ASUS Transformer Book Flip TP500LN

SavageAUS

14 posts in this topic

Hi guys,
This post will be a work in progress guide on how to install el capitan 10.11.3 on an ASUS TP500LN

I have successfully installed os x to this laptop and am in the process of reinstalling so I will update guide as I go along.

This is my first attempt at a guide so please bare with me and please feel free to inform me of any corrections.

My specs are.
Processor Intel Haswell Core i7-4510U CPU
Chipset Intel HM87
Memory 8 GB DDR3
Video integrated Intel 4400 HD (*Nvidia GT 840M for the TP500LN version)
Connectivity Broadcom BCM4352 Azurewave AW-CE123H WiFi + BT, REALTEK RTL8111/8168/8411
AUDIO ALC3236 / ALC233

The final product will have full graphics acceleration, sound, wifi, speedstep.

Nvidia GT 840m disabled by DSDT.

To begin you of course need to download El Capitan 10.11.x from the mac app store either from a working hack, vm or a real mac.

I used the create install media method to copy the files to an 8Gb USB drive.

sudo /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ El\ Capitan.app/Contents/Resources/createinstallmedia --volume /Volumes/Untitled --applicationpath /Applications/Install\ OS\ X\ El\ Capitan.app --no interaction
Once you have done that install the latest version of clover bootloader to the USB drive.

https://sourceforge.net/projects/cloverefiboot/

My clover folder contains my patched DSDT and SSDT's and Kexts for this hack to work.

1a. Choose install for UEFI booting only and install Clover to the esp.
1b. Choose your theme. Ive used Bluemac in Config.plist.

1c. Under Driver64UEFI select only OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.

1d. Install RC scripts on the target volume.

1e. Install Clover Preference Pane.

1f. Install Clover.

1g. While the EFI partition is mounted (if you cannot see the EFI partition on your desktop click Finder -> Preferences -> Check box for Hard disks) copy my attached Clover folder to the USB drive and overwrite the existing CLOVER folder