Jump to content

AppleHDA.kext and Laptop Subwoofer. AKA 2.1 audio.


  • Please log in to reply
57 replies to this topic

#1
Kuebeker

Kuebeker

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Hi 

 

I need to know if anyone has gotten there subwoofer working with AppleHDA.kext from 10.8 or 10.9?

And if so, what entries did you put in Layout.xml and Platforms.xml also, what modified verbs did you use?

 

I know that these entries are variable according to the chip used but it will give me some direction and help me find some pattern used by Mac.

 

In case you must absolutely know, my audio chip is ACL269.

 

Thank you. 



#2
Gringo Vermelho

Gringo Vermelho

    The Jan Bird fix

  • Supervisors
  • 6,108 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

How is that supposed to work - does your laptop have a separate LFE (subwoofer) output?

 

Or are you using digital out?

 

On most 2.1 speaker systems the subwoofer is integrated with the amplifier and not separately controlled/mixed by the codec.

 

There's plenty of hits if you google ALC 269 AppleHDA but I didn't see anything LFE specific...honestly I've never seen any discussions specifically about patching AppleHDA for separate LFE output.

 

Toleda would be the man to ask about this I guess, if you can find him.



#3
Slice

Slice

    InsanelyMacaholic

  • Local Moderators
  • 2,973 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Moscow

AFAIK separate channel in OSX is impossible. Any audio player produces only 2 channel stream: left and right. I mean analog sound say nothing about digital.



#4
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

I have Audio working including Subwoofer using AppleHDA, I use some info found here http://www.insanelym...annel-applehda/, just not 6 channel output, I look into every audio layout, and I found some useful info, I use this layout, check speaker info, and also I edit my Platforms.xml file and add some info to the AppleHDAConfig Driver.

 

I attach Layout, and platform, and this is my AppleHDAHardwareConfig Driver info. Check Node 14 and 17.

 

01271C10 01271D01 01271EA0 01271F90 

01471C20 01471D01 01471E10 01471F90 01470C02 

01771C21 01771D01 01771E10 01771F90 

01871C40 01871D10 01871E81 01871F04 

01971CF0 01971D00 01971E00 01971F40 

01A71CF0 01A71D00 01A71E00 01A71F40 

01B71CF0 01B71D00 01B71E00 01B71F40 

01D71CF0 01D71D00 01D71E00 01D71F40 

01E71CF0 01E71D00 01E71E00 01E71F40 

02171C50 02171D10 02171E21 02171F04

 

Sound works great, with 1 stereo channel Right and left and 1 channel for subwoofer. Just have one issue remaining, the mute doesn't work for the speaker, and I like to improve the sound amp.

 

good Luck

Attached Files



#5
Zackptg5

Zackptg5

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts

For the mute issue, try changing "PublishMute" to "True" in the Amp part of your Platforms.xml under the speaker. 

 

I tried your method and still have no sound out of the subwoofer. Why is the bind 0 under the subwoofer?



#6
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

For the mute issue, try changing "PublishMute" to "True" in the Amp part of your Platforms.xml under the speaker.

I tried your method and still have no sound out of the subwoofer. Why is the bind 0 under the subwoofer?


Give me your codec dump and I will try to give a working kext, just it will take some time. How many speakers does your system have?

Good luck

#7
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

@AREOS

Your external microphone work? 
At that time I did not fix your Kext 
remember whether it worked. 
if you do not have an idea for this. 
might work.


#8
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City
Yes all works OK. I have already fixed the mute problems I was suffering.

#9
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Yes all works OK. I have already fixed the mute problems I was suffering.

The question is mute so add a key AMP 
the Pathmaps am I right?


#10
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City
Tomorrow I will answer this with a guide for explain my findings on this matter.

Good luck

#11
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil

Tomorrow I will answer this with a guide for explain my findings on this matter.

Good luck

So let us know how you did it. 
this will be useful for 
other 
Users interested 
this issue.


#12
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City
Yes sure. I'm just in the middle of something and for an understandable answer I need to add some images and captures so just wait a little plis

Good Luck

#13
Mirone

Mirone

    InsanelyMac Deity

  • Local Moderators
  • 1,697 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Brazil
If I can help you in something 
then just tell me. 
 
All the best!


#14
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

Ok, sorry for the delay. To fix the mute problem I found this:

 

As we already know for other AppleHDA Guides the path for an Output is

 

Node Pin Complex

Node Mixer

Node Output

 

And for an Input

 

Node Input

Node Mixer

Node Pin Complex

 

For the Amp value inside the path map we need to indicate the following info

 

MuteInputAmp 

PublishMute

PublishVolume

VolumeInput

 

This Amp needs to be placed in the correct nodes, to know which nodes has an Amp just check your codec dump for the first line of the node.

 

"Node 0x02 [Audio Output] wcaps 0x41d: Stereo Amp-Out"  (here we can put an Amp value inside path map)

 

Usually only the Node Input/Output and the mixer gets the amp, apple path maps for realtek codecs does´t have amp value in pin complex nodes. For Cirrus codecs apple use an Amp in pin complex nodes.

 

There are some mixers with Input/Output capabilities, so for the mixers used in an output path the MuteInputAmp value must be set it to Yes (this is how I fixed the mute problem I was getting).

 

In resume for a mixer in an Output path you can use

MuteInputAmp YES

PublishMute  NO

PublishVolume  NO

VolumeInputAmp NO

 

and for an Output node 

MuteInputAmp YES

PublishMute NO

PublishVolume YES

VolumeInputAmp NO

 

I hope this info is useful for someone.

 

And I can try to give more info to get 3 or 4 speakers system to work with all speakers.Or if you have some patience I can try to give you a testing kext.

 

Now I have my G750 3 Speakers system working great I make real improvements in my kext and now I have a strong sound system with clear sound good bass and very good volume.  

 

Good luck



#15
Zackptg5

Zackptg5

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts

Give me your codec dump and I will try to give a working kext, just it will take some time. How many speakers does your system have?

Good luck

Here's my codec dump, codec graph, and my applehda so far (everything is working but the subwoofer). I have stereo internal speakers like most laptops (mine is the Asus G75vw) and a built in subwoofer. 

 

I've been starting to investigate how linux users got the subwoofer working for this computer here: https://bugs.launchp...er/ bug/1045981

 

My biggest problem is that one of the nodes in the path map for the subwoofer is out of range and so is unknown. The linux users just skipped over that node entirely. I've also attached a text file including everything I've tried so far. Thanks

Attached Files



#16
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

Here's my codec dump, codec graph, and my applehda so far (everything is working but the subwoofer). I have stereo internal speakers like most laptops (mine is the Asus G75vw) and a built in subwoofer. 

 

I've been starting to investigate how linux users got the subwoofer working for this computer here: https://bugs.launchp...er/ bug/1045981

 

My biggest problem is that one of the nodes in the path map for the subwoofer is out of range and so is unknown. The linux users just skipped over that node entirely. I've also attached a text file including everything I've tried so far. Thanks

 

Ok,

 

Try this kext, I modified Verb Data, Path Map Amps, and layout softwareDSP.

 

Good Luck

Attached Files



#17
Zackptg5

Zackptg5

    InsanelyMac Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 100 posts

Everything works except the subwoofer. It's not detected at all.



#18
lazzy

lazzy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Location:paris

Hello I installe your kext on my G75vw it doesn't work 

i found in system log

Sound assertion in AppleHDADriver at line 1116
Sound assertion in AppleHDADriver at line 1091
Sound assertion in AppleHDAEngine at line 17824
Sound assertion in AppleHDADriver at line 2859
Sound assertion in AppleHDADriver at line 209
Sound assertion in AppleHDADriver at line 1094
 
UPDATE
i change Codec
02471C00 02471D01 02471E10 02471F99 - speaker
03371C10 03371D01 03371E10 03371F99 - speaker (is this subwooofer?)
02571C20 02571D40 02571E21 02571F01 - headphone
02971C30 02971D00 02971EA0 02971F99 - Microphone
02B71C40 02B71D90 02B71E81 02B71F01 - Line In
02D71C50 02D71D10 02D71E44 02D71F01 - SPDIF
02470C03 02570C02 
It reworks again 
but in system.log i found
Sound assertion in AppleHDADriver at line 1116
Sound assertion in AppleHDADriver at line 1091
Sound assertion in AppleHDAWidget at line 4240
Sound assertion in AppleHDACodecGeneric at line 1374
Sound assertion in AppleHDAWidget at line 3999
Sound assertion in AppleHDAPath at line 723
 
and the line repeat every minute
May 17 17:29:43 ngocs-mbp kernel[0]: Sound assertion in AppleHDAWidget at line 2181
May 17 17:30:33 ngocs-mbp kernel[0]: Sound assertion in AppleHDAWidget at line 2181
May 17 17:31:23 ngocs-mbp kernel[0]: Sound assertion in AppleHDAWidget at line 2181
.........
UPDATE 
i do binary patch appleHDA

find 536F756E 64206173 73657274 696F6E20

replace 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000

it works very well there is no more Sound assertion in



#19
AREOS

AREOS

    InsanelyMac Sage

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mexico City

Everything works except the subwoofer. It's not detected at all.

 

OK, we need to test just the subwoofer as an internal speaker, without your stereo speakers.

 

I will give you a kext tomorrow.

 

Please wait.

 

Good Luck



#20
lazzy

lazzy

    InsanelyMac Protégé

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Location:paris

we have unknow node 63 ->51 

if voodooHDA works with subwooofer we can get dump voodooHDA maybe there is some information 







0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

© 2014 InsanelyMac  |   News  |   Forum  |   Downloads  |   OSx86 Wiki  |   Mac Netbook  |   PHP hosting by CatN  |   Designed by Ed Gain  |   Logo by irfan  |   Privacy Policy