Jump to content

ATI Mobility Radeon 7970M Help achieving QE/CI

ati amd 7970M alienware 7xxx mobility framebuffer radeon

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
applehacker

applehacker

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

Hey everybody,

I am attempting to get my ATI Mobility Radeon 7970M working in Mac OS X. I am using an Alienware M17x R4. Buri frame buffer looks like it has the most promise, so let us begin there:

 

 

RADEON BIOS DECODE DUMP:

ATOM BIOS Rom: 

SubsystemVendorID: 0x1028 SubsystemID: 0x057b

IOBaseAddress: 0x0000

Filename: C42904A1.117

BIOS Bootup Message: 

Wimbledon XT A01 MXM GDDR5 300e/150m 0.9V A1                                

 

PCI ID: 1002:6800

Connector at index 0

Type [@offset 45840]: (null) (-1055027892)

Encoder [@offset 45844]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)

i2cid [@offset 45976]: 0x93, OSX senseid: 0x4

Connector at index 1

Type [@offset 45850]: (null) (-1055027892)

Encoder [@offset 45854]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)

i2cid [@offset 46003]: 0x94, OSX senseid: 0x5

Connector at index 2

Type [@offset 45860]: DisplayPort (10)

Encoder [@offset 45864]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (0x20)

i2cid [@offset 46030]: 0x91, OSX senseid: 0x2

Connector at index 3

Type [@offset 45870]: HDMI-A (11)

Encoder [@offset 45874]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (0x20)

i2cid [@offset 46057]: 0x90, OSX senseid: 0x1

Connector at index 4

Type [@offset 45880]: HDMI-A (11)

Encoder [@offset 45884]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)

i2cid [@offset 46084]: 0x92, OSX senseid: 0x3

Connector at index 5

Type [@offset 45890]: VGA (1)

Encoder [@offset 45894]: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1 (0x15)

i2cid [@offset 46111]: 0x97, OSX senseid: 0x8

Redsocks BIOS DECODE

 

Wimbledon XT A01 MXM GDDR5 300e/150m 0.9V A1                                

 

Subsystem Vendor ID: 1028

       Subsystem ID: 57b

Object Header Structure Size: 435

Connector Object Table Offset: 52

Router Object Table Offset: 0

Encoder Object Table Offset: 13f

Display Path Table Offset: 12

Connector Object Id [22] which is [(unknown)]

encoder obj id [0x21] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (osx txmit 0x22 [duallink 0x2] enc 0x5)] linkb: true

Connector Object Id [22] which is [(unknown)]

encoder obj id [0x1e] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY (osx txmit 0x10 [duallink 0x0] enc 0x0)] linkb: false

Connector Object Id [19] which is [DISPLAY_PORT]

encoder obj id [0x20] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (osx txmit 0x21 [duallink 0x1] enc 0x3)] linkb: true

Connector Object Id [12] which is [HDMI_TYPE_A]

encoder obj id [0x20] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY1 (osx txmit 0x11 [duallink 0x1] enc 0x2)] linkb: false

Connector Object Id [12] which is [HDMI_TYPE_A]

encoder obj id [0x21] which is [INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (osx txmit 0x12 [duallink 0x2] enc 0x4)] linkb: false

Connector Object Id [5] which is [VGA]

encoder obj id [0x15] which is [INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1 (osx txmit 0x00 enc 0x10?)] linkb: false

 
Connections on this system:  LVDS, HDMI IN, HDMI OUT, VGA, DisplayPort
The system is equipped with a muxless switchable graphics scheme, with the option of running Intel only or ATI only.
Am I correct in assuming that the first two "unknown" connector objects are LVDS?
 
First line from Buri Framebuffer

02 00 00 00 00 01 00 00 29 05 01 00 10 00 05 05

 
Suggested patch for LVDS

02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 29 05 00 00 10 00 00 05

 

Here is the current condition:

With graphics enabler=no, I can boot in limited graphics (1920x1080), no option to change resolution, so I assume no frame buffer is being loaded. Graphics enabler =yes never gets me to the desktop. In verbose mode, it only stays on verbose text. 

 

Kexts that are loaded:

AMDX4000

AMDsupport

 

Kexts not loaded:

AMD7000controller

AMDFramebuffer

 

Device ID is 0x6800, 0x1002. This ID natively exists in AMD7000Controller and AMDX4000

 

Where do I proceed from here? Thanks in advance for info.

 

Also, in my DSDT, I had sections for PEG0, PEGP, and GFX0. GFX0 was renamed to IGP since it pointed to the intel HD 4000, which is fully working. I read other posts online, and decided to delete PEGP from DSDT and rename PEG0 to PEGP and inject my code there. DSDT code is below, please advise.

 Device (PEGP)
        {
            Name (_ADR, 0x00010000)
            Name (_PRW, Package (0x02)
            {
                0x09, 
                0x05
            })
            Device (GFX0)
            {
                Name (_ADR, Zero)
                Name (_SUN, One)
                Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                {
                    Store (Package (0x3E)
                        {
                            "AAPL,slot-name", 
                            Buffer (0x07)
                            {
                                "Slot-1"
                            }, 

                            "device-id", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x00, 0x68, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,connector-type", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x02, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,ATY,EFIDisplay", 
                            Buffer (0x0C)
                            {
                                "LVDS"
                            }, 

                            "@0,compatible", 
                            Buffer (0x0C)
                            {
                                "ATY,Buri"
                            }, 

                            "@0,device_type", 
                            Buffer (0x08)
                            {
                                "display"
                            }, 

                            "@0,name", 
                            Buffer (0x0E)
                            {
                                "ATY,Buri"
                            }, 

                            "@1,device_type", 
                            Buffer (0x08)
                            {
                                "display"
                            }, 

                            "@1,compatible", 
                            Buffer (0x0C)
                            {
                                "ATY,Buri"
                            }, 

                            "@1,connector-type", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x00, 0x08, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@1,name", 
                            Buffer (0x0E)
                            {
                                "ATY,Buri"
                            }, 

                            "ATY,Card#", 
                            Buffer (0x0E)
                            {
                                "C29-615001-00"
                            }, 

                            "ATY,Rom#", 
                            Buffer (0x10)
                            {
                                "C29-61500-100"
                            }, 

                            "device_type", 
                            Buffer (0x12)
                            {
                                "ATY,BuriParent"
                            }, 

                            "VRAM,totalsize", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x80
                            }, 

                            "model", 
                            Buffer (0x1D)
                            {
                                "ATi Mobility Radeon HD 7970M"
                            }, 

                            "AAPL00,DualLink", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,display-dual-link", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "AAPL,HasPanel", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "AAPL,Haslid", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "AAPL,backlight-control", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,backlight-control", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,AAPL,boot-display", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x01, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,built-in", 
                            Buffer (One)
                            {
                                0x01
                            }, 

                            "@0,display-link-component-bits", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x06, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,display-pixel-component-bits", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x06, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "AAPL00,Dither", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,display-dither-support", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@0,inverter-current", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "@1,connector-type", 
                            Buffer (0x04)
                            {
                                0x00, 0x08, 0x00, 0x00
                            }, 

                            "hda-gfx", 
                            Buffer (0x0A)
                            {
                                "onboard-2"
                            }
                        }, Local0)
                    DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                    Return (Local0)
                }
            }

            Device (HDAU)
            {
                Name (_ADR, One)
                Method (_DSM, 4, NotSerialized)
                {
                    Store (Package (0x02)
                        {
                            "hda-gfx", 
                            Buffer (0x0A)
                            {
                                "onboard-2"
                            }
                        }, Local0)
                    DTGP (Arg0, Arg1, Arg2, Arg3, RefOf (Local0))
                    Return (Local0)
                }
            }
        }



#2
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

What bootloader are u using ?



#3
applehacker

applehacker

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

Chameleon Bootloader, ge=no. Clover fails to load at all, always hang on verbose with or without graphics injector.



#4
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

If Clover hangs on verbose then u are suing wrong drivers.

u have insyde bios soo u need to use lowmemfix drivers and not aptiofix.

Try like that and about draphics injector it must true.

Loadvbios=true + inject edid=true.



#5
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

Try this clover UEFI configured for u.Attached File  EFI.zip   1.27MB   17 downloads

 

 



#6
applehacker

applehacker

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

Thank you for your efforts, still cannot get to desktop, with or without ATI injection using your files.



#7
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

Thank you for your efforts, still cannot get to desktop, with or without ATI injection using your files.

plz upload debug from clover.



#8
applehacker

applehacker

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

How do I get a debug dump from clover? Where is it saved?



#9
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

How do I get a debug dump from clover? Where is it saved?

find debug option in clover configurator.

it will be saved in misc folder.



#10
applehacker

applehacker

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

Wouldn't generate a dump. I've gone back to chameleon for now. I have included a screenshot of what goes on when using stock kext. no LVDS, but backlight is on + blackscreen. HDMI works, managed to take IOReg dump and two screenshots.

http://www.mediafire...ov5/SS DUMP.zip

 

 

EDIT

replaced modified controller with stock, and clover booted with your config file, but it booted to black screen. No injection yielded same results as before, not being able to boot at all.



#11
xpamamadeus

xpamamadeus

    InsanelyMac Legend

  • Donators
  • 585 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croatia

Wouldn't generate a dump. I've gone back to chameleon for now. I have included a screenshot of what goes on when using stock kext. no LVDS, but backlight is on + blackscreen. HDMI works, managed to take IOReg dump and two screenshots.

http://www.mediafire...ov5/SS DUMP.zip

 

 

EDIT

replaced modified controller with stock, and clover booted with your config file, but it booted to black screen. No injection yielded same results as before, not being able to boot at all.

One more time.

use this efi.

post debug.log from EFI\CLOVER\misc\

Attached File  EFI.zip   1.26MB   1 downloads



#12
mattrowe

mattrowe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Interests:rugby, product design, sketching, osx86

Wouldn't generate a dump. I've gone back to chameleon for now. I have included a screenshot of what goes on when using stock kext. no LVDS, but backlight is on + blackscreen. HDMI works, managed to take IOReg dump and two screenshots.

http://www.mediafire...ov5/SS DUMP.zip

 

 

EDIT

replaced modified controller with stock, and clover booted with your config file, but it booted to black screen. No injection yielded same results as before, not being able to boot at all.

 

We have the same system and card. Booting to a black screen is a good thing for me! when it gets tot the black screen i hit fn+F1 to suspend the system. It puts itself to sleep and automatically wakes (still with a black internal screen), but if you plug in a HDMI the external hdmi works 100% QE/CI, well at least for me it does. Give it a try.

 

Also whats your systems specs? i could send you my dsdt if similar! If you wouldn't mind, could you check out my topic on the internal screen, need a bit of help with personality editing!

 

Cheers!



#13
applehacker

applehacker

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

We have the same system and card. Booting to a black screen is a good thing for me! when it gets tot the black screen i hit fn+F1 to suspend the system. It puts itself to sleep and automatically wakes (still with a black internal screen), but if you plug in a HDMI the external hdmi works 100% QE/CI, well at least for me it does. Give it a try.

 

Also whats your systems specs? i could send you my dsdt if similar! If you wouldn't mind, could you check out my topic on the internal screen, need a bit of help with personality editing!

 

Cheers!

Without any modification, yes, I have internal black screen and full qe/ci on HDMI as well.  I am running an Alienware M17x R4 with 3720QM, 16GB ram, 1920x1080 display, AR9280 wifi, and Ati mobility radeon 7970M gfx.

Unfortunately, I won't be of much help for you until I figure out my own screen. Follow rampagedev's guide as well as bcc9, it is what I am doing.



#14
mattrowe

mattrowe

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Interests:rugby, product design, sketching, osx86
Previously my internal screen would present a black screen., but I would also have full qe/ci just like you. I have flashed my bios with an unlocked version and have disabled the integrated graphics. And with a modified amd7000controller kext I am able to get the internal screen working without qe/ci. Have you tried unlocking your bios, in order to disable they integrated graphics?

#15
applehacker

applehacker

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

Yeah, i'm running on PEG graphics only (7970M).



#16
applehacker

applehacker

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 383 posts

Here is what I have tried so far with clover patching:

replaced 02000000000100002905010010000505

wtih:        02000000400000000901000010000005

 

No success GUI will not load. Load vBIOS enabled, custom EDID injected.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ati, amd, 7970M, alienware, 7xxx, mobility, framebuffer, radeon


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy