Sierra install with Intel 7700K + MSI Z270M Mortar [SUCCESS!]

alexdi

50 posts in this topic

I'm new to this, I hope you'll forgive some novice questions. The system:

Intel 7700K

MSI Z270M

2 x 16GB RAM

Samsung EVO 850 500GB SSD

I installed UB (open to using a different Clover install mechanism) to a flash drive, booted, and set a fake CPU ID of 0x0506E3. The install fails almost immediately, transitioning from an Apple logo to a circle with a line through it. Verbose mode says "AllocateRelocBlock Error," which led me here:

https://nickwoodhams.com/x99-hackintosh-osxaptiofixdrv-allocaterelocblock-error-update/

That's as far as I've gotten. I'm not sure how to edit the Clover version on the USB drive. Can someone point me in the right direction? I've gone through a lot of posts, but most of them seem to address how to fix problems after the installation. Thanks!

• Like 1

Is the Clover installer supposed to go on the same bootable Sierra install USB stick? If so, this is to the "OSX Flash Drive" destination? It gives me an error that says it may be incompatible.

• Like 1

OK. My system refuses to boot from the resulting disk. I did:

* Disk Utility -> erase, format as GUID Mac Journaled, named USB

* Run Flash utility -> drag mounted USB to utility -> drag "Install Sierra.app" to utility -> Enter -> Enter password -> Enter

* Run Clover package -> install to OSX Flash Drive -> "OK"

* Open OSX Flash Drive \ EFI \ Clover -> copy contents of "Clover Installation.zip" -> paste, replace all 

It sees the USB stick, but repeatedly bypasses it to go to the drive that still has Windows on it. Picture attached.

post-1190785-0-28658800-1493495766_thumb.png

• Like 1