Jump to content

Can anybody patch this DSDT for brightness control and fix errors ?


  • Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto

I cant fix the errors on my DSDT it seems to fail every time sleep is also not working.

SPECS
VAIO VPCEA46FG
intel core i5 480M

ATI mobility radeon 5470 512 mb

Mountain lion

Attached Files



#2
wegface

wegface

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rumoured to be on earth
  • Interests:watching paint dry

i can try for you, yes. Is that a totally clean dsdt? It seems not. full of errors. please upload a clean one



#3
marsuss

marsuss

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

I cant fix the errors on my DSDT it seems to fail every time sleep is also not working.

SPECS
VAIO VPCEA46FG
intel core i5 480M

ATI mobility radeon 5470 512 mb

Mountain lion

Done

Attached Files



#4
wegface

wegface

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rumoured to be on earth
  • Interests:watching paint dry

Try this. Various patches applied. Results may vary. I have a few versions for you to test. Try this first:

 

http://s000.tinyuplo...869766087551919

 

rename to DSDT.aml and place in correct folder.

If boot fails boot again with no dsdt boot flag.

Gd luck


What about your ssdt as well. 



#5
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto

Done

Thanks for fixing errors 
I can boot from this DSDT but the brightness control is still not working .

Try this. Various patches applied. Results may vary. I have a few versions for you to test. Try this first:

 

http://s000.tinyuplo...869766087551919

 

rename to DSDT.aml and place in correct folder.

If boot fails boot again with no dsdt boot flag.

Gd luck


What about your ssdt as well. 

Still no Brightness control, Thanks for fixing errors though



#6
wegface

wegface

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rumoured to be on earth
  • Interests:watching paint dry

ok i will try another brightness patch. Did it improve anything else?

 

http://s000.tinyuplo...653043421698309

 

You may also need backlight kext for brightness..

 

https://bitbucket.or...t-2014-1016.zip



#7
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto

ok i will try another brightness patch. Did it improve anything else?

 

http://s000.tinyuplo...653043421698309

 

You may also need backlight kext for brightness..

 

https://bitbucket.or...t-2014-1016.zip

I tired this DSDT with the KEXT you provided but , its still not working. 



#8
marsuss

marsuss

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Try this one.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  DSDT.zip   14.68KB   5 downloads


#9
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto

Try this one.

Bootable but no brightness control.

For your note : I have injected my EDID to make the laptop lcd working .



#10
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto
No one ???

#11
marsuss

marsuss

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 42 posts

Try now.

 

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  DSDT.zip   14.68KB   5 downloads


#12
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto
Ok i will update after trying.

#13
gazzacbr

gazzacbr

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts

Bootable but no brightness control.

For your note : I have injected my EDID to make the laptop lcd working .

Hi, I have an Asus G750 and need a string (not made by me) in org.chameleon.Boot.plist to make my 3D screen work and also only with nvidia drivers.

Is this how yours works? Does having that string make any difference?

I failed many times to get brightness working on mine but will give it another go soon.



#14
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto

Try now.

No way its working should i attach my kernel log ?

ok i will try another brightness patch. Did it improve anything else?

http://s000.tinyuplo...653043421698309

You may also need backlight kext for brightness..

https://bitbucket.or...t-2014-1016.zip


I applied battery patch on this dsdt version you provided and got battery status working. Thanks.

The next one up is brightness.

#15
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Check all your SSDTs, sometimes there is a dedicated one for backlight control.

 

If you're using DropSSDT=y (or equivalent setting in Clover) OS X never sees that SSDT table.



#16
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto

I have patched my SSDT using revogirl script with my processor tdp for proper power management, and that effectively reduced my cpu temperature. I have put that ssdt on extra folder and i suppose , for this patched ssdt to function properly i have set drop ssdt =yes in chameleon.



#17
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Uh...congratulations?

 

Truth is, the script you are referring to generates an SSDT rather than patch an existing one, but that's beside the point I was trying to make.

 

What I'm saying is that your BIOS most likely has several SSDT tables (my Asus Z77 board has up to eight, depending on BIOS settings) and you should dump them all and take a look at them.

 

Let me try to clarify:

 

When you set DropSSDT=y then your native (sometimes called OEM) SSDT tables are ignored and only SSDT tables placed in /Extra are used.

The reason why we do this is to avoid conflict between native CPU power management SSDT tables and the one generated by the script, iow because we want to override the native SSDT tables.

 

Therefore it follows that if one of your native SSDT tables happens to have backlight control code in it and it isn't dumped and placed in /Extra, then OS X never sees it.



#18
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto
Ok, so i should put all the other SSDTs extracted by patchmatic to the extra folder !

#19
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,224 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

No. The "carpet bombing" approach is not recommended.

 

You should examine their contents and determine if one of them has backlight control code in it.



#20
sistoelemento

sistoelemento

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pluto

Okay. How to find out if it has that specific code. ?







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy