Quo Bios update uncertainty

maxprum

8 posts in this topic

This is my first post here and I am hoping someone will take pity on a newbie like me and help me out, I am a video editor and I'm fairly computer savvy but I'm no developer or programmer.  I have a quo computer from 2013 with a Z77MX-QUO-AOS motherboard.  I am currently running OS X 10.8.5 and I want to update to El Capitan.  I looked online and got the instructions and downloaded the H2N.OZ1669M BIOS.  However every time I got to flash the Bios the screen locks up just before the window asking me to confirm the flash should appear, I waited a couple minutes and then restarted.  Should I just wait for the next prompt to load?  I am also a little concerned about installing this Bios and bricking my motherboard because the video with the instructions for flashing predates its release.   I was looking at the newest release forum and saw a link to a user developed Bios called Z77MXQUOAOS.H3C.1669M.ROM.  Is this the one that I should use?  I really appreciate any advice on this, I love my hackintosh but I have to admit i am not as expert as a lot of hackintosh users.

I just flashed mine from H3B to H3C 1479 yesterday.  I think H3C is the latest, but I could be wrong.  I suspect maybe it is the file or usb drive?  I believe the usb drive needs to be ms-dos fat32 format, yep just checked :)  Try to the option to save the existing version to the same drive to see if it can read/write to the drive ok.

On a related note, I spun the tires on trying to upgrade from Mavericks to El Cap and wasn't successful. 

Before I did this, I cloned my 120G ssd boot disk to a new 1TB SSD drive using carbon copy.  I shut it down, removed the 120G disk and it booted up nicely on the new disk.

I now had a backup boot disk removed the picture.