Jump to content

Windows 10 - Discussion

windows 10 screenshot

  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#1
dcai777

dcai777

    BAZINGA!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Jose, CA
  • Interests:Hacking your Hackintosh

So I installed Windows 10's tech. preview. 

What do you guys think?

Attached File  Capture.PNG   26.23KB   25 downloads

Attached File  Capture1.PNG   64.26KB   20 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot (3).png   607.9KB   22 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot (1).png   733.31KB   21 downloads

Attached File  Screenshot (2).png   745.1KB   22 downloads

If you want more screenshots, just ask :)



#2
Allan

Allan

    V.I.P. Member

  • Supervisors
  • 11,467 posts
  • Gender:Male

Wow, is beautiful now!  :lol:



#3
dcai777

dcai777

    BAZINGA!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Jose, CA
  • Interests:Hacking your Hackintosh

I still prefer Snow Leopard over Windows 10 :P



#4
luki1979

luki1979

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 214 posts

I must say it looks nice, how is boot time? Any new programs/apps?



#5
dcai777

dcai777

    BAZINGA!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Jose, CA
  • Interests:Hacking your Hackintosh

Boot time is slower than 8.1 :(

No real new apps AFAIK other than the start menu :D And windows feedback, which is just because of the beta status.



#6
luki1979

luki1979

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Donators
  • 214 posts

aha thx. 



#7
Allan

Allan

    V.I.P. Member

  • Supervisors
  • 11,467 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hands-on - Windows 10.

 

http://vimeo.com/107739526

 

Downloading now!!!



#8
vbetts

vbetts

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,623 posts
  • Gender:Male

I've been playing with it here, and did a few test runs.

 

I did two installs of Windows 10.

 

First install is a fresh install.

 

Second install is an upgrade from my Windows 8.1 partition(Which I did back up just in case)

 

I didn't clock in what the boot time is but it's not much more than Windows 8.1 for the fresh install. The upgrade took longer, maybe 10 seconds longer.

 

Fresh install I used drivers for Windows 8.1. The Nvidia control panel wouldn't install, I've tried setting compatibility mode, run as admin, and even take control of it and still refused. So just took the drivers and installed them.

 

Since it was previously installed in my upgrade partition, the Nvidia Control Panel opened but did nothing. No values changed when I tried such as basic things like resolution or rotation.

 

The "Start Menu" feels very cramped. Does not feel right with a mouse. I know that this is just a very early preview of it and it is subject to change, but this does need to improve....

 

Open GL is broken. Doom 3 runs but there are weird textures popping in and out, and is very slow. I thought it was because of my mods such as Sikkmod and Wolfens textures, but even after a fresh install on both the upgrade and fresh installs did the same thing. Quake 4 runs, but defaults to the lower ARB rendering. Trying to force ARB2 rendering does nothing.

 

Later I'm going to do some scaling tests with it.



#9
dcai777

dcai777

    BAZINGA!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Jose, CA
  • Interests:Hacking your Hackintosh

Nvidia CP works fine for me with my Quadro. GTA San Andreas works fine for me, although it is a very old game...

I actually prefer 8.1 over 10 right now. 



#10
vbetts

vbetts

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,623 posts
  • Gender:Male

GTASA doesn't use Open GL, it's Direct X. I would expect Direct X to work seeing it's a Microsoft product. :D

 

I'm going to do some more testing with it later, changing out the CP version I'm using.



#11
dcai777

dcai777

    BAZINGA!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Jose, CA
  • Interests:Hacking your Hackintosh

Oops..

I obviously have no experience in gaming  :blush:

I'm on driver 340.84 which is the latest for my quadro.



#12
lalo1996

lalo1996

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 41 posts

Well, i installed windows 10.

but i still prefer Yosemite.



#13
crusher.

crusher.

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,548 posts
  • Gender:Male

And I installed and work perfect.But have a little bug for now.Fixed in next preview!!!!!



#14
midi ッ

midi ッ

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

1st thing I found quite impressing: it is faster than 8.1 and with lower disk activity usage! REALLY IMPRESSIVE!

Win8/8.1 BIOS time: ~+4.5 secs

Win10 BIOS time: 2secs!



#15
dcai777

dcai777

    BAZINGA!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 702 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Jose, CA
  • Interests:Hacking your Hackintosh
Windows 10 doesn't really seem to like my hardware. Boot up times are much slower compared to 8.1 and a fresh install of Windows 10.

#16
midi ッ

midi ッ

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth
:o

#17
slayer2333

slayer2333

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Gender:Male

Is it me or Windows 10 is too similar to Windows 8.1? So far all i see is refined icons, borders and a custom Start menu (that is already available to me with Start8).  We are miles away from the Windows Xp - Windows 7 transition here.

Also, seems like windows 10 includes a key logger now in the background to track every single action we perform...



#18
XtremeHacker

XtremeHacker

    Minetest player/modder AMD user Tinkerer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 788 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:"Somewhere near you" :D
  • Interests:My Lord and saviors God, Jesus, and the holy spirit.
    Machines:
    My Rig
    AMD F...

I relly like win 10 except for the keylogger.



#19
vbetts

vbetts

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,623 posts
  • Gender:Male

Is it me or Windows 10 is too similar to Windows 8.1? So far all i see is refined icons, borders and a custom Start menu (that is already available to me with Start8).  We are miles away from the Windows Xp - Windows 7 transition here.

Also, seems like windows 10 includes a key logger now in the background to track every single action we perform...

Right now it's a very early build that is subject to change.

 

It is also part of the terms that they can track your usage of the OS while using it, if you don't want to be tracked then don't use it.



#20
slayer2333

slayer2333

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Gender:Male

Right now it's a very early build that is subject to change.

 

It is also part of the terms that they can track your usage of the OS while using it, if you don't want to be tracked then don't use it.

Dude you need to calm down on this.  I am just sharing what i found on this OS.

Also, even if it is an early build, i think that even with Yosmemite DP1 we could see a huge difference compared to Mavericks, so its not really an excuse to say that it's an early release.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: windows, 10, screenshot


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2017 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy