Natit.kext - Titan imitation with source.

dm_webd

83 posts in this topic

Well, I've made this kext from the specifications listed by Omni. It's probably not as elegant as his, but this is my first time doing any IOKit development. Also C++ is not my native language, so I can surely say I've learned alot doing this.

The code is kind of messy, and I hope to clean it up and add new features.

In addition to what is described by Omni, I've only made one addition: looking up the chipset name from the device-id.

I've made it ease to add new types of strings and fboffsets.

Maybe I've made some mistakes - if so, I hope some of you more experienced can help point them out.

I've attached both source and a precompiled kext.

Please report back any results from trying this kext and experimenting with it.

(Remember to move Titan.kext out of the extensions folder if you try this one to prevent both from loading.)

Enjoy. :)

Natit.zip

Natit.kext.zip

did it work for you?

It does the same as omni's kext for me. I don't have kernel 10.4.8, so I only get basic functionality like resolution switching, power management and sleep mode. But I see no reason why it shouldn't work like Omni's on a real 10.4.8 kernel, as it puts in the same entries to the IORegistry.

Also there's two commented out lines in the source that might give multi-monitor support, if someone want to experiment with it.

It would be nice if someone with the 10.4.8 kernel could try this.

It does the same as omni's kext for me. I don't have kernel 10.4.8, so I only get basic functionality like resolution switching, power management and sleep mode. But I see no reason why it shouldn't work like Omni's on a real 10.4.8 kernel, as it puts in the same entries to the IORegistry.

Also there's two commented out lines in the source that might give multi-monitor support, if someone want to experiment with it.

It would be nice if someone with the 10.4.8 kernel could try this.

i test it ... it works :)