New to this - Is my PC Compatible with OSX on VirtualBox?

YorkiesWorld

9 posts in this topic

Hi all!

I'm new to the idea of installing Mac on my PC. I basically want to be able to run it through VirtualBox and I've seen a whole load of tutorials on how to do this but I've always run into problems. I would like to be able to get as many things working as I can, and I'm wondering if anyone has any recommendations on how I should get started?

My Specs Are as follows:

AMD FX-4100 Quad Core Processor

NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Graphics Card

Microsoft Windows 8.1 64bit

2 SSD drives and a standard Sata Hard Drive with 1 DVD Drive

16GB of RAM

I would like to run it through VirtualBox if possible, can anyone recommend what version of OSX I need to set everything up?

Thanks in advance!

Why only on VirtualBox? You can obviously get the best out of Yosemite with that specs. Anyway, if my cousin's PC without a Graphic card can run it on VirtualBox, yours can most definitely do it as well. My advice? Just install OS X on your PC, it's a lot better.

• Like 1

Why only on VirtualBox? You can obviously get the best out of Yosemite with that specs. Anyway, if my cousin's PC without a Graphic card can run it on VirtualBox, yours can most definitely do it as well. My advice? Just install OS X on your PC, it's a lot better.

Hi, thanks for the reply,

At the moment I'm just wanting to try things out and see if I really do want to go all the way and use it as my main OS, would you recommend any methods to get it working on my hardware? I do have an AMD CPU which I've heard can be a little more difficult to get working with OSX?

Hi, thanks for the reply,

At the moment I'm just wanting to try things out and see if I really do want to go all the way and use it as my main OS, would you recommend any methods to get it working on my hardware? I do have an AMD CPU which I've heard can be a little more difficult to get working with OSX?