Jump to content

Nvidia Web Driver updates for El Capitan (UPDATE 01/20/2017)

nvidia web driver updates el capitan 10.11

  • Please log in to reply
665 replies to this topic

#461
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 4,814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe

@ninja89

 

no way to get optimus prime working under OS X neither with web drivers. 

mmh, is possible... but this depend by the bios: if you can disable the IGPU you can, otherwise no. Or the bios can be patched to unlok advances menu and then after, play with internal-discrete grhaphics setting. 

The second option is a big risk in a laptop..



#462
fantomas1

fantomas1

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Supervisors
  • 4,298 posts
  • Gender:Male

we're talking about laptop - you simply can't.

 

the optimus feature requires integrated gpu (switching feature) - no recent laptops have this option enabled in bios (uefi) for a good reason.

 

now you can have recourse on a patched bios - I did it for my laptop aspire E1-771G... I have this option enabled but if I disable intel gpu, my laptop can no longer boot.



#463
Asgorath

Asgorath

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Right, in an Optimus configuration, the discrete GPU has no physical connection to the display.  The display is always driven by the integrated GPU.



#464
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 4,814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe

we're talking about laptop - you simply can't.

 

the optimus feature requires integrated gpu (switching feature) - no recent laptops have this option enabled in bios (uefi) for a good reason.

 

now you can have recourse on a patched bios - I did it for my laptop aspire E1-771G... I have this option enabled but if I disable intel gpu, my laptop can no longer boot.

 

 

Right, in an Optimus configuration, the discrete GPU has no physical connection to the display.  The display is always driven by the integrated GPU.

            #3678             :P



#465
Asgorath

Asgorath

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

 

I don't understand your point?  If the discrete GPU literally has no wires between it and the display, how can it drive that display?



#466
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 4,814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe
Who say that? The wire is the gpu soldered in the CPU die...
My Notebook has NVIDIA enabled, drivers loaded.... simply the Display is not connected (ACPI) related.

#467
ninja89

ninja89

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
@Micky1979, fantomas1
I did not understand much. So there is no way to properly install the nvidia WebDriver in my laptop ASUS N56JR without pach bios? Perhaps, it can be a problem setting the DSDT or config.plist? thank you!

#468
Asgorath

Asgorath

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Who say that? The wire is the gpu soldered in the CPU die...
My Notebook has NVIDIA enabled, drivers loaded.... simply the Display is not connected (ACPI) related.

 

Optimus works by driving all displays via the Intel iGPU.

 

https://en.wikipedia.../Nvidia_Optimus

 

 

Optimus avoids usage of a hardware multiplexer and prevents glitches associated with changing the display driver from IGP to GPU by transferring the display surface from the GPU frame buffer over the PCI Express bus to the main memory-based framebuffer used by the IGP. The Optimus Copy Engine is a new alternative to traditional DMA transfers between the GPU framebuffer memory and main memory used by the IGP.

 

Anything rendered by the discrete GPU is transferred across the PCIe bus and displayed via the iGPU.  The NVIDIA drivers on OS X don't support this (yet?) so that's why the discrete GPU doesn't work on Optimus laptops running on OS X.



#469
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 4,814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe

Sorry Asgorath, but if you look better on what have you wrote, is not Optimus that does not have phisycal connection, simply avoid to use multiplexer   :whistle:

Since Sandy bridge comes out PCIe Bus is connected to the NorthBringe (nothing new), the NorthBringe is embedded directly in the CPU and that have an integrated GPU... how can't be a connection??

Linux use bbswitch (Bumblebee project)  to switch GPUs and as I said use ACPI calls, explained here:  https://github.com/B...roject/bbswitch.

Then, I agreed that the bios does not allow to switch GPU by default, is difficult to patch, is a risk, but as demostrated by @wartomato is possible. In a hack only a driver is missing.



#470
Asgorath

Asgorath

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Sorry Asgorath, but if you look better on what have you wrote, is not Optimus that does not have phisycal connection, simply avoid to use multiplexer   :whistle:

Since Sandy bridge comes out PCIe Bus is connected to the NorthBringe (nothing new), the NorthBringe is embedded directly in the CPU and that have an integrated GPU... how can't be a connection??

Linux use bbswitch (Bumblebee project)  to switch GPUs and as I said use ACPI calls, explained here:  https://github.com/B...roject/bbswitch.

Then, I agreed that the bios does not allow to switch GPU by default, is difficult to patch, is a risk, but as demostrated by @wartomato is possible. In a hack only a driver is missing.

 

PCIe bus != display connection.  My point is that Optimus configurations have no direct connection between the display output of the discrete GPU and either the laptop's internal screen or the external display connector.  The integrated GPU is solely responsible for driving the displays, the discrete GPU cannot do that.  That's what I mean by "no physical connection".  In order for the frames rendered on the discrete GPU to be shown on screen, they have to be transferred back across the PCIe bus so the integrated GPU can send them out to the display.



#471
Andres ZeroCross

Andres ZeroCross

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indonesia
  • Interests:Hackintosh
[Success Update]
Apple OS X 10.11.4 Developer Beta 3 Build 15E39c
 
 
iRedMac's Specifications:
------------------------------------
Processor : Intel Core i7 6700
Motherboard : Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 7
VGA : Palit Jetstream GTX960 4GB DDR5 and Intel HD 530
RAM : 8GB (2x4GB) Team Dark DDR4 up to 3000Mhz
Case : NZXT Phantom 530 Red
Sound Codec : Creative CA0132 Onboard with AppleHDA
Speaker : Logitech Z506
Display Monitor : 2x Asus VN248H Full HD Resolution
Nvidia Web Driver Version : 346.03.06b01
Cuda Driver Version : 7.5.25
-------------------------------------
 
Play Now : Siti Badriah - Melanggar Hukum with Movist Video Player :P

Attached Files



#472
Micky1979

Micky1979

    I realized that I am lucky

  • Moderators
  • 4,814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:a 100m dal Tevere, vicino a Peppe

PCIe bus != display connection.

off course, display connection = ACPI related,  as for any other drivers in OSX that populate the Platform expert. Reconnecting the speech earlier, discrete cards with Optimus technology can work in OSX as demonstrated by @wartomato, it's just another hack. Drivers in OSX are ready to go, like the Web variant ones. I mean, no other things matter..I hope that we were talking about this



#473
levifig

levifig

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts
  • Gender:Male

So on 10.11.3 + official drivers it seems Final Cut Pro X is now fixed. Incase anyone else is wondering about this.

 

Still broken on 10.11.4… :(



#474
Asgorath

Asgorath

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 50 posts

Still broken on 10.11.4… :(

 

What's broken specifically?  I haven't had any problems with the latest driver, can you give details about what's going wrong for you?



#475
Scellow

Scellow

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 146 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France
  • Interests:return null;

346.03.06b01 

 

Bug: "Counter Strike: Global Offensive" doesn't work, i get "Failed to create OpenGL device!" error

 

 

 

Do you think NVIDIA will add Vulkan support in their web driver?



#476
Fljagd

Fljagd

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 938 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

new web driver for 10.11.3 is done

346.03.05f02

Attached Files



#477
rhcp011235

rhcp011235

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte,NC

new web driver for 10.11.3 is done

346.03.05f02

 

So, I have been sticking to 10.11.3 and the drivers before this one. Since Final Cut Pro X is working for me (Slowly) but its working.

I just saw a new driver pop-up in 10.11.3 asking to upgrade - I am nervous to because I don't want to break Final Cut. 

 

Anyone on here tested? I saw someone write above its broken on 10.11.4 ( Not sure how they fix it / than break )

 

Anyone here can send Nvidia some logs or anything? Is anyone on here a registered Nvidia dev? or are we just getting these Beta Links from "places"

 

Thanks All



#478
Fljagd

Fljagd

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 938 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

So, I have been sticking to 10.11.3 and the drivers before this one. Since Final Cut Pro X is working for me (Slowly) but its working.

I just saw a new driver pop-up in 10.11.3 asking to upgrade - I am nervous to because I don't want to break Final Cut. 

 

Anyone on here tested? 

For me, FCPX works very well

I have also done the test BryceX, 17.3 seconds
Everything is fine, I'm fine

Attached Files



#479
@ROBASEFR

@ROBASEFR

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 517 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:France

I have tested my GTX970 with Cinebech R15  with the latest webdrivers 346.03.05f02 on OSX 10.11.3 and  they are the best since october on OS X 10.11.0  !

:D



#480
rhcp011235

rhcp011235

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 77 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Charlotte,NC

For me, FCPX works very well

I have also done the test BryceX, 17.3 seconds
Everything is fine, I'm fine

 

Thanks for the info. I shall update the drivers!

 

Hopefully they have this fixed in 10.11.4 (When its official) because I heard its broken on 10.11.4 (Final Cut Pro X)







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: nvidia web driver, updates, el capitan, 10.11


4 user(s) are reading this topic

1 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users


© 2016 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy