config.plist kext and booting

EdmundF

5 posts in this topic

Hi Guys,

I am totally new to hackinstosh and I want to understand it a bit more.

After making an USB-stick with Sierra and replacing the default config.plist with one under the name "AMD legacy" my computer booted

from the USB-stick.

I installed Sierra from it and I could boot it with the use of the USB.

Now I had no network ( Realtek 8111F ) and no sound ( Realtek ALC887 ).

Next I tried to install ( without reading much about it ) "Clover" but still couldn't boot directly from the harddrive.

Then I copied the EFI and BOOT  partition/settings to the Hard drive which made it boot directly.

Using a "kext" to install the network on the harddrive gave me a network and internet.

Using the same method for the sound did not work.

Now I like to know a few things, if I boot from the USB-key and select "boot from hard-drive" 

What will happen, does it use the config.plist from the USB-stick or from the hard-drive or both?

Point is that I like to make everything work and test it using the USB-stick in order to prevent damaging my hard-drive settings and risk it won't boot anymore.

Don't know what to do if that happens.

Now about those "kext:" things :-) are these making different changes then the config.plist' ? or is it possible to have everything fixed with the right config.plist?

I

Hallo artur_pt,

Maybe I was not clear but when I select in the BIOS to boot from the USB-pen, get the the clover menu and then select "boot from Hard drive"

What i found out is that the config.plist on the USB-pen must correspond to the system/video card used or the USB-pen will not boot.

When I next select "boot from harddrive" the configuration made on the hard drive is loaded.

The configuration for the network and sound I have done using a "kext" and a kext installer.