Gigabyte Z170-HD3P Skylake El Capitan installer crashes

11 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am new to hackintosh and trying to get my specs running:

Z170-HD3P Mobo

i5-6600k

Powercolor AMD R9 290

After following the developments with Skylake on this fine forum, I cannot get the OSX installer to run from USB via Clover boot. I am a noob so I am sure I have something wrong in my clover config/install usb setup.

I did the bios mod my to disable the IOAPIC 24-119 Entires. I do have Pike's kext find and replace set in my config.plist as well.

FakeSMC is in kexts/10.11

Clover r3320

Currently after booting to Clover via USB, then Mac Install via clover,  I see a few lines with 'hibernate wake: no' as the last and then the installer crashes.

I appreciate your help. 

config.plist.zip

Z170 platform is not supported by OS X 10.11.x on hack macs at this point. This is due to how Apple/Intel has apparently changed handling of some things hanging off of the Platform Controller Hub for the Z1xx platforms like SATA. It looks like a combination of missing device IDs (can be fixed with some work) and possible changes with how everything is handled with the Z170/applefirmware/etc.

I am in the same situation with my Asrock Z170, so you aren't alone. Seems a few people found a few work-arounds, they just need to be documented and pushed out in a safer form for all.

If you have access to Mac or a VMware why dont you install the clover to your SSD/HDD first. Then start the installer and install to your SSD. I was having a lot of problems installing via USB installer. once installation is complete connect the ssd to SATA. It worked for me.