Asus Sabertooth X79 / i7-3960x DSDT/SSDT help needed (MacOS Sierra)

mitchellkza

8 posts in this topic

Hi folks, hope you are all well and hacking away as usual.

I really hope someone here could give me some guidance. I am a total noob at DSDT editing but I am very familiar with OSX86 installation as I have been doing this for 6 years now and never had issues where I needed a DSDT/SSDT as I was always not really worried about CPU Power Management and whether it worked or not.

I re-loaded my system starting now 2 weeks ago to try and get it up to spec with My Macbook so that working between desktop and macbook would be flawless, this meant moving from Lion to El-Capitan. I have over the last 2 weeks now done well over 60 or 70 installs with trying Yosemite, El-Capitan and Sierra. They all work perfectly except for power management.

This is when I started learning to edit a DSDT from this site and specifically this guide by Shilohh. Which really explained DSDT editing in great detail and through many attempts I managed to edit my DSDT and boot from it. His guide is however dated 2013 so I think I have some mismatches between some of his hacks and what needs to be changed for Sierra to properly understand it. I used in addition to this a guide by Shilohh on another forum for Native Power Management and another guide by Toleda also on Native Power Management. 

I actually have had Speedstep working for the past 3 days but it would never clock into it's Turbo States it would just max out at 3.3 Ghz and never reach 3.9 Ghz when put under stress. Yesterday I still had it working with my edited DSDT but then later in the day I discovered I actually still had NullCpuPowerManagement.kext loaded and once I removed it all speedstepping and CPU power management is gone.