Jump to content

Maverick on ESXi, Opteron Board

amd ESXi

  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#41
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male

OK having a look into it. This is still on the Lion VM on FX-4130 CPU?

 

Yes that is correct. Sorry, I should have specified.



#42
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Yes that is correct. Sorry, I should have specified.

 

No problem - just wanted to make sure. I did find that error with Chrome on real AMD based Hackintoshes and seems to be due to Flash. However the vmtoolsd issue is not known. I think the code that crashes is calling CPUID from user space and then making some decisions based on that. I wonder if the kernel versus user worlds are reporting something different?



#43
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male

Last night I left the VM running and I woke up to a kernel panic

Interval Since Last Panic Report:  51290122 sec
Panics Since Last Report:          1
Anonymous UUID:                    97ACCE59-5F3E-4BE9-8482-5972D93B8ECC
 
Fri Aug 15 11:05:42 2014
Panic(CPU 1): Unresponsive processor (this CPU did not acknowledge interrupts) TLB state:0x0
RAX: 0x00000000000001fc, RBX: 0x00000000000002fc, RCX: 0x00000001c154e3ec, RDX: 0x000000010353290c
RSP: 0x00007fff629d22b8, RBP: 0x00007fff629d22e0, RSI: 0x00000000ffededed, RDI: 0x00000001c156cc28
R8:  0x00000001c156cc28, R9:  0x00000000000015e0, R10: 0x0000000000000080, R11: 0x0000000000000002
R12: 0x0000000000000001, R13: 0x00007fff629d2530, R14: 0x0000000000000422, R15: 0x0000000000004000
RFL: 0x0000000000000206, RIP: 0x00007fff892c481f, CS:  0x000000000000002b, SS:  0x0000000000000023
Backtrace (CPU 1), Frame : Return Address
0xffffff8041962f50 : 0xffffff80002c9a7c 
0xffffff8041962f80 : 0xffffff80002c48d0 
0xffffff8041962fd0 : 0xffffff80002da712 
 
BSD process name corresponding to current thread: WindowServer
 
Mac OS version:
11G63
 
Kernel version:
Darwin Kernel Version 11.4.2: Thu Aug 23 16:25:48 PDT 2012; root:xnu-1699.32.7~1/RELEASE_X86_64
Kernel UUID: FF3BB088-60A4-349C-92EA-CA649C698CE5
System model name: iMac10,1 (Mac-F2268CC8)
 
System uptime in nanoseconds: 14064883265113
last loaded kext at 12963489742: com.apple.filesystems.smbfs 1.7.2 (addr 0xffffff7f8087c000, size 241664)
last unloaded kext at 90237793028: com.apple.driver.AppleFileSystemDriver 13 (addr 0xffffff7f81507000, size 12288)
loaded kexts:
com.vmware.kext.vmhgfs 1.0.0
com.vmware.kext.vmmemctl 1.0.0
com.Cycling74.driver.Soundflower 1.5.1
com.vmware.kext.VMwareGfx 1.0.0
at.obdev.nke.LittleSnitch 3876
com.apple.filesystems.smbfs 1.7.2
com.apple.driver.AppleHWSensor 1.9.5d0
com.apple.filesystems.autofs 3.0
com.apple.driver.AGPM 100.12.75
com.apple.driver.AppleUpstreamUserClient 3.5.9
com.apple.driver.AppleMCCSControl 1.0.33
com.apple.iokit.IOUserEthernet 1.0.0d1
com.apple.iokit.IOBluetoothSerialManager 4.0.8f17
com.apple.Dont_Steal_Mac_OS_X 7.0.0
com.apple.driver.AudioIPCDriver 1.2.3
com.apple.driver.ApplePolicyControl 3.1.33
com.apple.driver.ACPI_SMC_PlatformPlugin 5.0.0d8
com.apple.driver.Apple16X50ACPI 3.0
com.apple.driver.XsanFilter 404
com.apple.iokit.SCSITaskUserClient 3.2.1
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBHub 5.1.0
com.apple.AppleFSCompression.AppleFSCompressionTypeDataless 1.0.0d1
com.apple.AppleFSCompression.AppleFSCompressionTypeZlib 1.0.0d1
com.apple.BootCache 33
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBEHCI 5.1.0
com.apple.driver.AppleIntel8254XEthernet 2.1.3b1
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBUHCI 5.1.0
com.apple.driver.AppleLSIFusionMPT 3.0.5
com.apple.driver.AppleIntelPIIXATA 2.5.1
com.apple.driver.AppleEFINVRAM 1.6.1
com.apple.driver.AppleACPIButtons 1.5
com.apple.driver.AppleHPET 1.7
com.apple.driver.AppleRTC 1.5
com.apple.driver.AppleSMBIOS 1.9
com.apple.driver.AppleAPIC 1.6
com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagementClient 195.0.0
com.apple.nke.applicationfirewall 3.2.30
com.apple.security.quarantine 1.4
com.apple.security.TMSafetyNet 8
com.apple.driver.AppleIntelCPUPowerManagement 195.0.0
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBMergeNub 5.1.0
com.apple.iokit.IOUSBHIDDriver 5.0.0
com.apple.driver.AppleUSBComposite 5.0.0
com.apple.kext.triggers 1.0
com.apple.driver.AppleSMBusController 1.0.10d0
com.apple.iokit.IOSMBusFamily 1.1
com.apple.iokit.IOSurface 80.0.2
com.apple.iokit.IOAudioFamily 1.8.6fc18
com.apple.kext.OSvKernDSPLib 1.3
com.apple.driver.AppleGraphicsControl 3.1.33
com.apple.driver.AppleSMC 3.1.3d10
com.apple.driver.IOPlatformPluginLegacy 5.0.0d8
com.apple.driver.IOPlatformPluginFamily 5.1.1d6
com.apple.driver.Apple16X50Serial 3.0
com.apple.iokit.IOSerialFamily 10.0.5
com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport 2.3.4
com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily 2.3.4
com.apple.iokit.IOSCSIMultimediaCommandsDevice 3.2.1
com.apple.iokit.IOBDStorageFamily 1.7
com.apple.iokit.IODVDStorageFamily 1.7.1
com.apple.iokit.IOCDStorageFamily 1.7.1
com.apple.iokit.IOSCSIBlockCommandsDevice 3.2.1
com.apple.iokit.IOATAPIProtocolTransport 3.0.0
com.apple.iokit.IOUSBUserClient 5.0.0
com.apple.iokit.IONetworkingFamily 2.1
com.apple.iokit.IOUSBFamily 5.1.0
com.apple.iokit.IOSCSIParallelFamily 2.5.1
com.apple.iokit.IOSCSIArchitectureModelFamily 3.2.1
com.apple.iokit.IOATAFamily 2.5.1
com.apple.driver.AppleEFIRuntime 1.6.1
com.apple.iokit.IOHIDFamily 1.7.1
com.apple.security.sandbox 177.11
com.apple.kext.AppleMatch 1.0.0d1
com.apple.driver.DiskImages 331.7
com.apple.iokit.IOStorageFamily 1.7.2
com.apple.driver.AppleKeyStore 28.18
com.apple.driver.AppleACPIPlatform 1.5
com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily 2.7
com.apple.iokit.IOACPIFamily 1.4
panic(cpu 0 caller 0xffffff80002a7fbe): "TLB invalidation IPI timeout: " "CPU(s) failed to respond to interrupts, unresponsive CPU bitmap: 0x2, NMIPI acks: orig: 0x0, now: 0x1"@/SourceCache/xnu/xnu-1699.32.7/osfmk/x86_64/pmap.c:2184
Backtrace (CPU 0), Frame : Return Address
0xffffff804682b850 : 0xffffff8000220792 
0xffffff804682b8d0 : 0xffffff80002a7fbe 
0xffffff804682b940 : 0xffffff80002ab6a7 
0xffffff804682b9e0 : 0xffffff80002abeca 
0xffffff804682ba20 : 0xffffff8000273c46 
0xffffff804682bb10 : 0xffffff8000274a3a 
0xffffff804682bb40 : 0xffffff800026e812 
0xffffff804682bb70 : 0xffffff8000226282 
0xffffff804682bb90 : 0xffffff80002264dd 
0xffffff804682bbb0 : 0xffffff7f80925650 
0xffffff804682bbe0 : 0xffffff80006565fe 
0xffffff804682bc40 : 0xffffff8000656fbb 
0xffffff804682bd80 : 0xffffff80002a3f08 
0xffffff804682be80 : 0xffffff8000223096 
0xffffff804682beb0 : 0xffffff80002148a9 
0xffffff804682bf10 : 0xffffff800021bbd8 
0xffffff804682bf70 : 0xffffff80002aef10 
0xffffff804682bfb0 : 0xffffff80002daec3 
      Kernel Extensions in backtrace:
         at.obdev.nke.LittleSnitch(3876.0)[C70779FA-9258-3BB3-AEDD-07B9BD09EF98]@0xffffff7f8091b000->0xffffff7f8095ffff
 
BSD process name corresponding to current thread: Little Snitch Ne
Model: iMac10,1, BootROM VMW71.00V.0.B64.1311080549, 2 processors, Intel Core 2 Duo, 3.62 GHz, 2 GB, SMC 1.16f8
Graphics: Display, PCI, 64 MB
Memory Module: RAM slot #0/RAM slot #0, 2 GB, DRAM, 0 MHz, VMware Virtual RAM, VMW-2048MB
Network Service: Ethernet, Ethernet, en0
Parallel ATA Device: VMware Virtual IDE CDROM Drive
SCSI Device: SCSI Target Device @ 0
USB Device: VMware Virtual USB Hub, 0x0e0f  (VMWare, Inc.), 0x0002, 0x11200000 / 3
USB Device: VMware Virtual USB Keyboard, apple_vendor_id, 0x020b, 0x11210000 / 4
USB Device: VMware Virtual USB Mouse, 0x0e0f  (VMWare, Inc.), 0x0003, 0x11100000 / 2

I suspect some instruction set is not working correctly. I am looking for a mac utility to tell me what CPU it thinks is in the VM that can also list the cpu capabilities. (SSE3/4, Vt-x, etc) just to see what seems to be going wrong. 

 

 

EDIT:

After some more looking around any 32bit app seems to not run. Any 64bit app seems to run just fine. 

 

To confirm further, I downloaded Chrome Canary which is a 64 bit app and it runs perfectly. So it's something to do with x86 apps or maybe even x86_64 apps.

If I open up Activity Monitor, the only apps running listed under "Kind" are "Intel (64bit)" whereas on my other (real) macs it's a mix of 32bit and 64bit macs.

 

EDIT2:

100% confirmation. If I open Chess.app it launches no problem. If I right click Chess.app and select the "Open in 32 bit mode" option from the "Get Info" page and then try to launch it, the app crashes on launch.



#44
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Last night I left the VM running and I woke up to a kernel panicI suspect some instruction set is not working correctly. I am looking for a mac utility to tell me what CPU it thinks is in the VM that can also list the cpu capabilities. (SSE3/4, Vt-x, etc) just to see what seems to be going wrong. 

 

 

EDIT:

After some more looking around any 32bit app seems to not run. Any 64bit app seems to run just fine. 

 

To confirm further, I downloaded Chrome Canary which is a 64 bit app and it runs perfectly. So it's something to do with x86 apps or maybe even x86_64 apps.

If I open up Activity Monitor, the only apps running listed under "Kind" are "Intel (64bit)" whereas on my other (real) macs it's a mix of 32bit and 64bit macs.

 

EDIT2:

100% confirmation. If I open Chess.app it launches no problem. If I right click Chess.app and select the "Open in 32 bit mode" option from the "Get Info" page and then try to launch it, the app crashes on launch.

 

EDIT1: Seems to be a known issue http://www.insanelym...t-apps-crashes/

 

EDIT2: Try boot in 32-bit mode http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3773

 

That's interesting information, must be some difference on how the instruction set is used. The kernel panic could be sleep states.

 

I have a command line utility which I have uploaded here. http://www.mediafire...zib516di0/cpuid

 

You will need to chmod +x the file then run:

./cpuid -d > dump.txt

You can name the file whatever you want. Run it from the guest and attach it to a post. 

 

It would be great if you can also get the dumps from the other real Mac hardware sometime. I already have some from various macs, but always useful to have more.



#45
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
Here is some other info, I'll be attaching the cpuid dumps as I generate them to this post.
 
lion-vm:~ kwiksilver$ sysctl -a | grep machdep.cpu
machdep.cpu.max_basic: 10
machdep.cpu.max_ext: 2147483656
machdep.cpu.vendor: GenuineIntel
machdep.cpu.brand_string: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU         T7600  @ 2.33GHz
machdep.cpu.family: 6
machdep.cpu.model: 15
machdep.cpu.extmodel: 0
machdep.cpu.extfamily: 0
machdep.cpu.stepping: 6
machdep.cpu.feature_bits: 3219913727 58269
machdep.cpu.extfeature_bits: 537921792 1
machdep.cpu.signature: 1782
machdep.cpu.brand: 0
machdep.cpu.features: FPU VME DE PSE TSC MSR PAE MCE CX8 APIC SEP MTRR PGE MCA CMOV PAT PSE36 CLFSH DS ACPI MMX FXSR SSE SSE2 SS HTT TM PBE SSE3 DTES64 MON DSCPL EST TM2 SSSE3 CX16 TPR PDCM
machdep.cpu.extfeatures: SYSCALL XD EM64T LAHF TSCI
machdep.cpu.logical_per_package: 2
machdep.cpu.cores_per_package: 2
machdep.cpu.microcode_version: 0
machdep.cpu.processor_flag: 0
machdep.cpu.mwait.linesize_min: 4096
machdep.cpu.mwait.linesize_max: 4096
machdep.cpu.mwait.extensions: 3
machdep.cpu.mwait.sub_Cstates: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.sensor: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.dynamic_acceleration: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.invariant_APIC_timer: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.thresholds: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.ACNT_MCNT: 1
machdep.cpu.thermal.core_power_limits: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.fine_grain_clock_mod: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.package_thermal_intr: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.hardware_feedback: 0
machdep.cpu.thermal.energy_policy: 0
machdep.cpu.arch_perf.version: 0
machdep.cpu.arch_perf.number: 0
machdep.cpu.arch_perf.width: 0
machdep.cpu.arch_perf.events_number: 0
machdep.cpu.arch_perf.events: 0
machdep.cpu.arch_perf.fixed_number: 0
machdep.cpu.arch_perf.fixed_width: 0
machdep.cpu.cache.linesize: 64
machdep.cpu.cache.L2_associativity: 16
machdep.cpu.cache.size: 2048
machdep.cpu.address_bits.physical: 40
machdep.cpu.address_bits.virtual: 48
machdep.cpu.core_count: 2
machdep.cpu.thread_count: 2

Attached Files



#46
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

That's great. Add the guest one when you are ready and I can compare with the kernel dump during boot. I will need a clean boot with the serial file and the kernel params from earlier post.


Did you see the edit on the previous post I made? probably crossed-posts

 

EDIT1: Seems to be a known issue http://www.insanelym...t-apps-crashes/

 

EDIT2: Try boot in 32-bit mode http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3773



#47
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male

Here is the latest osxdebug.txt

 

Did you want the vmware.log too?

 

I will check out your latest edits and try booting in 32 bit mode. 


 

 

EDIT: After running "sudo systemsetup -setkernelbootarchitecture i386" my "/Library/Preferences/SystemConfiguration/com.apple.Boot.plist " looks like this:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/Prope$
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
        <key>Kernel Architecture</key>
        <string>i386</string>
        <key>Kernel Flags</key>
        <string></string>
</dict>
</plist>
 

It does not seem to have any real effect though. The only apps in activity monitor are 64 bit apps only and 32 bit apps still crash. 

Attached Files



#48
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male

Well tonight I installed mavericks and it installed, but nothing 32bit works.  Any thoughts on how to proceed?



#49
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Well tonight I installed mavericks and it installed, but nothing 32bit works.  Any thoughts on how to proceed?

 

It is a problem with FX CPUs and also is shown when using an AMD kernel. There is a utility to by AndyV which might help, http://www.insanelym...cpuid-patchert/ I am still trying to work out if there is anything else that can be done at the CPUID mask level.



#50
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male

I saw that utility the other day during my troubleshooting, but I was reluctant to try it given the response on the next post of that thread. I could take a snapshot of the VM and try it though. 

 

I may also install Windows and use your the CPUID masks and see what CPU it detects, and try to see where the AMD parts are bleeding through.

 

 

I did pick up some replacement Intel hardware to switch back to, but I'd like to see if we can make this work if we can. I think the challenge is half of the fun. 



#51
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

The CPUIDs matched, so that wasn't it. There is obviously some instruction being called, but the question is if we change the masks would the apps pick a different code path. I am reading through the patches for Mavericks source code to create an AMD kernel. Maybe find something.



#52
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male

I tried AndyV's utility and rebooted. It caused me to lose my networking and things crashed even more. I reverted from a snapshot. 

 

If you can think of any way I can help I'd be glad to. 



#53
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

Sorry for long delay - work and short holiday took priority. Having done some research I think the FX processors will need an AMD kernel to make them run 32-bit apps. Could you try the following:

 

1. Take a snapshot in VMware - just in case.

2. Get the kernel from this post by Bronya http://www.insanelym...-amd/?p=2052622

3. Copy to the root of VM OS X virtual disk, and reboot

4. Test

 

Whilst this isn't quite a vanilla environment, it is a fairly simple process as the VM can be created without modifying installation media.



#54
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male

I'm assuming you want me to try that on the Mavericks VM and not the lion one based on the thread and filename. 

 

EDIT: I tried it on my Lion VM and it did not work. Kernel Panic on boot. I reverted to a previous snapshot.

 

I'll make another Mavericks VM in a bit to test it. Your instructions didn't mention installing the system.kext that was included. 



#55
Donk

Donk

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,977 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester UK

I'm assuming you want me to try that on the Mavericks VM and not the lion one based on the thread and filename. 

 

EDIT: I tried it on my Lion VM and it did not work. Kernel Panic on boot. I reverted to a previous snapshot.

 

I'll make another Mavericks VM in a bit to test it. Your instructions didn't mention installing the system.kext that was included. 

 

Yep - Mavericks please. Lions always had trouble with FX CPUs even with AMD kernels. Try the mach_kernel only first.



#56
kwiksilver

kwiksilver

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  1. Installed Mavericks 10.9 from a DMG 
  2. Updated 10.9.4 via App Store
  3. Downloaded the Bronya kernel
  4. Downloed Google chrome via safari 
  5. Tested google chrome (32bit app) and it crashed
  6. Downloaded Bronya's Kernel
  7. Took snapshot 
  8. launched terminal and type
    sudo -s
    	cd /
    	mv mach_kernel mach_kernel.old
    	cp /Volumes/Machintosh\ HD/Users/kwiksilver/Download/mach_10_9_4_rc2/mach_kernel /Volumes/Macintosh\ HD/mach kernel
    	ls -la      (this is used to verify the permissions of the mach_kernel and mach_kernel.old are the same, if they are not you may need to repair permissions)
    	reboot
  9. Machine boots up
  10. Launch Chrome and it works!

Now I need to install vmware tools and verify that it works.

 

Thank you for this Donk (and Bronya)! This works beautifully. No system.kext needed. 

 

To clarify, I'll likely need a new kernel every time a new system update comes (10.9.5, 10.9.6, etc) out right? 

 

EDIT: VMware tools kills it. It appears to boot fully in verbose mode, I'll have to screencap a video to check for errors. Once it gets to where you see cursor, you see a black screen for a few seconds, the cursor is there and it beachballs and then it kernel panics and reboots. I think I saw the ? vmwarectl.kext ?








0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy