Wacom MobileStudio Pro

alexway

11 posts in this topic

Hi,

the new Wacom MobileStudio Pro has just been release in two flavors (13.3 and 15.6"). Would love to know if the (close to) 16" model can run MacOS ?

Has someone tried it yet or planning to try ? Is there a way to know if it will work without buying and trying ? 

Wonder if anyone has managed to make OS X work well with Nvidia mobile Quadro. It seems it may be possible http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/273621-guide-os-x-lion-on-thinkpad-w520/

Also would be interesting to assemble an installing guide like there is one for the Cintiq Companion 2.

Alex

• Like 1

Hey, alexway!

I was thinking them same, mate, it will be nice to put our hands on it and try, I think it's the only way to check if it's possible ^_^

I'm not planning to buy it, no thanks, those prices are completely insane in my opinion. And I'm a freelance artist and I think it will be a great machine but for the same i5/128GB model, I will need to pay 300€ more than I did when Companion 2 was launched (which I bought just because it was able to boot OSX, btw). And it doesn't come with cover, stand, cable/link.... So I'm keeping my CC2 until it dies I think... well, unless we check OSX is possible in this new device ;)

16" models come with these CPUs and Graphics:

DTH-W1620M:Intel Core i5-6267U (2.9GHz) 
DTH-W1620H:Intel Core i7-6567U (3.3 GHz)

DTH-W1620M:NVIDIA® Quadro® M600M 2GB GDDR5 
DTH-W1620H:NVIDIA® Quadro® M1000M 4GB GDDR5

13" models say only:

6th generation Intel® Core™ processors

Intel® Iris™ Graphics 550

They probably mount same CPU models I think. It these are supported (regarding Nvidia Quadro as you asked) I think it will be possible to install OSX.

Hey Bertolin, thanks for joining the discussion. I'm willing to try but will not buy it right away. I am a bit scared because last time I bought the Cintiq Companion 2 with the Broadwell and I never could make it work under OS X. Well I resold it quickly because of it.