Finally got Yosemite up and running! Need Help though!

darkgiant

7 posts in this topic

Hi All!

I am pretty new to the Hackintosh scene, but I am willing to learn! Before I start, here are my PC's specs:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4490 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H ATX LGA1150 Motherboard

Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866 Memory

Storage: PNY - CS1100 240GB Serial ATA III & 1TB Seagate Hard Drive

Video Card: Saphire Radeon HD 7950

Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS124-04 DVD/CD Writer

Power Supply: XFX 550W 80+ Bronze Certified ATX Power Supply

I installed Yosemite 10.10.5 via the Clover method. I am able to boot up, and actually use Yosemite, though, I have multiple set of questions which I will just organize into a list for the sake of organizaiton ;)

1. First things first, I spent roughly $300 swapping both the CPU and Motherboard from an ASRock 970 Extreme3 Motherboard to the current Gigabyte Z97, and my FX-6300 CPU to the i5-4490. Both parts totaled out to ~$300, so my question here is, do you guys think this was a smart desicion? I don't have much financial resources, and instead, I figured swapping those two parts would give me OSX exposure to pick up on Objective-C and Swyft, and the ability to use XCode. Though, I do want to daul boot for Windows for specific programs and some games, but do you guys think it is a good trade off? I don't nessacarily have double doubts, but I am just wondering if this was a smart desicion. Are the parts above also stable? I went with the specific Motherboard and CPU as some users on Reddit suggested that I go with those parts, and keep the GPU as all those parts are one of the most stable pieces of hardware in the Hackintosh community.
  2. The installation method I used didn't mention anything about my hardware, so this is a two part quesiton: