Improving Performance of El Capitan inside a VM with Workstation 12. Any Tipps?

8 posts in this topic

Hey guys,

im relatively new to all those Virtualization Topics regarding OSX inside VMware.

I managed to install OSX now and it works quite well. However i seem to have some performance issues. Graphics are sluggish and the overall performance doesnt feel like it should be regarding to the settings i have for the VM.

It has 4 Cores assigned and can use up to 13,5 GB of my 16 GB RAM.

I have:

Intel Core i7 4770K

16 GB Patriot RAM

Gefore GTX 770

Seagate Barracuda SATA HDD (dont have enough Space on my SSD, so i MUST use this)

VMware Tools also installed well, i get full 1080p resolution and everything - really the only thing not working are the Shared Folders but this doesnt bother me that much since i can compensate with SMB. But yeah, the performance still doesnt seem to be good. Standard Apps like Safari already take a while to open and the graphic card is not recognized at all - it shows a generic adapter with128 MB RAM ^^

Can you help me improving the performance for this machine? Did i forgot something? Is it possible to give OSX 10.11 access to my graphics card somehow?

Would be great if you can help. Im a bit overwhelmed here and need some advice. Googling hasnt helped me that much so far :-/

Many thanks for your help!

subb

I use OSX 10.11 (El Capitan) as stated in the Topic Title.

And yes, i did the steps you linked already. I first had to install OSX with the Version set to 10 (i had this Dump error before then trying to boot into installation with Version set to 12 already). After it was up and running i upgraded the Machine to Version 12 as suggested in the 3rd post. I then installed the VMware tools from the latest Unlocker.