Installing Snow Leopard - Amd X2 3800+, MSI K9N Neo, Nvidia geforce 7100, 1gb ram

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

musiclover7

musiclover7

InsanelyMac Protégé

• Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
Greetings!! I have been mucking around with Hackintosh on and off for a few years, mainly working and re-working installations via Virtualbox VM's. About a month ago I started working on my first actual full installation. My eldest daughter starts high school next year, and I thought it would be cool to gift her with her own computer come that time. Nothing fancy, but something she could type papers on, browse web, etc.. I also thought it could be something we could build together as a fun project, hence hackintosh. Well, I am wanting to get most of the frustration out of the way before hand, so I have been trying to install this thing successfully myself first, and it has not been easy. I have tried many different distros, had to unhook certain pieces of hardware (PCI cards, card readers, etc.) which took me a while to figure out, and I finally got some of them to boot. Now I am at a place where I need some help. I think I am close. A couple installs have gone through to finish, only to bomb on first start up. I think what I am missing, is something that is needed from this ModCD method, to make it work in my AMD environment. I can boot all the way up to the installation screen and complete install using Iatkos_S3_version2. No matter what combo of customize I use however, I cannot get it to then boot to the actual desktop environment after. Using ModCD, and this same install disk fails, with the attached screen shot. Attached File  Panic Photo.JPG   167.29KB   2 downloads Anyways. My hunch is that if I can get this to boot from MOD CD, I might stand a better chance, as this is what I have seen work in various tutorials around the web with setups close to mine. My setup by the way, which was sort of in my subject line: AMD 3800+ X2 MSI K9N NEO Motherboard - N