Yosemite / GA-Z97X-UD7 TH / i7-4790K Install Notes

dougaa

27 posts in this topic

I recently did a new install of Yosemite on a Gigabyte GA-Z97X TH motherboard, and with an i7-4790K CPU. I've been doing hackintosh installs for many years, and this was basically the same as previous installs. However there are few gotchas and things to be aware of. I found these on the internet in various places, and these notes put them all in one place. This is not a detailed guide, but notes for somewhat experienced people.

BIOS Settings

Before starting, I upgraded to the current BIOS, F5. I started with the optimized defaults, and found only one critical BIOS setting. Under BIOS Features, the VT-d setting must be disabled. When it was enabled, no matter what I did, Yosemite would only boot in safe mode.

AppleThunderboltNHI.kext

This kext is not necessary to use Thunderbolt. However, when it's present, it causes a 40-second or so pause during boot. Remove it from /System/Library/Extensions (I moved it to /disabled_extensions) and rebuild the kext cache.

Chameleon

I used Chameleon, but got frequent immediate boot errors with the latest release. This is fixed in a recent version, and the errors disappeared after I built and installed Chameleon r2670.

DSDT

No DSDT changes are necessary, however I like to have a DSDT I can modify. To decompile the DSDT to something I could compile, I found that I had to provide as input to iasl both DSDT.aml and SSDT5.aml. I obtained those from linux. After that there were only two changes to get the DSDT to compile. I removed all the "zero" lines starting around line 7304. Also, I removed the line "Arg0" around line 14823 in "Method (ADBG, 1, Serialized)".

SSDT

Creating an SSDT with ssdtPRGen worked well. I used version 15.6.

Networking

The open source AppleIntelE1000e kext works well for the built-in Intel ethernet.

HD 4600 Graphics