Install problems on Asus Sabertooth x79. Totally lost where to start

12 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm pretty new to osx. back in the days i've installed osx on pc hardware, but it's long ago.

Now i want to install it on my existing computer.

Specs: Asus Sabertooth X79, Intel i7-3960X, Ati Radeon Sapphire TRI-X R9 290, Intel 520 SSD.

No matter what i've tried, it ends without luck.

Made a usb install drive on PC with transmac (yosemite and el capitan tried both)

used differend boot args/flags. dart=0, cpus=1 npci=0x2000,usbbusfix=yes, rootless=0 in different order and combinations

It hangs at PCI Configuration begin or Still waiting for root device.

is my hardware incompatible?

I want to use OSX to play with Logic X.

I wouldn't mind to buy a new mainboard or videocard, but i like my cpu, because i use it for photoshop and rendering.

Any ideas, or can someone help me out here?

Thanks a lot.

Hi, 

I got x79 and can help you. 

I suggest you get OS X on VM, then make a clover USB on it. Then send me your EFI, and I'll modify it. Just upload your EFI here later through dropbox, zip it into another folder. 

Hi, 

I got x79 and can help you. 

I suggest you get OS X on VM, then make a clover USB on it. Then send me your EFI, and I'll modify it. Just upload your EFI here later through dropbox, zip it into another folder. 

Thanks for you're reply. have a good guide/tut how to make a clover USB? allready got osx on workstation.

Edited by Allan
post unquoted

No need to do them. put your EFI in a folder compress it and upload it it to dropbox and link it. I'll change it. 

Thanks.  but what need to be done with efi? I'm glad you want to help, but also like to know what ;)

Thanks.  but what need to be done with efi? I'm glad you want to help, but also like to know what ;)

Sure. I'm happy you're one of those users who actually want to do something and not just sit and relax. Though the process might be complicated for a new beginner. I'll tell you.