Dell E6220 - Sierra possible or not?

brainwash

10 posts in this topic

Hi, complete newbie here.

I've tried following all the guides I could find to get MacOS on a Dell E6220 i3-2330m laptop. The guide on this forum is for El Capitan but unfortunately I could not find any install image/package for El Capitan. I did all the steps in an El Capitan VM (there were no issues) but I could get access to a MBPro or MBAir (with Sierra) if required. I don't think that's the case.

For reference, this will be the guide I'm referring to: http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/topic/308711-guide-run-os-x-el-capitan-on-a-dell-latitude-e6320/This has been reported as working with E6220 as well.

What I did so far: used the CreateInstallMedia script to partition the USB drive and build the Sierra install on it. Also did this manually through the installation.app script, no changes. Ran Clover with the following options: 'install on esp', 'install in mbr', Clover 64-bit SATA was already selected, 'install rc scripts on target', selected all themes. The last option - clover preference pane - was disabled and could not be selected. Destination was USB disk.

I replaced the Clover folder from EFI with the one found in E6320 zip file.

I ran Clover Configuration, chose the config.plist file inside the EFI partition, in SMBIOS replaced a few characters in the Serial Number and Board-id.

On the target laptop tried booting UEFI - the BIOS does not recognize the bootable files, it shows messed up names when I navigate to choose a *.efi file. Booted from USB with MBR, got the clover boot screen. From there I chose 'install macos X sierra' - this pauses for a while, displays the logo, then displays a 'no parking' sign. Chose the other option - 'boot into Clover' - but this just spins up the fans and puts the laptop to sleep.