Is a Hackintosh right for me? And stuff.

Tacotruck

14 posts in this topic

Ok folks I have read through a bunch of stuff, including the tutorial linked in the wiki, skimmed the wiki and done some searches for some specific info and I think I have enough background to ask a few general questions. 

My background is that of a Mac user, pretty much since Amiga gave up doing consumer machines and I went Mac instead of windows. I have never been much of a hacker though, but I do have some fairly rusty electronics skills. I have helped some friends build gaming PCs before and assembled a bunch of PCs for an office I worked at a decade or so ago. I had a couple of power macs back in the day and I liked the expandability / upgradeability of them, but have been running on iMacs for a while, I think I am on my 3rd iMac, and it’s a midyear 2010 model.

I am an American living in Thailand on a fairly limited retirement budget, and mostly I don’t do anything hardcore with my machine, no video editing etc, the big thing I do is play a lot of World of Warcraft, and some other Blizzard games along with watching some tv via the internets. 

I have found that on my current iMac, with the new improvements to the graphics engine with the latest expansion, my iMac is having a harder time keeping up. I’m also in the Alpha test of the new Heart of the Storm and I play some Starcraft and both of those really strain my poor machine.

So I am thinking of getting a new machine. The Mac Pro, while sexy, is just not in my budget. I could go for a new iMac, but I am sort of tired of not being able to stretch out the life cycle of a machine by upgrading components like I could back in the day. Also, again, I am on a limited budget and kicking the cash out for an iMac is a big chunk all at once, and I don’t like using credit.