Jump to content

Enable TRIM on non-Apple SSD

trim enable trim ssd non-apple sad ioahcifamily ioahciblockstorage

  • Please log in to reply
136 replies to this topic

#121
patriceweber

patriceweber

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darwin, Australia

Alright,

 
I ran the following command:

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\x00\x41\x50\x50\x4c\x45\x20\x53\x53\x44|\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage

sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/

made sure the two occurrences had been zeroed out in the IOAHCIBlockStorage binary

 

 

0010320: 506f 7765 7253 7461 7465 4f6e 5761 6b65      PowerStateOnWake

0010330: 4b65 790a 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0054    Key............T

0010340: 696d 6520 546f 2052 6561 6479 004d 6163     ime To Ready.Mac

0010350: 426f 6f6b 4169 7235 2c31 004d 6163 426f       BookAir5,1.MacBo

0010360: 6f6b 4169 7235 2c32 0000 0000 0000 0000     okAir5,2........

0010370: 0000 2054 5300 5175 6575 6520 4465 7074     .. TS.Queue Dept

0010380: 6800 494f 4d61 7869 6d75 6d42 6c6f 636b      h.IOMaximumBlock

 

 

Rebooted the computer. It didn't make a difference. I guess the important field is the first occurrence after all



#122
Marchrius

Marchrius

    Lo scippatore di emozioni

  • Pandora Team
  • 356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italia
  • Interests:Studente di Informatica.
    Passione/Hobby: Informatica in generale, hackintosh, musica Rock...

Alright,
 
I ran the following command:

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\x00\x41\x50\x50\x4c\x45\x20\x53\x53\x44|\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00|sg' /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStoragesudo touch /System/Library/Extensions/
made sure the two occurrences had been zeroed out in the IOAHCIBlockStorage binary
 
 
0010320: 506f 7765 7253 7461 7465 4f6e 5761 6b65      PowerStateOnWake
0010330: 4b65 790a 0000 0000 0000 0000 0000 0054    Key............T
0010340: 696d 6520 546f 2052 6561 6479 004d 6163     ime To Ready.Mac
0010350: 426f 6f6b 4169 7235 2c31 004d 6163 426f       BookAir5,1.MacBo
0010360: 6f6b 4169 7235 2c32 0000 0000 0000 0000     okAir5,2........
0010370: 0000 2054 5300 5175 6575 6520 4465 7074     .. TS.Queue Dept
0010380: 6800 494f 4d61 7869 6d75 6d42 6c6f 636b      h.IOMaximumBlock
 
 
Rebooted the computer. It didn't make a difference. I guess the important field is the first occurrence after all
The error is at

s|\x00\x41\x50\x50\x4c\x45\x20\x53\x53\x44|\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00|sg

it must be

s|\x00\x41\x50\x50\x4c\x45\x20\x53\x53\x44\x00|\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00|sg

And the occurences to replace aren't two but only zone.

So, restore the originale file and re-run the correct command.

#123
patriceweber

patriceweber

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Darwin, Australia

It doesn't make any difference, at least on my system. If you read my previous post, you'll see that I was just experimenting in getting ride of the two 'APPLE SSD' occurrences to check if it would affect any drive parameters recognized by the OS, which it doesn't. Since then I rolled my system back and use Clover dynamic patch injection (the method 3 you describe), so my IOAHCIBlockStorage is not modified on disk and remains the original Apple version.

 

Thanks, anyway.



#124
Romano2K

Romano2K

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Paris, France

3rd Method (Clover only)
 
This is valid only if you use Clover bootloader. Add manually the KextPatch in config.plist:

<key>KextsToPatch</key>
		<array>
			<dict>
				<key>Name</key>
				<string>IOAHCIBlockStorage</string>
				<key>Find</key>
				<data>
				AEFQUExFIFNTRAA=
				</data>
				<key>Replace</key>
				<data>
				AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA=
				</data>
				<key>Comment</key>
				<string>TRIM Enabler</string>
			</dict>
		</array>

And reboot. No kernelcache to rebuild!


Hi there!

I just successfully installed Yosemite on a brand new Crucial MX100 256GB SSD I bought for the occasion.

I tried to enable TRIM using this method. In fact the KextPatch was already there, in Clover v2.3k r3185's default config.plist, I just had to uncomment the array.

Here's what my config.plist looks like at that point:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>ACPI</key>
	<dict>
		<key>DSDT</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Debug</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Fixes</key>
			<dict>
				<key>AddDTGP_0001</key>
				<true/>
				<key>AddHDMI_8000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>AddIMEI_80000</key>
				<false/>
				<key>AddMCHC_0008</key>
				<false/>
				<key>AddPNLF_1000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>DeleteUnused_400000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_ACST_4000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_ADP1_800000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_INTELGFX_100000</key>
				<false/>
				<key>FIX_RTC_20000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_S3D_2000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_TMR_40000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_WAK_200000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FakeLPC_0020</key>
				<false/>
				<key>FixAirport_4000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixDarwin_0002</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixDisplay_0100</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixFirewire_0800</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixHDA_8000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixHPET_0010</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixIDE_0200</key>
				<false/>
				<key>FixIPIC_0040</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixLAN_2000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixRegions_10000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixSATA_0400</key>
				<false/>
				<key>FixSBUS_0080</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixShutdown_0004</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixUSB_1000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>NewWay_80000000</key>
				<true/>
			</dict>
			<key>Name</key>
			<string>DSDT.aml</string>
			<key>ReuseFFFF</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
		<key>DropTables</key>
		<array>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>DMAR</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>SSDT</string>
				<key>TableId</key>
				<string>CpuPm</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>SSDT</string>
				<key>TableId</key>
				<string>Cpu0Ist</string>
			</dict>
		</array>
		<key>HaltEnabler</key>
		<true/>
		<key>SSDT</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Generate</key>
			<dict>
				<key>CStates</key>
				<true/>
				<key>PStates</key>
				<true/>
			</dict>
		</dict>
	</dict>
	<key>Boot</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Arguments</key>
		<string>kext-dev-mode=1</string>
		<key>Debug</key>
		<false/>
		<key>DefaultLoader</key>
		<string>boot.efi</string>
		<key>DefaultVolume</key>
		<string>LastBootedVolume</string>
		<key>Fast</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Legacy</key>
		<string>PBR</string>
		<key>NeverHibernate</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Timeout</key>
		<integer>5</integer>
	</dict>
	<key>Devices</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Audio</key>
		<dict>
			<key>ResetHDA</key>
			<true/>
		</dict>
		<key>FakeID</key>
		<dict>
			<key>ATI</key>
			<string>0x94401002</string>
			<key>#XHCI</key>
			<string>0x0</string>
		</dict>
		<key>NoDefaultProperties</key>
		<false/>
		<key>USB</key>
		<dict>
			<key>AddClockID</key>
			<true/>
			<key>FixOwnership</key>
			<true/>
			<key>HighCurrent</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Inject</key>
			<true/>
		</dict>
		<key>UseIntelHDMI</key>
		<false/>
	</dict>
	<key>GUI</key>
	<dict>
		<key>#ScreenResolution</key>
		<string>1280x1024</string>
		<key>Theme</key>
		<string>embedded</string>
	</dict>
	<key>Graphics</key>
	<dict>
		<key>DualLink</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>#Inject</key>
		<dict>
			<key>ATI</key>
			<true/>
			<key>Intel</key>
			<false/>
			<key>NVidia</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
		<key>InjectEDID</key>
		<true/>
		<key>LoadVBios</key>
		<true/>
	</dict>
	<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
	<dict>
		<key>KextsToPatch</key>
		<array>
			<dict>
				<key>Comment</key>
				<string>TRIM function for non-Apple SSDs</string>
				<key>Find</key>
				<data>
				QVBQTEUgU1NEAA==
				</data>
				<key>Name</key>
				<string>IOAHCIBlockStorage</string>
				<key>Replace</key>
				<data>
				AAAAAAAAAAAAAA==
				</data>
			</dict>
		</array>
		<key>AppleRTC</key>
		<true/>
		<key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Debug</key>
		<false/>
		<key>KernelCpu</key>
		<false/>
		<key>KernelHaswellE</key>
		<false/>
		<key>KernelLapic</key>
		<false/>
		<key>KernelPm</key>
		<false/>
	</dict>
	<key>RtVariables</key>
	<dict>
		<key>#MLB</key>
		<string>C02032109R5DC771H</string>
		<key>ROM</key>
		<string>UseMacAddr0</string>
	</dict>
	<key>SMBIOS</key>
	<dict>
		<key>#BiosReleaseDate</key>
		<string>05/03/10</string>
		<key>#BiosVendor</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>#BiosVersion</key>
		<string>MB11.88Z.0061.B03.0809221748</string>
		<key>#Board-ID</key>
		<string>Mac-F4208CC8</string>
		<key>#BoardManufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>#BoardSerialNumber</key>
		<string>C02032101R5DC771H</string>
		<key>#BoardType</key>
		<integer>10</integer>
		<key>#BoardVersion</key>
		<string>Proto1</string>
		<key>#ChassisAssetTag</key>
		<string>LatitudeD420</string>
		<key>#ChassisManufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>#ChassisType</key>
		<integer>16</integer>
		<key>#Family</key>
		<string>MacBook</string>
		<key>#FirmwareFeatures</key>
		<string>0xC0001403</string>
		<key>#LocationInChassis</key>
		<string>MLB</string>
		<key>#Memory</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Channels</key>
			<integer>2</integer>
			<key>Modules</key>
			<array>
				<dict>
					<key>Frequency</key>
					<integer>1333</integer>
					<key>Part</key>
					<string>C0001403</string>
					<key>Serial</key>
					<string>00001001</string>
					<key>Size</key>
					<integer>4096</integer>
					<key>Slot</key>
					<integer>0</integer>
					<key>Type</key>
					<string>DDR3</string>
					<key>Vendor</key>
					<string>Kingston</string>
				</dict>
				<dict>
					<key>Frequency</key>
					<integer>1333</integer>
					<key>Part</key>
					<string>C0001404</string>
					<key>Serial</key>
					<string>00001002</string>
					<key>Size</key>
					<integer>4096</integer>
					<key>Slot</key>
					<integer>2</integer>
					<key>Type</key>
					<string>DDR3</string>
					<key>Vendor</key>
					<string>Kingston</string>
				</dict>
			</array>
			<key>SlotCount</key>
			<integer>4</integer>
		</dict>
		<key>#Mobile</key>
		<true/>
		<key>#ProductName</key>
		<string>MacBook1,1</string>
		<key>#SerialNumber</key>
		<string>4H629LYAU9C</string>
		<key>#Slots</key>
		<array>
			<dict>
				<key>Device</key>
				<string>ATI</string>
				<key>ID</key>
				<integer>1</integer>
				<key>Name</key>
				<string>PCIe Slot 0</string>
				<key>Type</key>
				<integer>16</integer>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>Device</key>
				<string>WIFI</string>
				<key>ID</key>
				<integer>0</integer>
				<key>Name</key>
				<string>Airport</string>
				<key>Type</key>
				<integer>1</integer>
			</dict>
		</array>
		<key>#SmUUID</key>
		<string>00000000-0000-1000-8000-010203040506</string>
		<key>#Trust</key>
		<true/>
		<key>#Version</key>
		<string>1.0</string>
		<key>Manufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
	</dict>
	<key>SystemParameters</key>
	<dict>
		<key>InjectKexts</key>
		<string>Detect</string>
		<key>InjectSystemID</key>
		<true/>
	</dict>
</dict>
</plist>
But I don't see TRIM showing up in System informations after reboot. What's wrong?

#125
Marchrius

Marchrius

    Lo scippatore di emozioni

  • Pandora Team
  • 356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italia
  • Interests:Studente di Informatica.
    Passione/Hobby: Informatica in generale, hackintosh, musica Rock...

Hi there!

I just successfully installed Yosemite on a brand new Crucial MX100 256GB SSD I bought for the occasion.

I tried to enable TRIM using this method. In fact the KextPatch was already there, in Clover v2.3k r3185's default config.plist, I just had to uncomment the array.

Here's what my config.plist looks like at that point:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
	<key>ACPI</key>
	<dict>
		<key>DSDT</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Debug</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Fixes</key>
			<dict>
				<key>AddDTGP_0001</key>
				<true/>
				<key>AddHDMI_8000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>AddIMEI_80000</key>
				<false/>
				<key>AddMCHC_0008</key>
				<false/>
				<key>AddPNLF_1000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>DeleteUnused_400000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_ACST_4000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_ADP1_800000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_INTELGFX_100000</key>
				<false/>
				<key>FIX_RTC_20000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_S3D_2000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_TMR_40000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FIX_WAK_200000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FakeLPC_0020</key>
				<false/>
				<key>FixAirport_4000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixDarwin_0002</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixDisplay_0100</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixFirewire_0800</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixHDA_8000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixHPET_0010</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixIDE_0200</key>
				<false/>
				<key>FixIPIC_0040</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixLAN_2000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixRegions_10000000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixSATA_0400</key>
				<false/>
				<key>FixSBUS_0080</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixShutdown_0004</key>
				<true/>
				<key>FixUSB_1000</key>
				<true/>
				<key>NewWay_80000000</key>
				<true/>
			</dict>
			<key>Name</key>
			<string>DSDT.aml</string>
			<key>ReuseFFFF</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
		<key>DropTables</key>
		<array>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>DMAR</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>SSDT</string>
				<key>TableId</key>
				<string>CpuPm</string>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>Signature</key>
				<string>SSDT</string>
				<key>TableId</key>
				<string>Cpu0Ist</string>
			</dict>
		</array>
		<key>HaltEnabler</key>
		<true/>
		<key>SSDT</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Generate</key>
			<dict>
				<key>CStates</key>
				<true/>
				<key>PStates</key>
				<true/>
			</dict>
		</dict>
	</dict>
	<key>Boot</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Arguments</key>
		<string>kext-dev-mode=1</string>
		<key>Debug</key>
		<false/>
		<key>DefaultLoader</key>
		<string>boot.efi</string>
		<key>DefaultVolume</key>
		<string>LastBootedVolume</string>
		<key>Fast</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Legacy</key>
		<string>PBR</string>
		<key>NeverHibernate</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Timeout</key>
		<integer>5</integer>
	</dict>
	<key>Devices</key>
	<dict>
		<key>Audio</key>
		<dict>
			<key>ResetHDA</key>
			<true/>
		</dict>
		<key>FakeID</key>
		<dict>
			<key>ATI</key>
			<string>0x94401002</string>
			<key>#XHCI</key>
			<string>0x0</string>
		</dict>
		<key>NoDefaultProperties</key>
		<false/>
		<key>USB</key>
		<dict>
			<key>AddClockID</key>
			<true/>
			<key>FixOwnership</key>
			<true/>
			<key>HighCurrent</key>
			<false/>
			<key>Inject</key>
			<true/>
		</dict>
		<key>UseIntelHDMI</key>
		<false/>
	</dict>
	<key>GUI</key>
	<dict>
		<key>#ScreenResolution</key>
		<string>1280x1024</string>
		<key>Theme</key>
		<string>embedded</string>
	</dict>
	<key>Graphics</key>
	<dict>
		<key>DualLink</key>
		<integer>0</integer>
		<key>#Inject</key>
		<dict>
			<key>ATI</key>
			<true/>
			<key>Intel</key>
			<false/>
			<key>NVidia</key>
			<false/>
		</dict>
		<key>InjectEDID</key>
		<true/>
		<key>LoadVBios</key>
		<true/>
	</dict>
	<key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
	<dict>
		<key>KextsToPatch</key>
		<array>
			<dict>
				<key>Comment</key>
				<string>TRIM function for non-Apple SSDs</string>
				<key>Find</key>
				<data>
				QVBQTEUgU1NEAA==
				</data>
				<key>Name</key>
				<string>IOAHCIBlockStorage</string>
				<key>Replace</key>
				<data>
				AAAAAAAAAAAAAA==
				</data>
			</dict>
		</array>
		<key>AppleRTC</key>
		<true/>
		<key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
		<false/>
		<key>Debug</key>
		<false/>
		<key>KernelCpu</key>
		<false/>
		<key>KernelHaswellE</key>
		<false/>
		<key>KernelLapic</key>
		<false/>
		<key>KernelPm</key>
		<false/>
	</dict>
	<key>RtVariables</key>
	<dict>
		<key>#MLB</key>
		<string>C02032109R5DC771H</string>
		<key>ROM</key>
		<string>UseMacAddr0</string>
	</dict>
	<key>SMBIOS</key>
	<dict>
		<key>#BiosReleaseDate</key>
		<string>05/03/10</string>
		<key>#BiosVendor</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>#BiosVersion</key>
		<string>MB11.88Z.0061.B03.0809221748</string>
		<key>#Board-ID</key>
		<string>Mac-F4208CC8</string>
		<key>#BoardManufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>#BoardSerialNumber</key>
		<string>C02032101R5DC771H</string>
		<key>#BoardType</key>
		<integer>10</integer>
		<key>#BoardVersion</key>
		<string>Proto1</string>
		<key>#ChassisAssetTag</key>
		<string>LatitudeD420</string>
		<key>#ChassisManufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
		<key>#ChassisType</key>
		<integer>16</integer>
		<key>#Family</key>
		<string>MacBook</string>
		<key>#FirmwareFeatures</key>
		<string>0xC0001403</string>
		<key>#LocationInChassis</key>
		<string>MLB</string>
		<key>#Memory</key>
		<dict>
			<key>Channels</key>
			<integer>2</integer>
			<key>Modules</key>
			<array>
				<dict>
					<key>Frequency</key>
					<integer>1333</integer>
					<key>Part</key>
					<string>C0001403</string>
					<key>Serial</key>
					<string>00001001</string>
					<key>Size</key>
					<integer>4096</integer>
					<key>Slot</key>
					<integer>0</integer>
					<key>Type</key>
					<string>DDR3</string>
					<key>Vendor</key>
					<string>Kingston</string>
				</dict>
				<dict>
					<key>Frequency</key>
					<integer>1333</integer>
					<key>Part</key>
					<string>C0001404</string>
					<key>Serial</key>
					<string>00001002</string>
					<key>Size</key>
					<integer>4096</integer>
					<key>Slot</key>
					<integer>2</integer>
					<key>Type</key>
					<string>DDR3</string>
					<key>Vendor</key>
					<string>Kingston</string>
				</dict>
			</array>
			<key>SlotCount</key>
			<integer>4</integer>
		</dict>
		<key>#Mobile</key>
		<true/>
		<key>#ProductName</key>
		<string>MacBook1,1</string>
		<key>#SerialNumber</key>
		<string>4H629LYAU9C</string>
		<key>#Slots</key>
		<array>
			<dict>
				<key>Device</key>
				<string>ATI</string>
				<key>ID</key>
				<integer>1</integer>
				<key>Name</key>
				<string>PCIe Slot 0</string>
				<key>Type</key>
				<integer>16</integer>
			</dict>
			<dict>
				<key>Device</key>
				<string>WIFI</string>
				<key>ID</key>
				<integer>0</integer>
				<key>Name</key>
				<string>Airport</string>
				<key>Type</key>
				<integer>1</integer>
			</dict>
		</array>
		<key>#SmUUID</key>
		<string>00000000-0000-1000-8000-010203040506</string>
		<key>#Trust</key>
		<true/>
		<key>#Version</key>
		<string>1.0</string>
		<key>Manufacturer</key>
		<string>Apple Inc.</string>
	</dict>
	<key>SystemParameters</key>
	<dict>
		<key>InjectKexts</key>
		<string>Detect</string>
		<key>InjectSystemID</key>
		<true/>
	</dict>
</dict>
</plist>
But I don't see TRIM showing up in System informations after reboot. What's wrong?

 

Use mine and all will works.



#126
Marius_rg

Marius_rg

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 48 posts

Hi, just a curiosity, I have on my plist the bellow Clover Trim patch, which seems different than the one posted here....but I'm not sure if that should be considered a problem or not. I got trim working, but....does it works with different patches?

 

==

<key>Comment</key>

<string>TRIM Enabler</string>

<key>Find</key>

<data>

AEFQUExFIFNTRAA=

</data>

<key>Name</key>

<string>IOAHCIBlockStorage</string>

<key>Replace</key>

<data>

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA=

</data>

===



#127
oSxFr33k

oSxFr33k

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 901 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Sound and Graphic Design. Electronics in general.

It seems Trim Enabler remains persistent so far, seems to working fine in 10.10.3 Clover Patch Method.


Hi, just a curiosity, I have on my plist the bellow Clover Trim patch, which seems different than the one posted here....but I'm not sure if that should be considered a problem or not. I got trim working, but....does it works with different patches?

 

==

<key>Comment</key>

<string>TRIM Enabler</string>

<key>Find</key>

<data>

AEFQUExFIFNTRAA=

</data>

<key>Name</key>

<string>IOAHCIBlockStorage</string>

<key>Replace</key>

<data>

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAA=

</data>

===

 

Nope same patch as mine.  If you use Clover Configurator, what you will enter and see is Hex rather than Base64 exactly as you posted.  I checked my Clover Config and its exactly as yours is.   The config file will show Base64 because Clover converts it to Base64.



#128
andre_68723

andre_68723

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Hi Guys,

 

I just installed 10.10.3 via Chamelon and did the Patch using method 2. Unfortunately I ended up with 

"Mac Kernel overflows available space. System halted" during bootup.

 

I managed to boot using "ignore caches" and (hopefelly) restored the orignal file via those 3 commands

 

1

sudo cp /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage.bak  /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage

2
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions
 
3
sudo kextcache -prelinked-kernel /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache -/System/Library/Kernels/kernel /System/Library/Extensions
 
However, I still can't boot without the Kernel overflow error. Any idea on how to fix that?
 
Thanks


#129
Marchrius

Marchrius

    Lo scippatore di emozioni

  • Pandora Team
  • 356 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ferrara, Italia
  • Interests:Studente di Informatica.
    Passione/Hobby: Informatica in generale, hackintosh, musica Rock...

 

Hi Guys,

 

I just installed 10.10.3 via Chamelon and did the Patch using method 2. Unfortunately I ended up with 

"Mac Kernel overflows available space. System halted" during bootup.

 

I managed to boot using "ignore caches" and (hopefelly) restored the orignal file via those 3 commands

 

1

sudo cp /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage.bak  /System/Library/Extensions/IOAHCIFamily.kext/Contents/PlugIns/IOAHCIBlockStorage.kext/Contents/MacOS/IOAHCIBlockStorage

2
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensions
 
3
sudo kextcache -prelinked-kernel /System/Library/Caches/com.apple.kext.caches/Startup/kernelcache -/System/Library/Kernels/kernel /System/Library/Extensions
 
However, I still can't boot without the Kernel overflow error. Any idea on how to fix that?
 
Thanks

 

You can use the application in Download section.



#130
andre_68723

andre_68723

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

thanks Marchrius. Works now like a charm. 



#131
CoBrA2168

CoBrA2168

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 133 posts

I upgraded to 10.10.3 last night along with updating Clover to the latest release and updating FakeSMC to the latest.  Something I did caused my TRIM clover patch to break.

 

I can't seem to figure it out.  I'm going to try rolling back Clover, but does anyone know why this is a problem?

EDIT: Solved the problem.  All I had to do was apply the Clover patch, and do a COMPLETE shutdown.  I was always doing a reboot, which apparently isn't enough...



#132
zbarsky

zbarsky

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
  • Gender:Male

Applied with the Clover Configurator - TRIM is enabled on my Crucial BX100

 

Anyone know if TRIM will continue to function as OS X Yosemite receives updates using this Clover patching method?



#133
Hervé

Hervé

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rennes, BZH of course!

So far, every Yosemite update reinstates the vanilla kext so, as long as the Clover patch is done on the fly you should be ok, otherwise you'll have to repatch after every update...



#134
elkolodj

elkolodj

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

I have a Kingston KC100 120Gb and Trim Enabler worked for me! 



#135
Hervé

Hervé

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rennes, BZH of course!

Anyone suffered severe boot slowdowns after enabling TRIM? On my Dell Latitude E6440 (Intel Series 8 SATA-III controller) with 240Go Intel Series 330, I boot Mavericks and Yosemite in 7s to 8s without TRIM but boot time goes up to 45s to 50s when I binpatch IOAHCIBlockStorage binary and enable TRIM. For some unknown reason, I don't suffer the same at all on my older Latitude D630 with which I boot OS X in about 15s to 20s (ICH8M SATA-II controller).



#136
d620osx

d620osx

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
Not had any issues on my Vostro 200. But since I got sleep to work I don't shut it down.

#137
crushers

crushers

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 859 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Serbia,Zaječar,Salaš
  • Interests:Hackintosh,Windows,Linux and any more OS

Use 4th method and always work for you. I tested on many,many version of OS X!!!







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: trim, enable trim, ssd, non-apple sad, ioahcifamily, ioahciblockstorage


2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2015 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy