig platform ID 0x01620005 in Clover) and had full graphics acceleration (Intel HD 4000 recognized and 1500 MB of shared video memory recognized in System information). After installing play on Mac and the required XQuartz X11 and rebooting, I no longer have graphics QE/CI. I removed the Quartz app and deleted some file in opt/X11folder on the system drive to get rid of it but it seems that it's interfering  with the loading of the appropriate graphics kexts (I can see the HD 4000 IGX under system information but no graphic kexts are loaded - i.e.AppleIntelHD4000Graphics.kext, AppleIntelBDWGraphicsFramebuffer.kext, etc.). I didn't make a full hard drive backup of my system so now I'm really stuck and I'm not very experienced at Hackintosh builds (this was my first succesful build). Here's my IOReg in case you need it. Let me know what else I can provide and I'll post it ASAP.

Thanks

my IOReg-1.zip

Send me Ernest’s iMac.zip

nope, just selected the IDs available in clover configurator (the graphics section) from the dropdown menu under HD 4000 (desktop) and the only one that gave me the proper amount of shared video RAM (1500 MB as opposed to 4 or 7 MB) was the 1620005 (the two 166000 didn't work). But I'll give the 1620003 ID a try and see what happens. I still think the problem might be cuased by Play on Mac + Quartz X11 program because I literally just turned on the computer, installed those programs, restarted a few minutes later and then suddenly lost graphics acceleration. 

Is there a way to just revert all the previous kexts or system configurations? 

Well, I tried your suggested ID but no dice. Oddly, these settings fixed the issue: