Just how safe is your hackintosh?

Uptown_J

6 posts in this topic

I have come across some articles and doing my best to avoid a flame war. I am not trolling here. I love hackintoshing, custom macs, etc. I have been doing this since 2007. What I read recently from fireeye is disturbing. In case anyone is unaware, APT28 is a possible Russian cyber infiltration unit responsible for much of our enterprise data breeches.

Before I continue, I do not nor would I never use a hackintosh in a corporate environment. I do not wear a tin foil hat on my head. I do know that fighting malware is daily occurrence on Windows PCs from my own personal experience.

What I would like to know is if anyone has bothered to verify the tools we use for security? Let's face it. I love all of developers but an unusually high number are coming from Russia. Does that mean all Russians are bad? Not at all. Is it something that keeps me up at night? No. Do I have a cause for concern? Absolutely. I am slowly moving toward actual Apple laptops and Desktops especially after reading about the spying that is going on.

Does that mean my own country in which I love is innocent? No way. I love my country but I know "it goes on" everywhere. I don't want to go down that road. I am merely putting this out there: Have we tested these tools for security?

i use clover as a bootloader. it's open-source but i must admit that i haven't reviewed the code for backdoors etc. yet. Audio works via DSDT-Fix. Also using Little-Snitch.

I think my hack is as safe/unsafe as a real mac.

Also i do not think that it is usefull do integrate backdoors etc. in hackintosh-specific kexts/bootloader etc. since they are used (most of them) just private and also by a very little number of people. You won't get much usefull information that way i guess.