A guide to porting PPC aplications.

4 posts in this topic

I hope this is of any help to anyone, I've written a basic guide on porting apps, and here it is, if you don't understand it and would like a more Complete guide, then i suggest you download the Guide in pdf format, which includes pictures, the reason for not including them here is simply that i don't want to find a place to host each picture, and well I'm just lazy.

note: you can get the guide in pdf format from the attachment at the bottom of the post.

Well on to the guide now.

EDIT: Note there will always be one file in the project window that will be of color red: 'filename.app' or in case of Acqlite it was 'acqlite.app', the reason is that your compiling that file, so don't worry about that.

Porting OSX PPC applications to OSX Intel

First of all I’m no expert, so all I’m writing here, is from reading Apple guidelines on compiling Universal binaries, and some basic knowledge I have in programming (and I really mean basic).

Will this work for porting all apps to OSX86? The answer is ‘no’ since some or many times you will need to modify the code itself to compile it properly, however this will work for those apps that require minor change or no change at all.

Ok so here we go, oh and one more thing, English is my second language so.... well you know the rest.

The first thing you need to do is make sure that you have installed all the required software, that is Xcode and the Cross-Development 1.4 (Universal) SDK. If you did not install this when you were setting up OsX then you can install it from the Dev-DVD.

Dev-DVD ----> System----> Installation------> Packages-------> Packages---> CrossDevelopment.mpkg

Now that you have all the requirements let’s get down to compiling the application.

1. Open Up the Project in Xcode, it’s usually a file followed by the extension ‘.xcode’ or ‘xcodeproj’.