First time DSDT edit for HP Pavilion 15t

lcronos

11 posts in this topic

I'm trying to fix my DSDT, however I have no experience doing this by hand and need a little help.  I don't want it just patched for me, I'd like help figuring out how to fix the errors myself.  Without any patches my DSDT has 6 errors, I'm hoping that figuring out the basics of these edits will help me fix any errors that come up once the patces are added in.  Here's the DSDT.

lcronos DSDT.zip

I got rid of most of your errors and warnings by using the highlight and delete functions.  You can delete the entries for the first two errors at lines 53 and 54.  You can delete line 9215 and line 9664.  That will rid you of the errors but you need to test it to make sure you didn't lose any functions.  I don't think you will.

As to your warnings and remarks, most can be removed by deleting the underscore before the text (e.g., change "_T_0" to "T_0 and change "_DEP" to "DEP").  As for the rest of the warnings and remarks, try Google.  That's how I learned how to edit DSDT files.  The answers are  there.  I just don't remember them from memory.

• Like 1

So what tool are you using? I am using MaciASL and when I delete the errors that show up, more come in.  Both are syntax errors, once deleted 3 new ones and several warnings come up, none like the ones you described.  The last time I did this, I deleted the lines that caused the errors, all that were left were warnings but it broke something. What am I missing?

I used DSDT Editor.  I did the same with MaciASL.  Each time, I got it to compile.  However, once I saved it as an .aml file, that file had 128 errors.  I think I'm going to have to look a bit harder for a solution for you.  I'm not genius, by the way, I just use Google to find the answers.

EDIT:  It appears that RehabMan addressed these exact errors on the TonyM forum and recommended the same thing as me - delete the error lines.