Jump to content

[Guide] macOS Sierra 10.12.x on ASRock H170M-ITX/ac

* * * * * 3 votes asrock h170m clover skylake sierra

  • Please log in to reply
333 replies to this topic

#1
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

original.jpg

 

Introduction

This is a step-by-step guide for installing macOS Sierra 10.12.x on ASRock H170M-ITX/ac utilizing the onboard Intel HD530 GPU. Sorry for not elaborating like you’re reading a novel of some sort, but I think this is for your own benefit. Here are the details of my personal build:

 

- ASRock H170M-ITX/ac (BIOS v7.00)

- Core i3-6100 @ 3.7GHz

- 16GB RAM @ 2133MHz

- Onboard HD530 via HDMI

- Mini PCIe BCM94352HMB Wifi+BT

 

My experience with this system after 4 - 5 months of daily development usage (Xcode, Web etc.) is this: It's most definitely a very stable system if you don't mind the well known Hackintosh plague, which is the absence of Sleep functionality. Highly recommended.

 

Prerequisites

Maccie, a working Macintosh or Hackintosh computer, or even a macOS VM on Windows.

Hackie, your to-be Hackintosh computer.

Installie, a USB disk with capacity of 16GB or more.

 

Create the Install Disk

A) Download Install macOS Sierra.app from the AppStore on Maccie.

B) Insert a USB disk on Maccie and open Disk Utility. Select your USB disk, select Erase, add Installie as its name and press Erase.

C) Run the following command from Terminal: sudo /Applications/Install\ macOS\ Sierra.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Installie --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ macOS\ Sierra.app --nointeraction

D) Once more, rename your USB disk to Installie and execute Clover_v2.4k_r4049.pkg. Select Installie USB disk as target, then proceed to the customization step.

E) Select nothing but Install for UEFI booting onlyInstall Clover in the ESP, and OsxAptioFix2Drv-64 from Drivers64UEFI menu.

F) Installie's EFI partition is now mounted. Overwrite EFI/CLOVER/config.plist with the config.plist file attached to this post.

G) Copy all attached kexts to EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other, copy SSDT-2.aml to EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched.

 

OS X Installation

H) Your Installie USB disk is now ready, plug it in on Hackie.

I) Press Del key to enter Hackie’s BIOS. On the Exit menu, execute Load UEFI Defaults, then enable XHCI Handoff.

J) On Boot menu, set your first boot device to UEFI: BrandName XYZ, Partition 1. Save everything and exit.

K) On Clover menu, select the macOS Installer entry, and after a couple of minutes you should be in the macOS Sierra installer.

L) Open Disk Utility, and format Hackie's internal HDD or SDD just like on step B, but this time name it Macintosh HD.

M) Continue with the installation on Macintosh HD until Hackie is restarted. Then, the second part of the installation will continue.

N) On the last restart, this time boot from your newly created Macintosh HD.

 

Finalize

O) With some luck you should be now customizing your Hackie's first run.

P) Repeat steps D, E, F, G but this time make sure you apply everything on Macintosh HD.

Q) Remove Installie from USB port, and restart Hackie.

R) The end.

 

Extra Points

S) If you own a SSD, paste the following on Terminal in order to enable TRIM support: sudo trimforce enable

T) Replace VBoxHfs-64.efi with HFSPlus-64.efi in drivers64UEFI. It's proprietary, but it's faster.

 

Notes

- You should replace the default Intel Wifi+BT Mini PCIe card with the BCM94352HMB or something equally compatible.

- Sleep does not work yet (see post #2 for output).

- Keep in mind that this is a WIP, any input from you will be much appreciated.

Make sure to mention the lettering of the step in question and the description of your problem using as much detail as possible.

 

Attached Files



#2
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Now after the _OSI to XOSI patch the "Wake reason" is:

denniss-imac:~ dk$ syslog | grep -i "Wake reason" 
May 11 20:00:55 denniss-imac kernel[0] <Notice>: Wake reason: XDCI

And it panics on:

denniss-imac:~ dk$ pmset -g log | grep -i failure                                      
2016-05-14 20:21:43 +0300 Failure              Drivers Failure panic during wake due to SAT0():


#3
MKJRN64

MKJRN64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Hey, I have the ASrock H170M PRO4S

2.7 Core i5 6400
Onboard Video HD 5300
16GB DDR

I have been trying to get to installer and so far your instructions and Plist Config actually gets me farther into boot ...until i get the "stop" prohibitor sign.

 

Any help would be awesome As there are no guides for this Motherboard.. Thanks!



#4
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Hey, I have the ASrock H170M PRO4S

2.7 Core i5 6400
Onboard Video HD 5300
16GB DDR

I have been trying to get to installer and so far your instructions and Plist Config actually gets me farther into boot ...until i get the "stop" prohibitor sign.

 

Any help would be awesome As there are no guides for this Motherboard.. Thanks!

 

Thanks for your feedback, I think those two Motherboards should be similar. Could you please boot with Verbose Flag (-v) and see where it gets stuck?



#5
MKJRN64

MKJRN64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Sure, so it gets stuck here and then it gets all distorted. 

Attached Files



#6
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Sure, so it gets stuck here and then it gets all distorted. 

 

I honestly cannot read the output of the second screen, but based on the first one I will make an assumption: Do you have "FakeSMC.kext" on EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.11?

 

EDIT: I think it says "Still waiting for root device" at the bottom. Try to boot with "cpus=1" flag and report back.



#7
MKJRN64

MKJRN64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Same error, and I used the same "FakeSMC.kext that you had in your attachment..



#8
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Same error, and I used the same "FakeSMC.kext that you had in your attachment..

 

Did you try "cpus=1"?



#9
MKJRN64

MKJRN64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Did you try "cpus=1"?

 

Yes, I Did. Same error at the same place.



#10
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Yes, I Did. Same error at the same place.

 

1) Is your SATA Controller set as AHCI in BIOS?

2) Try to also enable "Inject USB" on Clover's "config.plist", right now only "Fix Ownership" is enabled.

3) Some people also mention the following Boot Flags: npci=0x2000 or npci=0x3000

4) Also keep "USBInjectAll.kext" on your "EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.11" as well.



#11
MKJRN64

MKJRN64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA

1) Is your SATA Controller set as AHCI in BIOS?

2) Try to also enable "Inject USB" on Clover's "config.plist", right now only "Fix Ownership" is enabled.

3) Some people also mention the following Boot Flags: npci=0x2000 or npci=0x3000

4) Also keep "USBInjectAll.kext" on your "EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.11" as well.

1. AHCI is already set in Bios.

2. I checked off the box for inject USB

3. I have tried both boot flags, one at a time.

4. I have put "USBInjectAll.kext in 10.10, 10,11, and "other:".

 

Still stuck at the same place.


1. AHCI is already set in Bios.

2. I checked off the box for inject USB

3. I have tried both boot flags, one at a time.

4. I have put "USBInjectAll.kext in 10.10, 10,11, and "other:".

 

Still stuck at the same place.

 

Interestingly, I tried booting with -x and it flys thru the boot but it then restarts.



#12
gengik84

gengik84

    InsanelyMac Top V.I.P.

  • Moderators
  • 13,395 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Toscana

Try inject intel ang ig-platform-id 0x19120000



#13
MKJRN64

MKJRN64

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Try inject intel ang ig-platform-id 0x19120000

I have tried that as well.

 

As I was looking over my build, I have forgotten to add a hardware piece that i had in there but forgot to mention. I have a TP-LINK N900 wireless PCI Express installed.



#14
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

1. AHCI is already set in Bios.

2. I checked off the box for inject USB

3. I have tried both boot flags, one at a time.

4. I have put "USBInjectAll.kext in 10.10, 10,11, and "other:".

 

Still stuck at the same place.


 

Interestingly, I tried booting with -x and it flys thru the boot but it then restarts.

 

Inject USB box should be checked, not unchecked.

My boot flags with "-uia_exclude" may be disabling your Boot USB, try to remove it.

Try also to use "UseKernelCache=No".

Disable VT-d in BIOS as well, maybe "dart=0" doesn't work.



#15
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Some user also reported in order to get past the garbled text you need to try a different output (HDMI, DVI etc).



#16
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Changelog:

- Added new version of "config.plist" that includes _OSI to XOSI patch.

- New SMBIOS for iMac 17,1.



#17
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Changelog:

- Updated version of "AppleALC.kext" with v1.0.10. Great work vit9696!



#18
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Changelog:

- New BIOS v1.70 installed, everything works OK, but CSM mysteriously disappeared as an option :(



#19
eric5949

eric5949

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
I've tried following these instructions on my Asrock H110 mitx mother board, it just loops back to the boot devices screen.

#20
Denicio

Denicio

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Donators
  • 446 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

I've tried following these instructions on my Asrock H110 mitx mother board, it just loops back to the boot devices screen.

 

Do you see anything on screen before it resets?







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: asrock, h170m, clover, skylake, sierra


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2016 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy