The OSx86 Community - Past, Present and Future

mnfesq

37 posts in this topic

I wanted to start a thread where we could discuss our views about the changes in the OSx86 Community over the years and where it seems to be heading.  Now I want to preface things by saying that I am one of those old guys who resists change and likes things as I remember them to be.  I recognize that, if left to me, this community would probably become stagnant because changes in technology are typically fast and furious and, if our past is any indication, there have been huge strides in our ability to utilize and expand upon the OS X operating system.

Now, I am no developer nor tech wiz - I am a lawyer who likes to mess with computers in my spare time.  I used to really enjoy doing crossword puzzles and jigsaw puzzles and the more complicated and difficult they were, the more I liked them.  But when I got good at those and finished them, all I had to show for it was a filled-out crossword puzzle or picture from a completed jigsaw puzzle.  I remember building my first computer in the very early 1990s - it was a pentium 75 with 500 kb of ram and 750 mb hard drive.  There were so many  jumpers and nothing was easy.  But when I was done, I had a working computer. When I belatedly discovered that there were people installing OS X on PC computers, I was intrigued because it again seemed like a very complicated process but, like building computers, when I was done, I would have a computer unlike any the people I know had ever seen.  (I say belatedly because I started out installing 10.5.1 with a distro.)  I had 10.5.8 running on my AMD desktop computer but decided that my future with OSx86 would be laptops.  I first got Leopard running on a Dell Inspiron 6000.  Then, I got Snow Leopard running on a Dell Inspiron 1720.  Lion also ran great on that laptop.  Then came ML and my X3100 graphics couldn't handle 64-bit drivers.  That prompted me to buy my current HP Envy 17t-3200.