GTX 970 Yosemite Incompatibility Error

Griffith

6 posts in this topic

Hey Guys,

I'm new to the Hackintosh scene, but I just successfully installed Yosemite 10.10.3 onto my computer! I followed an OS X Yosemite/Clover Guide, which is on a site that shall not be mentioned here, in order to install Yosemite onto my MSI z97 Gaming 5 motherboard with an i5-4690K Intel Processor. (I didn't know about this website when I undertook this project)

Everything went relatively smoothly, but I am having a ton of trouble getting my MSI GTX 970 up and running. First of all, when I physically install the video card and try to boot into Yosemite, the computer just restarts and goes back to the Clover boot screen.

This was solved by entering the boot flag nv_disable=1 into the boot options menu. Now I can boot into OS X Yosemite, but the frame-rate/refresh rate of the screen is horrendous. So, I downloaded the most recent, official Nvidia Web Drivers while booted into Yosemite, but I get the following error after opening the driver install package: 

"This computer is not compatible with the NVIDIA Web Driver." 

So, I am currently at a loss for what to do, as I have searched relentlessly for someone who has had the same issue and has done the Clover/Yosemite install, but no luck yet. Does anybody have any ideas on what I could do to get the 970 working? Thank you for reading and any advice is appreciated!

EDIT:

Here is some more information, if it helps:

I am currently booted into Yosemite with Clover using the following boot options (in order to get to the desktop with my GTX 970 physically installed, I have to use the boot flag nv_disable=1): 

http://i.imgur.com/C4rkMQd.jpg

I am now wondering if there is a problem with my config.plist which could be preventing the drivers from properly detecting my system's specifications. I would attach my config.plist to this reply, in case anyone would like to have a look at it, but I am a new user and cannot upload .plist files yet.