Hard Lockups on near perfect system - Troubleshooting help please

stuppy_

5 posts in this topic

Hi

After a bit of assistance please.

I am running a near perfect hackintosh (see sig). I have been using this system for a few months and it has been pretty much rock solid. I have done graphic design work using illustrator and photoshop, web development using Coda, listened to music, watched movies etc, and it has been fine.

Yesterday I needed to encode video file. I opened Handbrake and started the encoding. Half way through, the system locks up. No KP, just freezes. I have to reset the computer. I tries again and same thing happens the second time. The third time it encodes the file without problem. It was only a small file taking about four minutes. I should note that I was transfer files over the network from the computer to another Mac at the same time each time.

I haven't had chance to troubleshoot and try and replicate the problem , but before I do I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions as to what could be causing the lock ups.

Console reveals no error specific entries leading up to the lock up leading me to suspect a hardware issue. My first though is the over clocked CPU. Maybe it needs more voltage? Temps are fine, around 70oC under load.

Just a couple of bits of more info regarding my setup:

I am using a fakesmc with extra sensor modules for use with HWswnsors. Not sure whether this could affect it?

Speed stepping seems to work without problem; idling at 1.6ghz ramping up to. 4.2 under load.

OSX is installed on a Crucial M4 SSD. Trim is not enabled as far as I know.

If anyone is able to help , thank you. I can provide any other info required.

Many thanks

seems that you need a  new graphic card, not a good idea mix  hardware modern  with a old card, can be a problem with this card, try delete AMD* ATI* IntelHD* graphics kexts, then repair permissions with Kext Wizard/reboot  and try again.